House of Pain
House of Pain


3.5
great

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
January 12th, 2009 | 52 replies | 13,763 views


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Labeled by some as a “One-Hit Wonder”, House Of Pain prove that there is more to them than ‘Jump Around’. But just in case you disagree, their worldwide smash is included twice here.

In 1990, Erik Schrody (better known as Everlast) was an up-and-coming Irish-American rapper that was fortunate enough to have Ice T executive produce his debut album ‘Forever Everlasting’. Unfortunately, that release bombed. In response, the raspy-voiced performer decided to forget about that failure – and hope everyone else forgot as well – by making his next album under the House Of Pain moniker. In doing this, he brought in DJ Lethal (who later was to be a member of Limp Bizkit) and high school friend Danny Boy O’Connor. Wow… What a difference a repackaging can make!

Of course, it also helped immensely that House Of Pain’s debut single would be such a huge crossover hit that took the world by storm. Still being played at sporting events, on television and in films to this day, ‘Jump Around’ was hugely influenced by production from DJ Muggs; the man responsible for masterminding Cypress Hill’s debut album. From the annoyingly contagious siren-like screech that weaves in and out of the song, to the excellent combination of old-school and dancey music that backs up Everlast’s assured vocal delivery, everything clicks perfectly in this sublime and infectious piece. While the lyrics are not mind-boggling, their simplicity and ability to be recited by all and sundry resonate with a mainstream audience.

Further reference to Cypress Hill is made on ‘Put Your Head Out’, a cut which contains an effective verse from the distinct and nasally B-Real. Unfortunately, a not too dissimilar cameo from Son Doobie (of Funkdoobiest) on ‘House and the Rising Son’ fails to reap the same rewards, ultimately resulting in one of the album’s least successful tracks.

Of course, there is another vocalist in House Of Pain… Or is there? Well, sort of, since Danny Boy only performs on 5 of the 14 proper tracks here. In pretty much every one of these cases though, he is definitely a positive with his clear and smooth vocals providing an impressive flow. On 2nd single ‘Shamrocks and Shenanigans’, his upbeat and energetic delivery gives the cut real life and combines well in an opposites attract kind of way with Everlast’s raspier style. While later, on another album highlight, ‘Put On Your Sh!t Kickers’, the 2 rappers use dueling vocals to excellent effect.

House Of Pain do not exactly set new trends from a lyrical standpoint as they too often fall back on the topic of boasting about themselves. However, they sufficiently fill their lines with one thing or another to hook listener’s in. 3rd single ‘Top O The Morning To Ya’ is a great example as it highlights two separate methods… Firstly, there is lacing the lyrics with humor, such as with “You see I’m Irish, but I’m not a leprechaun. You wanna fight, then step up and we’ll get it on”. And then there are anthemic components such as “Extra extra read all about it, how could you doubt it, now scream and shout it. The House Of Pain, soon will reign, over the hip-hop scene, in white gold & green.”

Unfortunately, House Of Pain bite off more than they can chew. In making the album 55 minutes long, it ultimately results in far too much filler as the album progresses. Even when songs are not all that bad, the feeling of deja vu begins to creep in with many of the tracks containing similar horn or scream-like backing music. In addition to ‘Put On Your Sh!t Kickers’, the only real track worth mentioning on the album’s second half is ‘Guess Who’s Back’, due to its light and playful mood providing some much-needed variety. Oh and of course there is the customary dancier remix of the hit single ‘Jump Around’ to close things out!

In truth, the labeling of House Of Pain as a “one-hit wonder” is a little unfair. While the charts and mainstream populous will indeed back up such an assertion, there is more than enough elsewhere on the group’s self-titled debut album to suggest that they were a rather talented outfit. They may not be to everyone’s liking – predominantly due to Everlast’s distinctive vocals – and there is admittedly a lot of filler included here, but there is also a more than sufficient amount of highlights to make up for it all. Definitely enough to make you… “Jump Around… Jump Up, jump up & get down”.

Recommended Tracks: Jump Around, Shamrocks and Shenanigans, Put On Your Sh!t Kickers & Top O’ The Morning To Ya.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (84)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
David Foster Wallace (4)
Rowdy Irish hooligans drop gangsta rhymes and worship their heritage...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll serve your a$$ like John MacEnroe,

If your girl steps up, I'm smacking the ho.This Message Edited On 01.12.09

Jim
January 12th 2009



5110 Comments


leave my ho alone you cad

/posed

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's the Irish in you that draws you to this, isn't it Dave? I totally agree that this album is fun as. I would listen to this more than I would a usual 3.5 album. Although I tend to skip a few tracks towards the end.
Careful Jim, you have to remember that I have some "fine malt lyrics" in my repertoire. Haha. This album should have been called that and they are the words on the album cover.


DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pack it up, pack it in
Let me begin
I came to win
Battle me that's a sin


kygermo
January 12th 2009



994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was the first review for this? Holy shit, I would have never guessed.

This is a goodie, classic from the early 90s.

I got dibs on doing "Same as it ever was"

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Come on Kygermo, you should know by now how I work; I review discographies. I've already written my review for 'Same As It Ever Was'... & 'Truth Crushed To Earth...'

kygermo
January 12th 2009



994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You did? To tell the truth, I didnt even think of looking up House of Pain on here until just now. Whoooops. This Message Edited On 01.12.09

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I promise I have them written... I just prefer to wait a few days before posting my next review (unlike others... like now on the front page). I'll have 'Same As It Ever Was' up around this time on Thursday.

Willie
Moderator
January 12th 2009



15911 Comments


Nice review. It should come as no surprise that this isn't my genre of choice though. I like Public Enemy and Tech N9ne ;) On the other hand there is an industrial version of Jump Around that is pretty good, that I've just e-mailed to you.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Trey. I reckon 'Jump Around' is one of those songs that you could remake in any genre and (as long as it was done competently) would be fun. As Dave said earlier, it may be as "cheesy as hell", but it is just super fun.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 12th 2009



4950 Comments


good review; i like your mix of history lesson and music... good for most of the demographic that frequents the site.

MUNGOLOID
January 12th 2009



4290 Comments


jump around


st4ytrue
January 12th 2009



279 Comments


Pack it up, pack it in
Let me begin
I came to win
Battle me that's a sin
I won't tear the sack up
Punk you'd better back up
Try and play the role and the whole crew will act up
Get up, stand up, come on!
Come on, throw your hands up
If you've got the feeling jump across the ceiling
Muggs is a funk fest, someone's talking junk
Yo, I'll bust em in the eye
And then I'll take the punks home
Feel it, funk it
Amps it are junking
And I got more rhymes than there's cops that are dunking
Donuts shop
Sure 'nuff I got props from the kids on the Hill
Plus my mom and my pops


MassiveAttack
January 12th 2009



2688 Comments


Hey DaveyBoy I really appreciated that comment you gave me, really motivates me man since I'm studying journalism after I transfer. I gotta love this review for the fact House of Pain really are somewhat forgotten imo. Jump Around is so addictive haha. I think I'll check this album out since I've never actually delved in any of their stuff. You made a sufficient argument about this album since it isn't anything special, but it still holds it own. Very nice I look forward to other House of Pain stuff.

Fugue
January 12th 2009



7352 Comments


Great review Davey, I can honestly say that I didn't have a clue who these guys were, obviously I had heard "Jump Around" but had no clue as to who performed it, so thanks in a way ;-)

kygermo
January 12th 2009



994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"These Irish eyes are smilin'/Buckwhilin"


Lets put on our shitkickers and kick some shit.

Spamue1G
January 12th 2009



1292 Comments


Not my favourite of all your reviews, but you get the job done perfectly anyway. I'd just kinda like to see you branch out in your reviewing style a bit - it's an unbeatable formula, honestly, but I think experimenting a bit might do more good than bad.
I generally hate nasally rappers, but I don't think I've ever heard a raspy rapper... This might be worth listening to a song or two, especially as I vaguely remember really liking Jump Around.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Sobhi. Means a lot coming from yourself as you are quickly becoming the "go-to" guy when it comes to hip-hop on this site. A question for you; Have you heard the new stuff that these guys have put together under a different name...???
ST4YTRUE, the first 4 lines of 'Jump Around' was the next lyrics I was going to quote. Hell, they almost made the review actually.
"You're Welcome" Marko. Well-deserved to. Don't get discouraged because your reviews may not have a heap of views or comments... I think we all start out that way and it takes a while for your name to become familiar. Of course, it also depends on what type of music you are reviewing. Obviously, mix it up as much as you can... Hence why I just jumped from Def Leppard to House Of Pain. LOL!

MassiveAttack
January 12th 2009



2688 Comments


lol I try to review stuff that has yet to get anything on the site. Next review after Jim O'Rourke's Insignificance is Karma To Burn's 2 albums I have.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It is totally understandable & commendable to review stuff which is yet to have a review in the database Marko, but you don't have to do that all the time... Especially if you think it will be at the expense of your own progression as a writer.
Also keep an eye out for reviews where you think you have a different opinion to the review(s) that have been posted previously.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy