Editors
An End Has A Start


4.0
excellent

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
February 14th, 2009 | 79 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Moving towards a more expansive and anthemic sound, Editors once more impress with a very good album of accessible indie-rock.

Among the handful of bands that UK quartet Editors were compared to on their excellent 2005 debut ‘The Back Room’, was American group Interpol. To continue the comparison, follow-up release ‘An End Has A Start’ recalls Interpol’s ‘Antics’ with its liking to move towards a more expansive and anthemic sound in order to pull in new fans, while still attempting to please their established fanbase.

It is almost contradictorily strange then that the opener here was chosen as this album’s lead single. ‘Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors’ still contains Tom Smith’s unmistakeable baritone voice, as well as the insistent drumming and sweeping guitars of the debut. It distinguishes itself however, with its 5 minute length and choir-assisted finale. Yet, it is hardly a cut that was ever going to take the mainstream by storm.

It seems an opportunity missed, especially since the following title track and second single is so impressive, accessible and immediate. Beginning terrifically with synths and drums setting up an almost fist-pumping guitar hook that U2 would be hard-pressed to match, Smith finds just the right balance of showing off his trademark voice, but toning it slightly down to reach as great an audience as possible. Later, third single ‘The Racing Rats’ and ‘Escape The Nest’ also contain great propulsive guitar hooks to achieve similar results.

Elsewhere, Editors often ride a fine line in the melodrama stakes. Tracks such as ‘The Weight of the World’, the piano-assisted ‘When Anger Shows’ and the haunting chime-like guitars of ‘Spiders’ fall on the positive side of the ledger, even if lyrics such as ‘Every little piece of your life will mean something to somone” and “How can you know what things are worth if your hands won’t move to do a day’s work” will be equally loved and disliked amongst listeners.

Conversely though, the approaching 6 minute long fourth single ‘Push Your Head Towards the Air’ and closer ‘Well Worn Hand’ both unfortunately cross the line. They simply come off as too depressing and overwrought even if the former song is not intended to. The closer deals with the suicide of a close friend of Smith and there is actually a loose theme surrounding tragedies heard throughout the comparatively direct lyrics of this album. This was due to a number of deaths and illnesses close to him at the time. These themes do not necessarily hurt the LP, but it is a little disappointing that they do not help a great deal either.

When all is said and done, Editors have once more put together a very good album of accessible indie-rock with their 2nd full-length release. ‘An End Has A Start’ may disappoint some listeners since it is not as consistent as its predecessor, yet it arguably overcomes this with a handful of nicely spread out anthems that hit the mark impressively. This is very much recommended for fans of the band’s debut and possibly a better starting point for those wanting to give Editors a listen.

Recommended Tracks: An End Has A Start, The Racing Rats, Smokers Outside the Hospital Doors & Escape The Nest.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (291)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Tom (3.5)
”In the end, all you can hope for is the love you felt to equal the pain you’ve gone through.”...


Comments:Add a Comment 
bastard
February 14th 2009


3435 Comments


sup

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2 relatively short reviews by DaveyBoy in a row... What has the world become!?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Darn it... Sorry Maxy, we must have posted our reviews at about the same time.
What's happenin' man?

bastard
February 14th 2009


3435 Comments


jus hustlin

your review is good, i just think id never like these guys

marksellsuswallets
February 14th 2009


4848 Comments


Interpol is still better :thumb:

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Maxy. Nah, this is probably not your thang as this band really don't cause a great deal of havoK.

Douchebag
February 14th 2009


3624 Comments


7th comment!This Message Edited On 02.14.09

Captain North
February 14th 2009


6792 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dammit, now people can compare and laugh at my review. xD Nice work anyway. I think overall our opinions are fairly similar.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Darn Brent, I thought you may have changed your mind in the past 4 days. You obviously haven't been listening to this album enough. ;-)
Croc, are you trying to run up your comment count? I dunno, I kind of liked it when you were stuck on 666 there for a while.
I told you I'd get back to this review some time in the future Tom. It's shell was written around the time you posted yours actually. But don't be down on your review as it was good. And yeah, I do think our opinions on the album are similar, despite the slight ratings discrepancy. We can put that down to me being a super nice guy! :-)

marksellsuswallets
February 14th 2009


4848 Comments


Whenever I listen to this it just makes me wanna listen to antics so idk...

Douchebag
February 14th 2009


3624 Comments


Damn I totally missed the 666! If I knew I would've kept it

"For it is a human number, The Number is six hundred and sixty six!"

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Brent, whenever I listen to 'Antics', I think of "evil" looking puppets!
We even tried to bring it to your attention in one of my previous reviews Croc. It was the reason I couldn't get Iron Maiden out of my head there for a day or two!

AtavanHalen
February 14th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I came on my own to this review, and that's how I'll leave.

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2009


10583 Comments


Yes Davey, shorter ftw! Another good review, although you will never convince me to like them haha. I said it before and I'll say it again....the National

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

Douchebag
February 14th 2009


3624 Comments


ah well. As long as Maiden was stuck in your head for a while then i consider it mission accomplished!This Message Edited On 02.14.09

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice working in of lyrics as per usual DavID. That is one of the under-rated catchy lines from this album in my opinion. And I'm glad to see you have rated the album a 4 as well.
Rudy, I wouldn't count on shorter reviews from me always. I would love to, but I tend to prefer to put as much detail as possible into my descriptions, which tends to mean they usually get to at least 7 paragraphs. And yes, 'The National' is definitely on my list to listen to after your comments in my previous review.
Croc, ummm, nothing to say really. Oh yes, "accomplished" has a double 'c'.

Douchebag
February 14th 2009


3624 Comments


Yeah I knew I spelt that wrong, Couldn't be bothered looking up the correct way.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No need to... The Spelling Nazi will save the day!

Nagrarok
February 14th 2009


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review's great, album's also great. Have it myself, but haven't got their first yet, oddly enough. Will get it sometime.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Steve. It will be interesting to see how you compare the 2 albums when you get to hear their debut. The albums aren't exactly identical and while most people who heard both LPs at the time of their release tend to prefer the debut, I wonder if listening to them the other way around will effect the preference.
Personally, I find the 2 albums difficult to split.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy