The Black Keys
Rubber Factory


3.0
good

Review

by Serapheus USER (9 Reviews)
July 14th, 2005 | 35 replies | 23,117 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


1 of 23 thought this review was well written

Rubber Factory is The Black keys third full-length album after Thickfreakness. The Black Keys are a duo from Northeast Ohio and are simply a modern day exponent of blues rock, bringing old ideas and motifs into modern alternative music.

The Black Keys is:
Dan Auerbach - guitar and vocals
Patrick Carney - drums

They make a lot of sound for a two-piece band comparable to the White Stripes but definitely not as popular. Here is my track by track analysis.

01 - When the Lights Go Out
A suitable introduction to Rubber Factory which showcases their raw and thick sound. It begins with Patrick’s thick bass drums pounding with Dan slurring in his throaty voice. A very repetitive song with Dan’s blues guitar line being the only stand out of the raw and slightly dull sound. 2.5/5

02 - 10AM Automatic
The best song on the album it contains amazingly simple yet amazing riff from Dan which begins almost straight away. As one of the fastest and upbeat songs on the album it is probably their best song. Dan’s lyrics "What about the night / Makes you change / From so sweet / To deranged?" fit nicely. 5/5


03 - Just Couldn't Tie Me Down
This track begins with a nice catchy riff followed by an awesome dum beat. It’s a very good rocker but not up to track 2’s standard. A very average song for The Black Keys. 3/5

04 - All Hands Against His Own
This one sounds just like track 3 except a different guitar riff. Dan’s vocals don’t help much. Very so-so song. 2.5/5


05 - The Desperate Man
The second most upbeat song apart from 10AM Automatic with another incredible guitar riff and a bouncy rhythm and fitting vocals that does the album justice. 4/5


06 - Girl is On My Mind
Very solid but average song, nothing incredible. 2/5


07 - The Lengths
A nice soft song after those 6 tracks of blues energy. Dan’s vocals are slower and softer which sounds a lot better. Definitely a stand out track. 5/5


08 - Grown So Ugly
A very fun and upbeat song with an awesome riff that accompanies Dan’s humourous vocals. One of the better songs on Rubber Factory. 4/5


09 - Act Nice and Gentle
A softer and folky song which I found very boring and dull, definitely worth skipping. 1/5


10 - Aeroplane Blues
Average song but nothing compared to track 2 and 5, by this time the album isn’t worth it. 2/5


11 - Keep Me
Another average song very catchy riff. 3/5


12 - Till I Get My Way
A good track which generally sums up the album and sounds more like the first few songs. 4/5


Stand out tracks:
10AM Automatic
The Desperate Man
The Lengths


This album isn’t as captivating as Thickfreakness which has a wider feel and contains great songs like 'Hard Row' and 'Set You Free' (Dan's guitar definitely sounds more crunchy and distorted). The album keeps a consistant sound which is good but their music seems dull and unflavoured after the excitement of the first half of the album. The first few songs are very good but after halfway it gets boring and repetitive. I’d recommend this for someone who enjoyed Thickfreakness or someone who likes good old blues lo-fi sounding music.



Recent reviews by this author
Pat Metheny Group The Way UpAgalloch Ashes Against The Grain
Katatonia The Great Cold DistanceOpeth My Arms, Your Hearse
Porcupine Tree Voyage 34: The Complete TripInterpol Turn on the Bright Lights
user ratings (505)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
nbaronz (4)
Dan Auerbach (guitar, vocals) and Patrick Carney (drums) return in full force for their 2004 LP, Rub...


Comments:Add a Comment 
masada
July 14th 2005



2733 Comments


You're silly. This is a 4/5. Seriously, "The Lengths" a 3.5?! The song is definately a 5/5.

This Message Edited On 07.15.05

Goober and the Ghost Chasers
July 14th 2005



1 Comments


Umm Rubber Factory is actually their third Full length. The Big Come Up was their first. Not to mess up your review or anything but I just reckon its best if the reviews here are accurate... Aside from that a little sparse after the first two tracks but overall pretty good work... The Black Keys rock, in my opinion they're as good if not better than the White Stripes and much more consistant...

Serapheus
July 14th 2005



251 Comments


Oops, the lengths, i put it in stand out tracks and all, my bad.

branyangossard
January 31st 2006



8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What a joke of a review.

SgtOzzy
April 2nd 2006



9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like the album, but my favorite and least favorites seems to be the opposite of yours. I find The Desperate Man boring. I love the volume shift at the end of Girls is On My Mind, my favorite song on the album. You didn't review Stack Shot Billy, which has an amazing intro. I think the Lengths gets a little boring, but I really dig Aeroplane blues and Keep Me. Theyre just so raw and nasty. Overall, I think its a good album, but not up to par with their others.

Serapheus
April 8th 2006



251 Comments


Yeh, someone should delete it, i don't check these old reviews coz i can't stand the Black Keys anymore.

Serapheus
April 13th 2006



251 Comments


Lol WTF! The black keys are an alrite band but there are other bands I like alot more, which is a personal opinion as everyone is different. If you disrespect my taste of music just coz I said I couldn't stand the black keys then that's pretty funny but also sad, and in the end I wouldn't care much if someone so close-minded disrespected anyone's taste in music.This Message Edited On 04.13.06

Muisee
June 23rd 2006



679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

10AM Automatic sounds like a song I have heard before. Also The Lengths sounds like a Dylan song.

sampz123
September 23rd 2006



13 Comments


track 9-stack shot billy review of track 9- act blah blah blah
and theres 13 songs and 12 reviews, r u stoned ?

incubus62086
February 28th 2008



147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great band and probably my favorite album by them. sorry, but weak review. Keep Me is my favorite on the album, but mostly for the sick guitar breaks. and your missing Stack Shot Billy.

hurleyman420
July 14th 2009



21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Way to not even review "Stack Shot Billy". If you're gonna review an album on a song-by-song basis, make sure you get all of the songs.

alachlahol
July 14th 2009



7423 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool album, bad review

Kashmir09
December 5th 2009



772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review blows, album rules

Zizzer
June 4th 2010



915 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I find it strange that not a single staff member has rated this.

demigod!
July 26th 2010



40981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ahh why the hell does this not have a better review? or more comments? i love this album!

Zizzer
July 26th 2010



915 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No staff member has even listened to it evidently. At least they got the new one.

firedrum71
August 2nd 2010



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A very well made album filled with raw, rough, gut-wrenching rock blues. Maybe their best....

jefflebowski
October 1st 2011



6846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There's some truly badass riffs on this album

lessthanzero
November 30th 2011



4 Comments


A real turd of a review.

newjunkaesthetic93
January 30th 2012



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album deserves a better review, this is really awful.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy