Amen
We Have Come for Your Parents


3.5
great

Review

by fireaboveicebelow USER (108 Reviews)
January 24th, 2009 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist


"The most brutal record ever released on a major label"
-Ross Robinson


Now even though he may have been using this statement because he produced the record, the exaggeration is pretty agreeable. Amen is a supergroup of sorts, with Sonny Mayo (guitar) and John Tumor (bass) from Snot, Shannon Larkin (drums) from Godsmack, and Casey Chaos as the songwriter/vocalist, out on a mission to audially blow up the white house. They try to apply the metal-based punk to their sound, but only retain it for the first two albums, this being the second. They released their self-titled debut on Roadrunner…then released this under Virgin Records. So, I must ask, did Richard Branson have any idea what he about to promote?

While their first release only fiercely produced momentum, We Have Come For Your Parents kicks that ball of momentum off a never-ending cliff. The amount of energy the music gives off is akin old school punk, but contemporary enough to allow the gnashing fury to color it all in blood. This can be explained by the exceptionally graphic/violent lyrics that could only be delivered with Casey’s twelve-trick vocal style. He has his normal singing voice, a baritone speaking voice (just for the ladies), but a handful of shrieks and screams brought forth with so much energy that make you wonder how he doesn’t pass out at every live show.

Musically, there’s nothing really inventive, but when they utilize the metal-based punk well, it’s hard not to enjoy. They actually make use of both guitarists as well. For example, while one is playing the rhythm, the other one is shredding his feedback to pieces or playing dissonant but cohesive leads. Clean sound does not exist on this record, not even with the drums. Every instrument and vocal sequence is just as dirty and as the next. Thankfully, the focused and chaotic songwriting is varied enough in tempo and sound to eliminate any monotony.

Now, what goes better with violent music than violent lyrics, nothing, exactly, so thank hell Casey is pissed as ***. Topics range from nihility, abortion candy machines, political issues, religion, problems with society, and Calvin Klein, all with interesting results. The artwork suits as illustrations to these issues, littered with kids in catholic school uniforms doing really funny things (girls holding lollipops and dildos, flippin the bird to a crucifix, and other Children of the Corn freakiness).

The only thing you need to get from this is that this record is simple, straightforward, and lively hostile. The only problem one will have with this is the lyrics; other than that it’s just straight-up fun to listen to for its 40 minutes. Amen is a silly little band, but they surely have a lot to express on this release, and with their silly little ways they manage to scare everyone’s parents into burning your copy…to keep you from the TRUTH. But really, this is just solid music, and you’ll want to jump around like the pyro-anarchist your conscience hides.



Recent reviews by this author
Thrice Major/MinorMournful Congregation The Book of Kings
Blut Aus Nord 777 - Sect(s)Nightwish Imaginaerum
Tom Waits Bad As MeDevin Townsend Project Ghost
user ratings (40)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
fireaboveicebelow
January 24th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is just for you wizard.

I just found out that Casey Chaos fronted The Damned on their 30th anniversary tour sweetThis Message Edited On 01.24.09

Essence
January 24th 2009


3585 Comments


full of sloppy errors

Wizard
January 24th 2009


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Where are the errors?

Weird how I was going to review their s/t today and decided to put up my nu-metal list instead. Thanks for the props dude. I find their s/t to be a bit more diverse then this but they are still one of the more unique bands in the genre.

I just found out that Casey Chaos fronted The Damned on their 30th anniversary tour sweet


Fuck yeah. And he also fronted a super group black metal band too....I just can't remember the name.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

fireaboveicebelow
January 24th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHAAA I need to find that pronto

full of sloppy errors
well you weren't online

EDIT: wiz, the band is called Scum, and there's members from Emperor and Turbonegro aka my next review asapThis Message Edited On 01.24.09

Wizard
January 25th 2009


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

From what I've heard of it, it's nothing too special. I think its the drummer from Emperor if I'm not mistaken.

fireaboveicebelow
January 25th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Faust and Samoth actually, and the guitarist from Windir

and yeah it's nothing special, just black punk done right, plus Nocturno Culto's appearance doesn't suckThis Message Edited On 01.25.09

Wizard
January 25th 2009


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I might actually be picking that one up.

Oh, and expect a review for the s/t of Amen this week. Listering to it right now and realizing how awesome it is.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2009


8007 Comments


Very nicely done, totally forgot about these guys

Digging: Beach Slang - Cheap Thrills On A Dead End Street

fireaboveicebelow
January 25th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thank you

and I'll be waiting for that review wiz

Hawks
January 25th 2009


35838 Comments


wiz, the band is called Scum, and there's members from Emperor and Turbonegro aka my next review asap

If I'm thinking of the same band, which I think I am, they really suck.

fireaboveicebelow
January 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I figured you would say that since it's similar to newer Darkthrone, but I enjoy it nonetheless

Wizard
January 26th 2009


19444 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Much better then Darkthrone hahaha.

Hawks
January 26th 2009


35838 Comments


Not really. It's just as bad.

fireaboveicebelow
January 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it can't be, I won't listen to new darkthrone but scum is pretty enjoyable if you're in the mood

Hawks
January 26th 2009


35838 Comments


Well I don't think I could ever be in the mood for that stuff. I've never heard a good album that mixed black metal and punk.

fireaboveicebelow
January 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hit your computer with a hammer and get on aim whenever I hit mine with a hammer it starts working

or shuts off

BallsToTheWall
January 26th 2009


44482 Comments


Ahh, Casey Chaos. I always wondered who the fuck that was. I read about him before I went full out METAL!!!. This sounds interesting.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

fireaboveicebelow
January 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

here's your chance for some more balls to the wall music

Hawks
January 26th 2009


35838 Comments


hit your computer with a hammer and get on aim whenever I hit mine with a hammer it starts working

I doubt that would work lol.


fireaboveicebelow
January 27th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you didn't even try it how would you know



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy