Circle Takes the Square
As the Roots Undo


2.0
poor

Review

by kattunlover69 USER (8 Reviews)
September 4th, 2008 | 317 replies | 14,633 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Strike 3! Atavalen you're out, next up to the plate as he readies his bat, Kattunlover69

5 of 50 thought this review was well written

Someone get Wade out of that friggin' water, or someone will make an album about it or something. Too bad, somebody already did: Circle Takes the Square. Hailing from the home state of crunk and the cake-faced Little Richard, they decided to add some hardcore flavor to the good ol' peach state. This band really needs no intro, I am sure you all heard this band by now, whether you be a hip hop guru or an indie head. This album is constantly praised and I truly don’t see why. Truth is this album is just one big mess.

The composition of the songs is so random and badly transitioned. Just when you think there is going to be a build up, there isn’t, this is where the transition is just poor. For instance, the “Gravity doesn’t grant me the privilege of failure” section in crowquil, it is literally a 180 degree turn within one second from a build up to a quiet section. They constantly make bad transitions throughout the album. While the lyrics are top notch, the vocal placements is poorly thought out. It seems they (both male and female) mainly scream and shriek out the lyrics without any melody over sub-par riffage as their main ability throughout the album while stopping at certain phrases and initiating the enjoyable female-male vocal interplay. While on the vocal topic, they really do sound like a bunch of angry adolescents screaming because mama didn’t give them their ice cream. That is both a good and bad thing, the vocals aren’t flat and they convey a level of emotion, but it isn’t necessarily intelligent sounding if you get my drift.

The instrumental talent on this album is noticeable, but they don’t sync well. The guitarist uses the same basic sound throughout the album and makes it hard to point out notable riffs. He changes riffs way to often to convey the “this is chaos” message but it mostly comes off annoying: He does have some good themes such as simulating that the concept’s protagonist is actually running in “Portrait of Karma”. The drumming on this album complex, but he needs to learn how to go with the crew. Such as the beginning of the “Same Shade as Concrete” he is off doing his own thing making pointless fills and an uncoordinated beat. When there are slow sections, the drums come off impressive since at that time it is the highlight. This album consists of several small diamonds in a giant rough.

If you ask me if I liked a song from this album, it would only be “Interview at the Ruins” because the band works as one cohesive unit and make seamless transitions. This is a sections album more then anything. The songs sound the same (bad transitions, indistinguishable guitar riffs, female and male vocalist racing to see who can spit out the most lyrics within a certain time frame) and when they pull off the atmospheric guitar echoing parts, it is boring more than calming. The guitarist and the drummer need to stop battling each other and play as one cohesive unit for the most part. All I ever ask is for this band to take a clean break before their next outing which, fortunately, they are doing.



Recent reviews by this author
Fort Minor We Major (Mixtape)Amaseffer Slaves for Life
Lilitu The Delores LesionYoung Jeezy Let's Get It: Thug Motivation 101
Three 6 Mafia Most Known UnknownGalneryus One For All - All For One
user ratings (1863)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
charlesfishtitz
September 4th 2008



784 Comments


you should proof read

Metalikane
September 4th 2008



851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, at least it's not another goddamn 5 review.

MrAwesome
September 4th 2008



17 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I can see his point, but calling Kill The Switch gangsta is just dumb.

AtavanHalen
September 4th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Atavalen?

bustyagunz
September 4th 2008



911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Interview at the Ruins is my favorite song on the album, so props for that, and there actually was a lot of good detail in here and support for your opinion (which I completely disagree with but whutevs). Proofread and edit this and I'll probably pos.This Message Edited On 09.04.08

KritikalMotion
September 4th 2008



2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

okish review. but totally disagree.

has the website changed a bit? like it looks lower quality on the home page..

Pebster49
September 4th 2008



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wow, someone bashes the all mighty As the Roots Undo, watch out for lightening. I don't really agree with it too much, but I do admit this is extremely overated

McP3000
September 4th 2008



3941 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you must die kattun

rasputin
September 4th 2008



14538 Comments


The thing is, if you actually wrote a good review that was critical of the album, it would be fine. But the review sucks.

JumpTheF**kUp
September 4th 2008



2710 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is kind of like what i used to think about this album until i grew a pair of testicles

kattunlover69
September 4th 2008



1194 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the thing is,guys, i tried to make the review flow as well as the album did, and it seems i stuck to that concept very well

rasputin
September 4th 2008



14538 Comments


No actually, I think the lack of flow is mainly because you're shit at writing. Neg.

Serpento
September 4th 2008



2351 Comments


the batshit summary alone deters me from reading the rest of this

JumpTheF**kUp
September 4th 2008



2710 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

also the introduction sets new standards for failure

Monticello
September 4th 2008



805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not nearly as crazy for this album as some people, but this is a poorly written review.
and the craziness and 'lack of flow' of the album just serves to make it better tbh

SnackaryBinx
September 4th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this is a god awful review.This Message Edited On 09.04.08

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2008



7023 Comments


This review is terribad. Neg'd

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

BallsToTheWall
September 4th 2008



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Word all, I never reallly talk about this album but it's pretty solid. Waon't neg, 9's brutal enough and I figure to see the count triple by the time I come back from morning college.

sadmafioso
September 4th 2008



318 Comments


The guitarist uses the same basic sound throughout the album and makes it hard to point out notable riffs. He changes riffs way to often


since when does same basic sound = changing all the time?

horrible review.

Cesar
September 4th 2008



2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ease up people, review isn't tragic enough to deserve 13 negs, and stop calling someone retard or gay just because they don't like an album you like. If anything you should explain why you love this album, and try to make the reviewer see the album the way you see it, try and make him understand better why this is a excellent album.This Message Edited On 09.04.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy