Panic! At the Disco
A Fever You Can't Sweat Out


3.5
great

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
September 29th, 2008 | 855 replies | 41,556 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gimmicky, whiny, repetitious & pretentious, this album is easy to dislike. Yet it succeeds as catchy pop music with something just a little bit different and very little filler.

Whether it be sporting identities, actors or musicians, the majority of people will dislike some spotlighted stars despite the fact that they do not know them personally. It may be due to the frequent times that a musician is arrested, yet escapes jail time. Maybe it is the number of women that the star actor reportedly beds. Or it could even be the sneaky late hit that a sportsman gets in when the referee is not looking. The members of Panic! At The Disco (PATD) don’t fall into any of these categories, but it can definitely be seen why they are so easy to dislike.

It could be the extra-long song titles that attempt humor… The use of many lyrics that the majority of the band’s target audience wouldn’t understand… The predominantly whiny vocals that dominate way too much… The unashamed gimmicks that try to make the songs (and entire album) better than they are… The strange mish-mashes of genres that are included throughout… Or the repetitious nature of many of the tracks. The scary thing is that the list could be continued! Yet, it is difficult to dislike this band or album too much.

Firstly, to one of those gimmicks; The album is split into 2 parts… Tracks 1-7 feature backing instruments such as drum machines and synthesizers that lead to all sorts of different background sounds. Meanwhile, tracks 9-13 use old fashioned types of instruments such as accordions, horns and a vaudevillian piano. These 2 sections are linked by an overlong instrumental ‘Intermission’ (track 8) that begins as a techno loop and then works its way into a piano solo. While this all sounds elaborate & clever, it is really a way to try and distinguish tracks that aren’t individual enough to be distinguished in the first place.

So where are the positives you might ask? Well, put simply, there is very little in terms of filler and there is a catchiness that resonates through this album that is just too difficult to ignore. And here is the contradiction; It is probably derived from the aforementioned gimmicky music, over-the-top lyrics and/or whiny vocals. But on reflection, isn’t that what pop music is at its best anyway? That is exactly what some of the best pop music ever has in common with this album; When broken down into separate components, it fails many tests. But when it is all constructed together as one, the result is that you end up singing or humming songs for days on end.

Looking at individual tracks, ‘The Only Difference…’ (which was actually released as the 1st single) is rather catchy, but its mechanized breakdown derails it. The following ‘London Beckoned Songs…’ is not too dissimilar, but better since it is energetic, rockier and more up-tempo. Like many tracks off the album, it packs many ideas into a duration not much over 3 minutes worth. ‘Time To Dance’ is also noteworthy as it uses the first half gimmick well to form a rather dancey song performed at a breakneck pace. Acting as the lead-in to the aforementioned intermission, 4th single ‘Lying Is The Most Fun…’ tones down the electronica and the more standard approach is a welcome variation compared to what has preceded it.

The cheekily titled 3rd single ‘But It’s Better If You Do’ completes a sentence and kicks off the old-fashioned instruments half with a solid, if unspectacular track. The album’s highlight ‘I Write Sins Not Tragedies’ is an involving, memorable and catchy retelling of a wedding day gone wrong. ‘There’s A Good Reason…’ is an effective comedic effort that is pushed along by a piano loop and a successful horn solo of a breakdown. Finally, closer and 5th single ‘Build God, Then We’ll Talk’ is atmospheric and accessible with yet another catchy chorus and practically 2 breakdowns (1 vocal & 1 musical).

Of course, with the amount of ideas that PATD throw at us on this 40 minute debut, there was always going to be some disasters. They do very well to keep the count at 2 though with 1 track in each half simply being ineffective. These are the grating ‘Nails For Breakfasts, Tack For Snacks’ and the superficial mish-mash that is ‘I Constantly Thank God For Esteban’.

Listeners may be forced to choose sides regarding PATD’s debut release; Love or Hate. While the rating suggests some fence-sitting, I (arguably bravely… or foolishly) admit to being in the positive camp if anything. However, there are simply too many things wrong with the album to rate it too highly. Of course, whether all these traits & tricks will succeed on future albums has to be heavily debatable. But for now, it is best just to enjoy this debut album for what it is; Catchy pop music with something just a little bit different.

Recommended Tracks: I Write Sins Not Tragedies, London Beckoned Songs About Money Written by Machines, Build God Then We’ll Talk & Lying is the Most Fun A Girl Can Have Without Taking Her Clothes Off.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (1613)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Captain North
September 29th 2008



6743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Best tracks are Camisado and Time to Dance (the latter, by all rights, deserved to be the closer)

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I like 'Camisado' as well CAPTAIN NORTH. In fact, the 2 songs you mention really get lost in the shuffle amongst the numerous singles that were released from this album.

marksellsuswallets
September 29th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Weren't there like 5 singles released off of this?

bastard
September 29th 2008



3435 Comments


yo davey boy, when are you gunna review somethin with less than a 100 reviews already there?

just kidding, good job with the review my man.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Brent, if you count worldwide & digital single releases, I think there were either 6 or 7.
I was waiting for someone to say something along those lines Bastard. I have actually been getting withdrawal symptoms. Of my last 12 reviews, 11 of them were albums I added to the database!

bastard
September 29th 2008



3435 Comments


yeah but there I was joking. Soon, you will be ready for the big time.

ninjuice
September 29th 2008



6758 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the aforementioned gimmicky music, over-the-top lyrics and/or whiny vocals. But on reflection, isn’t that what pop music is at its best anyway?

Um....Thriller? Pet Sounds? No "gimmicky music" or "whiny vocals" there. Unless you mean modern pop or bands similar to PATD, then you're partly correct I guess.
Other than that, great review for a crappy album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, good point Steve... And I was indeed referring to modern pop. Although, a case can even be argued that the 2 albums you refer to have those characteristics. I wouldn't agree with that argument by the way, but just to play devil's advocate; 'Thriller' does contain some gimmicks, it is not exactly a lyrical masterpiece and not everyone likes Jacko's vocals, especially those "woohs" he throws in every 2nd minute of most songs.

badtaste
September 29th 2008



824 Comments


Good review, well written. As much as I hate 'extra-long song titles' as well as deliberately different band names, I'd probably enjoy this music if I ever cared to acquired it.This Message Edited On 09.29.08

AtavanHalen
September 29th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

O hi Champ welcome back.
One thing- The Only Difference was never released as a single.
Oh, and a lot of these song titles are references to books or films.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha. It's Dipper. Not a hawks supporter by any chance are you BadTaste...???
Thanks for the positive feedback on the review mate. To be honest, I don't think I nailed it myself and that was one of the reasons why I chose this album as I think it is a terribly difficult LP to review.
I just noticed the album that you're digging. That leads me to suggest that you will probably like 'A Fever You Can't Sweat Out'

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey Dave. What do you mean "Welcome Back"...??? Shouldn't I have said that a couple of days ago to you...???
Wow, you give this a rating of 5. I definitely couldn't do that, especially since I absolutely hate 'Nails for Breakfast...'
I knew about the song titles being quotes and the like, but that doesn't make it any easier to get your head around.
According to wikipedia (& I know they are not always correct), 'The Only Difference...' was released somewhere as a radio only single.

badtaste
September 29th 2008



824 Comments


Nah, but I am a fan of the legend that is Dipper. '89 Grand Final has been brought up so many times in the past week and I've been sucked in to the mythology... again.

I'll probably check this out on an incredibly rainy day.This Message Edited On 09.29.08

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What do you mean "mythology"...??? It was all real, the hairy bugger played with 379 broken ribs that day. Too bad, his brain cells were fried so bad that he ended up doing terrible Dimmeys & Forgies aads.

badtaste
September 29th 2008



824 Comments


lol, that didn't come out right... the 'legend'?

Back on the album, I remember 'I Write Sins Not Tragedies' being quite catchy. How's the rest of the songs compare to that?This Message Edited On 09.29.08

Captain North
September 29th 2008



6743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dammit...I wanted Geelong to win (because they beat the Bulldogs who beat my Swans).

^I Write Sins is probably the most instantly catchy on the album. Alot of the other singles were kinda duds. 'Theres a good reason' has awesome cabaret style to it though.

AtavanHalen
September 29th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Hey Dave. What do you mean "Welcome Back"...??? Shouldn't I have said that a couple of days ago to you...???

I was kidding, as you're putting stuff up all the time.

Wow, you give this a rating of 5. I definitely couldn't do that, especially since I absolutely hate 'Nails for Breakfast...'

That's a favourite song of mine, I pretty much know the entire song back to front (drums, bass, all vocals including the harmonies)- yeah, I'm a bit obsessed with this band, but ehh.

I knew about the song titles being quotes and the like, but that doesn't make it any easier to get your head around.

I think it's gives a little bit of context, and certainly helped me understand it a bit better.



Captain North
September 29th 2008



6743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^The problem, is that half their actual lyrics are snippets of quotes and thus the songs make an awful lot of nonsense.

AtavanHalen
September 29th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Not necessarily. I can think of one example (London Beckoned), but apart from that...

Captain North
September 29th 2008



6743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Time To Dance is just a bunch of quotes as well. But considering thats my favourite track off the album I shouldn't be complaining.

I remember when I first heard them, I couldn't understand a word they were saying. xD



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy