Fightstar
One Day Son This Will All Be Yours


4.0
excellent

Review

by Tari Ajadi USER (9 Reviews)
December 28th, 2008 | 29 replies | 2,642 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Screw FFAF, this is the real deal. And no, there is no "Year 3000" on this album.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Fightstar are a band on a mission. Since they released their first album in 2005, they've been out to prove to the sceptics that they aren't Busted, and with this album they have finally done it. With their mix of midtempo melodic songs and crushing metallic tunes, they really are a force to be reckoned with.

One of the keys to their success on this album is the band's rhythm section. Unlike most bands in this genre, the bass is actually audible and it doesn't always follow the guitar lines, producing some wonderful moments (One Day Son) as well as keeping the band steady. The drums are, like the first album, sublime. In moments the beat is straightforward but toe-tappingly brilliant, then the next, they'll start blasting you with double bass fills. This is what gives the band it's dynamics, and what makes their tunes so goddamn catchy!

The vocals have improved greatly since the last album. Alex (guitarist and vocalist) no longer sounds as whiney as he did, and he provides some of the sweetest harmonies this side of a gospel choir. Charlie takes the lead on this album, and delivers a performance full of intensity and power. Whether he's crooning sweetly (You and I) or screaming his head off (Deathcar, Tannhauser Gate), he performs with aggression and passion, without going overboard and resorting to cheap gimmicks like death growls or pig squeals. This complements the guitars perfectly, as they rise and fall with the vocals, sometimes soaringly beautiful, sometimes crushingly beautiful. This band makes music that makes you mosh and swoon at the same time, and that is no mean feat. But the best part of this album is the fact that they feel like a unit. There are no jutting rhythmical changes or out of place vocals; everything feels in it's place.

However there are some low points to this album. There are a few filler tracks which detract from the overall feel of the album, making it less cohesive. They're not particularly bad, but they add nothing new (I Am The Message) and in the end, they make the album more of a chore to listen to. Also, the band's influences shine through, to the point where they seem derivative at times. "Deathcar" sounds like the Deftones covering an Envy song, “One Day Son” and “Floods” sound like Muse gone emo and "Amaze Us" just screams Rage Against The Machine. The band seem to sound at their best when they get heavy. “Deathcar” is a beast of a tune, despite it’s derivative nature, and “Tannhauser Gate” is the best song the band has done by a long way. It is comparable to a storm in the way that it hits you with it’s initial force, then lulls you into a false sense of security before battering you even harder at the end. It is unrelenting and beautiful; on a par with some of the best songs of the decade in this genre. However, songs like “Our Last Common Ancestor” drag on, without really going anywhere.

Overall though, this is a superb achievement by the band and it proves that British post-hardcore goes further than Funeral For a Friend. In fact, this may be the album that sees them leapfrog FFAF becoming Britain's best post-hardcore band.

Recommended tracks: “Tannhauser Gate”. “Deathcar” and “One Day Son”.



Recent reviews by this author
Childish Gambino EPMaps & Atlases Perch Patchwork
Alexisonfire Old Crows / Young CardinalsLeathermouth XO
City and Colour The MySpace Transmissions EPbrokeNCYDE BC 13 EP
user ratings (247)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Dan H. CONTRIBUTOR (3)
"We Apologise For Nothing...."...

craigfs (4.5)
One of the best albums of the year. Stunning stuff from the london boys demonstrating maturity and g...


Comments:Add a Comment 
gaslightanthem
December 28th 2008



5209 Comments


holy crap i've just realised i've never listened to this band

Asiatic667
December 28th 2008



4647 Comments


Quote:
In fact, this may be the album that crowns them Britain's best band

^
Rather a bold claim, don't you think?
Album sounds good from what you've said, and the review is pretty good if not a little bit over-complimentary

The vocalist used to be in Busted, if I'm not mistaken
This Message Edited On 12.28.08

gaslightanthem
December 28th 2008



5209 Comments


yes he was i think that is why if you read the summary you'll notice

And no, there is no "Year 3000" on this album.




AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
December 28th 2008



7313 Comments


Good review, I pos'd. I saw them supporting Feeder in October, and thought they were ordinary tbh. Unfortunately I just can't seem to take them seriously as the singer was in Busted.

gaslightanthem
December 28th 2008



5209 Comments


pretty narrow minded isn't it?

pneumoniahawk93
December 28th 2008



275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, it is pretty narrow minded. so the guy was in a bad band, that doesn't mean he isn't a good musician, and the fact he left an extremely successful band to pursue the music he was really passionate about surely says something? and in hindsight, it is a rather big claim. I meant in this particular area, not overall, but i see how it sounds. i'll edit it.

pneumoniahawk93
December 28th 2008



275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there, edited. thanks for the feedback and everything. any comments/criticism is much appreciated.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
December 28th 2008



7313 Comments


I don't have anything against him, nor do I doubt his talents, but I honestly can't ignore the fact he was in a crappy teen pop band like Busted. If Fightstar make a great album, I'll bring everything back. I might even check this out some time.

pneumoniahawk93
December 28th 2008



275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fair enough, i had the same opinion before i heard them, but the music is undeniably good compared to busted.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
December 28th 2008



7313 Comments


It's far better than Busted (though that's not hard!). I didn't think they were particually bad, there just weren't any songs that jumped out at me. Like I said, I might give this a go. The review definitely helps, as you describe the general sound well, and I like all the bands you say are influences, esp RATM.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Solid review. It gets a bit barracky at points, but I suppose I can understand why. I have put this on a list to check out in the future.

AmericnZero02
December 28th 2008



3329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Good review. I loved this album when it first came out but for whatever reason it hasn't stood the test of time for me. Maybe it was those filler tracks. I kind of wish they would make some flat out heavy tracks rather than tease you with screaming verses then quiet and almost cheesy choruses (and vice versa) like in Deathcar and Tannhauser Gate. This definitely still makes for a good listen every now and then though.

CokeZero
December 28th 2008



39 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can't wait for the new album in March.

AmericnZero02
December 28th 2008



3329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

^Same here. Their new single is solid.

CokeZero
December 28th 2008



39 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I like it a lot, though I can never find a full version of the song, only the radio edit.

pneumoniahawk93
December 28th 2008



275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, it's a good song. and thanks guys for all the comments. how do you quote what other people say and like, put it in that grey box thing?

pneumoniahawk93
December 28th 2008



275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and DaveyBoy, you should check it out if you like stuff like FFAF and deftones. they're kinda post hardcore with alt metal influences.

CokeZero
December 28th 2008



39 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I also would like to know about how to quote people.

I never really liked "Death Car" for some reason. To me the chorus was generic and the screaming didn't fit well. Kinda blew my mind when they chose it for a single too.

Just my oppinion though.

AtavanHalen
December 28th 2008



17927 Comments


Still can't believe dude was in Busted

Asiatic667
December 29th 2008



4647 Comments


yeah, how do you quote in that box



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy