Between the Buried and Me
Colors


5.0
classic

Review

by McDiggitz USER (10 Reviews)
January 23rd, 2009 | 61 replies | 4,325 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A journey into the depths of music.

0 of 3 thought this review was well written

This is probably one of the most well crafted albums in the history of music. But that's just for me. I am a huge metal-head with a large appreciation for other genres, and my GOD, does this deliver the Goods.

Lets start at the beginning. Piano intro into a swelling crescendo blending metal and something reminiscent of Pink Floyd (and I know the Floydians will hate me for saying that) with a little more edge and synth. Ok, a LOT more edge. But that only lasts less than a minute as you are thrown into thrash-riffs and the more typical between the buried and me style. But I will say, a lot of the metal riffs adhere to a more standard sound than their usual chaos (via Alaska and the Silent Circus). Though the chaos still resides, it seems very calculated and frankly, I can bob my head to this album as a whole eons more than past efforts.

Now Matt Ellerd (Producer/Mixing Engineer off the Silent Circus and Alaska) is my teacher and even HE was blown away with this album. And you may not know Ellerd, but this dude is quite British. Never impressed with anything. He said working with Metallica was terrible because Lars Ulrich can't play drums to save his life... So anyway, back to the real review.

The cross-genre play that BTBAM has in this album is nothing short of mesmorizing. The fast transitions between Metal, Country, Cabana, Arena Rock, Tribal/Middle Eastern infusion (Whatever the *** you wish to call the beginning of Informal Gluttony), Jazz, and progressive rock is just unmatched by any band. And the biggest thing, by FAR, was the fact that NONE of the transitions sound forced or overly abrupt. These 5 Berklee grads know their music and truly bring you an album that will spin in your player for days on end. If you have any appreciation for music and the difficulty of taking on a task this epic, buy this album. Don't download it. The integrity of the 44.1 sample rate can't be sacrificed for even the "best" 320 kbps MP3. And I use best as loosely as possible.

Take this album, nay this journey, with an open mind and you will not be disappointed.



Recent reviews by this author
August Burns Red ConstellationsNorma Jean Bless the Martyr and Kiss the Child
Thrice VheissuDustin Kensrue Please Come Home
Attack Attack! (US) Someday Came SuddenlyThe Bled Silent Treatment
user ratings (3926)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Epilogue
January 23rd 2009



1590 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shzaam

Lunarfall
January 23rd 2009



3179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its called a soundoff

TricksterGRex
January 23rd 2009



2087 Comments


You can't listen to albums with the sound turned off.

Lunarfall
January 23rd 2009



3179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A+ comment would read again

AvictimOfSociety
January 23rd 2009



71 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some of the sentences are awkward.

(and I know the Floydians will hate me for saying that)

You don't need to put that in there. Who cares if they don't like what you have to say, because you are the "expert".
But I will say, a lot of the metal riffs adhere to a more standard sound than their usual chaos (via Alaska and the Silent Circus).

Get rid of the But I will say.
Though the chaos still resides, it seems very calculated and frankly, I can bob my head to this album as a whole eons more than past efforts.

Get rid of the I can bob my head... You could try stating that this record has a better grove than past records or something to that effect. I think this can be a good review, but you need to reread and reword some of this.

Drsmith4
January 23rd 2009



1715 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Honestly, I don't like this album at all.

rasputin
January 23rd 2009



14538 Comments


Between the Rasputin and Me

Phantom
January 23rd 2009



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Between The Buried And Rasputin

Bfhurricane
January 23rd 2009



6197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Between The Buried And Mepeth

JizzInMyPants
January 23rd 2009



2369 Comments


between the Kat and Tun

rasputin
January 23rd 2009



14538 Comments


No.

badtaste
January 24th 2009



824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

To reviewer, please don't hog up the front page.

Wizard
January 24th 2009



19308 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A journey into the depths of music.


Save that for the Opeth.

Between the Rasputin and Me


Phsssss, more like Between the_wizard and Me because I have a 'the' in front of my user name :p.

As for the review, well, I will give you a bit of advice. You need to seriously sit down and think for a moment, "Does this review convey across to the reader why the album worthy of a 5?". Firstly, the review is a scatterbrain mess and has no flow of logical sense at all. Secondly, you have way too many grammatical errors, telling me that you did not proofread. Thirdly, please try and stick to the music and not ramble off into a topic that has little value towards contributing to the point of the review. A metaphor is nice once in a while when it's tied into the subject, but not going off topic with proof that Lars Ulrich is a bad drummer. We already knew that hahaha. Anyways, this was meant as constructive criticism.This Message Edited On 01.23.09

Digging: Downer - Downer

Essence
January 24th 2009



3583 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

[quote='review']This is probably one of the most well crafted albums in the history of music. But that's just for me. I am a huge metal-head with a large appreciation for other genres, and my GOD, does this deliver the Goods.[/quote]
luuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuul

Wizard
January 24th 2009



19308 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Please try and be constructive Mr. Jack. Kid might be 14 or something.

Pebster49
January 24th 2009



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

whats with this lul non-sense, its like the more annoying cousin of LOLThis Message Edited On 01.24.09

Zippermouth
January 24th 2009



1305 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Silverfang, we all hated your first review for this album, did you really think that making a new account would change anything?

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2009



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hahaha

Lunarfall
January 24th 2009



3179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

zippermouth you are accepted at the sputnik school of win

Zippermouth
January 24th 2009



1305 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm so used to being bashed on this site I can't even tell if that's sarcasm or not. I'm going to assume that nothings changed and I'm still the obnoxious punk who's only one step above the pitiful reviewers and trolls. In which case, that last comment was sarcasm.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy