Sunn O)))
Dømkirke


4.0
excellent

Review

by Elixirs USER (4 Reviews)
October 12th, 2008 | 68 replies | 13,337 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sunn O)))'s fourth live album finds the group invoking doom in a Norwegian cathedral.

11 of 11 thought this review was well written

Hand claps are followed by silence. Slowly, organ tones fill the cathedral and remain there for quite some time. This is Sunn O))) at their most pious, standing before the great altar of drone. Dømkirke, recorded during the Borealis festival in Bergen, Norway, marks a subtle departure in the group's sound, if only for that place in time. The setting gives even more celestial weight to the organ playing on "Why Dost Thou Hide Thyself In Clouds?" and provides an almost ancient timbre to Attila Csihar's operatic moans and chants. Distorted sub-bass frequencies are nowhere to be found in this first piece, setting it apart from Sunn's typically heavy-handed delivery.

The middle section of Dømkirke pushes the listener back into darkness, but even Sunn's style of drone doom feels graceful in comparison to previous works. One can imagine those primal waves of feedback and drawn out chords floating throughout the cathedral, entrancing even the most skeptical listeners. Trumpet finds its way into the first half of "Cannon," like a twisted version of In a Silent Way. Attila's gentle rasps sounds more akin to white noise than anything grim, and the organ again instills the feeling of melodrama.

"Masks of the Ætmospheres," which begins with disfigured bass sounds, gradual transforms into a brick wall of high gain amplifiers, foreboding cathedral pipe organ, and appropriately chilling vocal work. We are then left with only Attila and Steve Moore, ending as it had began nearly an hour earlier. The crowd's enthusiasm is understandable; the performance documented here is a landmark release for Sunn O))) and easily one of their best and most creative. Although it probably won't convert many of the group's detractors, Dømkirke still stands up far beyond many of the drone releases today.


user ratings (71)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SnackaryBinx
October 12th 2008



2309 Comments


I've always wanted to check out this band

Kage
October 12th 2008



1173 Comments


perfect review. i really want to hear this now.

bastard
October 12th 2008



3435 Comments


awesome review, might check this out, but probably not.

rasputin
October 12th 2008



14517 Comments


Nice review. I've heard this band is shit, but I haven't heard the band.

Elixirs
October 12th 2008



93 Comments


the average rating for this on rym is pretty low

funny stuff

BallsToTheWall
October 12th 2008



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been meaning to check out Sunn O for a long time now, i guess i'll check this out. Nice review.

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 12th 2008



3743 Comments


standing before the great altar of drone.


woah

the only sunn o))) i have is black one and i like it should i get this

Elixirs
October 12th 2008



93 Comments


yeah you should. most of their other albums are better than black one too

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 12th 2008



3743 Comments


alright, cool. ill eventually check this out good review too

brandtweathers
October 12th 2008



2007 Comments


perfect review. i really want to hear this now.
banick's application to allmusic has been in an envelope, on his desk for years now
this is interesting tho... can you tack a track onto this?


Kage
October 12th 2008



1173 Comments


im not sure if I buy the first track, but it set up the second one pretty nicely.

banick's application to allmusic has been in an envelope, on his desk for years now

lol, nah I just like when people can convey everything they need to in such a short reviewThis Message Edited On 10.12.08

Elixirs
October 12th 2008



93 Comments


yeah i can see why some people wouldn't like it

apparently they've begun on a new studio album. hopefully it's out by at least next year

Spamue1G
October 12th 2008



1292 Comments


Perhaps the most concise review I've ever read. I probably won't like these guys but I'll have a look thanks to this review!

Pebster49
October 12th 2008



2991 Comments


nice review, very short and to the point.

fireaboveicebelow
October 12th 2008



6837 Comments


this is a good review, but the band bores the hell out of me

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



16263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent work for a short review, the premise of this album intrigues me so I may check it out.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

ZapatoDiablo
October 13th 2008



167 Comments


yeah this might be the best thing sunn has done

Doppelganger
October 13th 2008



3124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

would this be a good starting place for Sunn O))) because this sounds really awesome. I heard Black One a while back and thought it was alright.

ZapatoDiablo
October 13th 2008



167 Comments


this is quite a bit different than black one so you might like this more

Doppelganger
October 13th 2008



3124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably. The description here makes it out to sound more like dark ambient than drone metal so yeah.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy