Slayer
Reign in Blood


5.0
classic

Review

by bostononemanarmy USER (2 Reviews)
December 14th, 2008 | 57 replies | 3,365 views


Release Date: 1986 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One Hour of thrash, crammed at twice the speed.

1 of 2 thought this review was well written

"What a difference a year makes"

Slayer went from progressive approach in 1985 to creating a speed metal masterpiece in 1986.

Along with Master of Puppets and Peace Sells...But Who's Buying?, Reign in Blood is a thrash classic that came out in 1986.

From the opening riff of "Angel of Death," this albums is a non-stop trench warfare of riffs, screaming, and killer solos.

"Piece by Piece," is one of the few Slayer songs without a guitar solo. This begins with a nice crunchy headbanging riff, once over, the speed kicks in. More of a rhythmic song, it slows down the pace from the previous track.

"Necrophobic," feels like some slower worked out riffs just played randomly all in 1:40. This is what I call "Controlled Chaos." Whom I kidding, it's Slayer. After the speed demon this is, the last 10-15 seconds close with a nice rhythm riff to close the track.

"Altar of Sacrifice" comes in with an interesting riff in the beginning that carries out through the whole song.

"Jesus Saves" is probably the next best song on the whole album (next to "Angel of Death). One of the few songs in which you can understand the lyrics. Who does Jesus save anyway?

"Criminally Insane," is related to Metallica's "Leper Messiah." In which this is a nice riff cruncher through and through the 2:22 duration.

Next comes "Reborn," this is the song I like the least. Pretty much the same format as "Piece by Piece."

"Epidemic," starts with a nice drum intro with some nice vocal work through the song. A little faster of a riff cruncher.

"Postmortem" begins with a doomsday riff, like you're in the house of hell. It goes from easy headbanging, to all out thrashing about at the halfway mark.

"Raining Blood," without a doubt THE anthem of Slayer. This begins with pouring rain for the first 20 seconds or so. Then the infamous riff, and all HELL breaks loose. Breaking down to a mosher section, then an all-noise solo of absolute mayhem, followed by pouring rain to close out the album.

So the album is less than 30 minutes long. It's an hour of thrash at twice the speed. While it is daring to say Slayer can't out do Reign in Blood, I don't know how an attempt to top this could ever do that?

You want to learn Metal 101, here's your class requirement: Slayer-Reign in Blood

No need to skip what so ever.


user ratings (3453)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
fireaboveicebelow
December 13th 2008



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

try including a lot more detail than little snippets of things and avoid awkward arguments with ideas like "this is awesome because I said so" try to prove it through examples and counter criticisms and what not

and just to let you know about 10 people will tell you to not do track-by-track reviews, especially since there's hardly anything thereThis Message Edited On 12.13.08

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2008



7322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not bad for a first, but if you are going to do tbt's you need much more detail. Album is brilliant.

Willie
Moderator
December 14th 2008



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll have to agree that doing "play-by-plays" don't really work. Descriptions are really the better way to go if you're going to do TBTs.

Buccaneer
December 14th 2008



692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For a first review, this isnt neccesarily a bad review, you just need to beef up your paragraphs and descriptions, basically the points the above two users mentioned.

Great album though.

DeathThrashProg
December 14th 2008



500 Comments


i don't particularly like the review, but good effort.
Needs more detail, more beef and more overall description (i.e. less track by track, more album as a whole)

Hearing the rain drops coming in going in melody with the guitar

I'm pretty sure that doesn't make sense...

Zippermouth
December 14th 2008



1305 Comments


This review isn't descriptive enough as a tbt should be, and I don't like this at all.

I'm pretty sure that doesn't make sense...

I'm pretty sure that digging Traced in Air this late doesn't make sense.This Message Edited On 12.14.08

Bleak123
December 14th 2008



1902 Comments


I'm pretty sure that digging Traced in Air this late doesn't make sense.

lulwut

McP3000
December 14th 2008



3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you're only allowed to dig an album thats been leaked in the last 30 days

Phantom
December 14th 2008



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm probably in the minority but, apart from this album, I find Slayer really boring and repetitive and don't see the hype about them.

Satana
December 14th 2008



204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ALBUM RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

McP3000
December 14th 2008



3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm probably in the minority but, apart from this album, I find Slayer really boring and repetitive and don't see the hype about them.

dont worry i completely agree with you

Dethtrasher
December 14th 2008



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Check out the cover version of Angel Of Death by Sins Of Omission. Fucking fantastic cover.

Shadowskos
December 14th 2008



352 Comments


you need to add in more detail and beef up the paragraphs. Since this is your first review, I won't neg it.

Zippermouth
December 14th 2008



1305 Comments


you need to add in more detail and beef up the paragraphs. Since this is your first review, I won't neg it.

good man.


Bleak123
December 14th 2008



1902 Comments


yes ok gerard way

Zippermouth
December 14th 2008



1305 Comments


lol, don't talk to the troll Bleak, you'll only encourage it.

Bleak123
December 14th 2008



1902 Comments


lol, don't encourage me zipper you know i'll only end up saying something snide

Altmer
December 14th 2008



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Slayer are one of the worst bands everrr!


I used to think this. Then I listened to Slayer. The world changed forever that day.



Phantom
December 14th 2008



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Slayer fans at gigs all have the inherent ability of pronouncing the band's name in the same way: "SLAYERRRRRRRRR!".

I'm going to relisten to this and then rate it, but I stand by my other comment. The rest of their albums are exactly the same.

OffTheRadar
December 14th 2008



102 Comments


you're already better than a few of our prominent reviewers!

jk, but this review is decent for how it looks.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy