Thought Industry
Short Wave On A Cold Day


4.0
excellent

Review

by fireaboveicebelow USER (108 Reviews)
August 24th, 2008 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


Man, what a debacle we have here folks. A band that starts out as unclassifiable and beyond complex has reached this point in their career where they have crafted a less metallic, more dynamic piece of something close to alternative rock mixed with a whole lot of awesome. In fact, listening to the back catalogue has made me appreciate this album even more. Usually when bands change this drastically, fans abandon them and the band is left to metaphorically rot in the mainstream muck. This album represents the opposite, and what happens when a bunch of talented dudes grab a slab of unique and provocative attributes from their heads and splice their ideas into something that can only be described as special.

The main departure from their past is that the technicality of the instruments has decreased immensely. Thankfully this band doesn’t rely on showing off to have success, and the first song proves it. Opening with the American national anthem (haven’t figured out the significance of that yet), it breaks into a simple acoustic progression, following by a crash of distortion and soothing keyboards. The introduction of keyboards plays a huge part in the sound of this album. Actually, it’s difficult to explain intricacies between instruments. This album is like a symphony, in that it’s a sum of its parts that comes out as clashing brilliance that somehow flows together as smooth as a dolphin. One thing the band retained is their quirky fashion of making it impossible to predict what happens next, constantly maintaining something interesting.

While going through the record, it sounds like a band reborn…except born into a completely different field of music. There’s catchy choruses, catchy guitar lines, catchy bass lines…and at the same time they throw in random heavy sections, like in The Waitress In the Bar Orbiting Io, where after the first chorus you’re thrown into a massive wall of sound with high screams, but after the second you’re greeted with a happy jam riff...and then the screaming section. Another thing this band has added in, thanks again to the keyboards, are spacey/sci-fi breaks that are followed by lush guitar leads. Of course, I’m talking about Tall Ships On The Rocks. Listening to that song you find yourself swaying along the whole time. I’ve also just realized this would be a fantastic song to make out to.

It’s interesting how many settings the songs represent .The 90’s anthem feel of Kiss Judy Fly is a curve ball, but extremely enjoyable. The Measure Of Our Mile is a middle-eastern space rock love song, and Lovers In Flames is a song that most 90’s bands wish they could write, and with a catchy acoustic line and simple song structure why wasn’t this song on the radio? One reason could be that they were signed to Metal Blade…or maybe it’s because of this:

I’ll carve out my grandfather’s spine and turn it into a boat
Shove up the holes with my hands, and see if the vessel will float
Steer it into the waves with the devil at the rutter
I’ll carve out my grandfather’s spine and turn it into a boat


Oddly enough, you’ll find yourself singing along. Many of the lyrics on this album tend to deal with love and personal philosophies, but random enough to let everyone create their own interpretations.

If you mixed Killing Joke with mid-era Elvis Costello, you’d get something similar to this. I’ve made enough praises up to this point, and with that I must say that this record is just too long. In fact, everything after Hello Murder could have been cut because they are undoubtedly B-sides, and are rather uninteresting for the most part. Interstellar Fix, 2056 is kind of fun at first but drags on…and on. I blame the record company for putting the songs on; since this is the last album, they may have forced the band to put on everything they helped pay for. Also, not everyone will enjoy the vocals. Other than that, there are no real problems with this album. It’s executed with originality and emotion in a manner untouched by any other band. In fact, it is feasible to say this is one of the more important bands in recent memory. The band’s swan song is enough of an achievement to satisfy the fans and hopefully the band themselves, and any fan of music owes it to themselves to find the Thought Industry album(s) they can embrace.



Recent reviews by this author
Thrice Major/MinorMournful Congregation The Book of Kings
Blut Aus Nord 777 - Sect(s)Nightwish Imaginaerum
Tom Waits Bad As MeDevin Townsend Project Ghost
user ratings (28)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
August 24th 2008


44714 Comments


Props on reviewing this, good album but I don't listen to it enough, 17 tracks is a doozie. The album art looks like something out of the "The Snowman" which was why I ended up buying it in the first place.

Digging: Reverend Bizarre - Return to the Rectory

fireaboveicebelow
August 24th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah that's why I said you can stop at track 12 haha but yeah willie asked me to review this ages ago, so I finally did

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2008


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for that! I just didn't want to be the only one reviewing the band. This is probably their best album since the first two. It's cool how they mixed the alternative rock with the weird space-synth vibe, and made it really catchy too. And they still kept the prog tendencies just in a different way; I think the symphony description was a good way of putting it. You're also right about the last chunk of songs getting attached by the record company.
The drummer on the first two albums is actually working on a myspace where they're going to post all sorts of rare stuff including demos and stuff. It's www.Myspace.com/thoughtindustry111. He's even taking questions from fans, which is kind of cool.

fireaboveicebelow
August 24th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that sounds awesome. I just asked if someone could post some tabs haha

do you want me to do black umbrella too?

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2008


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, if you want to. I'll eventually do it if you don't, but it's always cool if there is
more than one person reviewing a band's albums. Just remember that there aren't a
lot of people that seem to know who they are, so don't expect tons of comments ;)

Edit: The main reason I like to see other people review their albums is just because
I'm curious what their take is on one of my favorite bands.This Message Edited On 08.24.08

fireaboveicebelow
August 24th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was planning on starting that kind of thing with Lycia, get a few reviews up, have other people finish em off

however I can't find any blogs/torrents with black umbrella so is it safe to say I'll like it if I buy it?

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2008


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Black Umbrella is a raw and depressing album. There isn't any synth or anything. It's almost a concept album about being depressed over the christmas holidays. The first song starts out with the vocalist passing out drunk in a nativity scene (I fell asleep on baby jesus with my boots on Joseph's back). It's good but nothing like this one or any of their other albums. Give me an e-mail and I can just send them to you.

fireaboveicebelow
August 24th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hauntedinflames@yahoo.com

ah, I'm excited I love depressing music

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2008


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's not depressing in a Doom sort of way. It's like a strange, drunken depression. You'll see.
Check your e-mail in about 10 minutes.

fireaboveicebelow
August 24th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool, thanks!

the review was interesting btw, the first paragraph made me laugh

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2008


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. I keep whatever review I'm working on there so that I can access it no matter what computer I am on.

SHOOTME
August 24th 2008


2393 Comments


nice review man, have a pos.

fromtheinside
October 16th 2009


18865 Comments


really loving this so far. might bump the rating
this right here explains all my feelings towards it:

alternative rock mixed with a whole lot of awesome.


Digging: Psicosis - The Crippled Machine That Moves the World

fireaboveicebelow
October 16th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool, thanks for checking it out

SteelErectedb4you8er
February 14th 2010


2618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This band line up was very good. I saw them live many times, and I think yes, that this is their best material since Mods even though I really Black Umbrella. Mike Roche did an excellent job producing and putting this album together. Brent was an awesome songwriter. Have you heard Genius Hired Guns? If not, I can try to get you guys a copy. It is Brent on vocals/guitars, guitarist from Screwtape, and the drummer who played on outer space and black umbrella.

Yazz_Flute
December 6th 2011


18820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decided this reminds me of Modest Mouse mixed with Failure (the band...). It still definitely sounds like Thought Industry though, which is interesting considering how different it is than their first two.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

greg84
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2012


7423 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys ruled no matter which style they chose to play. This is a very impressive alt rock album indeed.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

Yazz_Flute
January 17th 2012


18820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with that so hard. Thought Industry have probably become one of my overall favorite bands.

Yazz_Flute
January 23rd 2012


18820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

NA NANA NA NA NANA NA NA NANA NA NAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Willie
Moderator
January 23rd 2012


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thought Industry are my favorite band. Have been for a long time.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy