Emarosa
Relativity


3.5
great

Review

by joscha USER (1 Reviews)
July 27th, 2008 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A strong, energetic debut with Craig as frontman. But it's not earth shatteringly original and a bit confused at times. But great fun all the same. Dance Gavin Dance anyone?

When Jonny Craig was dismissed from Dance Gavin Dance in December 2007, me and many other DGD fans around the world sighed a sigh of sadness. As we knew only too well the likelihood of both Jonny and the boys dissolving back into the underground to record and produce bizarre genre straddling nightmares. Very fortunately for us all, both parties have hit the ground running (albeit Dance Gavin Dance's latest offering "that bears no title" is slightly more off the beaten track but that's another review for another day.) It seems the boys from Lexington KY have surpassed their Californian brothers this time around and have claimed the title of most exciting band on Rise records as their own. This, I admit is not difficult to achieve as Rise is usually the home of the most generic and dull hardcore.

The record does what all good albums should, it smacks you in the face when you press play. Craig's impeccable grunt of "tailored sheets to fix this dirty bed" tells you that this album is not going to focus on sunshine and lollipops. But what good rock and roll really does? Throughout, Craig takes us on a journey of spite, malice, revenge and envy. A lot of which conjures up images of the turmoil he must have gone through whilst his old band became more and more upset with his behavior. "You loved it when my heart dropped. you paused, stopped and walked away" to me speaks volumes about a band no longer able to tolerate him. The languid, witty introspection is accentuated by Kris Crummett's epic production. Broad, bright and punchy guitars and drums really give the record a great deal of energy despite sounding slightly confused at times. It also serves to really complement Craig. It gives the effect of a battle from Lord of The Rings taking place in CBGB's, with instruments getting in the way.

There are no real let downs on the whole record. If I had to choose one I would say "Sailing In The Dark Isn't Smart Kid!" is a touch laboured but other than that the album gels as one piece of work but tracks also stand out. "Heads Or Tails? Real or Not?" is an upbeat treasure. One criticism I would make is they have a tendency to really find something amazing and then get apprehensive and drop it without following it through. This has lead me to only listen to thirty seconds of some tracks before moving on. The last forty seconds of "Pretend. Release. The Close" is one of those flashes of brilliance. Also, although the production is overall very solid, They is very little bass or keyboard to be heard. But I suppose that's a sacrifice the band makes to accentuate the guitar. It's also very apparent that the producer Crummett also worked on "Downtown Battle Mountain", Dance Gavin Dance's first offering. Whether this is a good thing or a bad thing I cannot decide.

This album is an example of what a tight, competent band can do with a good producer and a frankly outstanding vocalist, who is, in my opinion just reaching the peak of his game.It is also a good bridge builder. I have friends who know very little about the genre but really enjoy this album and Jonny Craig in general. Because if we are honest, he wouldn't be out of place doing a duet with Christina Aguilera.

But don't get me wrong this isn't by any means the new black. This is not a groundbreaking record and Craig needs to really push himself to create something truly brilliant that will make the mainstream sit up and take notice. It may not be a seminal work or a breakthrough, but it's a whole lotta fun!


user ratings (739)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Ryan Williford (2.5)
Craig does not fit the band, the vocals should have been layered, the guitars and drums save the alb...

John weathered old reviewer Hanson STAFF (2.5)
It exists to be listened to by the hordes of teens still using myspace to find music, but it isn't a...


Comments:Add a Comment 
goreKING
August 6th 2008


3 Comments


umm

i like emarosa

though i didnt heard any publicity or stuff like that about this album

i guess imma have to check it out : D

upagainstthewall
October 10th 2008


839 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

good album
Just so damn catchy. especially the first song.
Great review. Captured the amazingness of jonny craigs voice!
Edit: Boy has my opinion changed since.. to very averageThis Message Edited On 02.25.09This Message Edited On 02.25.09

FailureOnMyLips
October 13th 2008


75 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i always thought DGD was a good band, but they could be great if they got rid of the overused screaming. There are tons of bands and vocalists that do screaming well, but DGD wasn't really one of them. This band and album gives Johnny the chance to show off his vocal prowess to music that fits his style and without interruptions of poorly written, screamed lyrics.

Cdown
November 8th 2008


16 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Emarosa was only good with "This is your Way out"....

cirq
December 25th 2008


9266 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Decent album... I like this dude's voice but the music is a bit repetitive, I think

thatsfuctup
December 25th 2008


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i actually think this release surpasses "This Is Your Way Out" by leaps and bounds. probably the best thing i've ever heard to come out of Rise.

BSX
January 18th 2009


1637 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I got this album as a xmas gift and still haven't listened to it.

Digging: Nicki Minaj - The Pinkprint

sspedding
January 18th 2009


4794 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

christ its so lame. Jonny Craig is a great vocalist but this album gets old and boring less than half way through. No difference to any of the songs in or in their songwriting.

snore.

sspedding
March 12th 2009


4794 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

though i did see them tonight and they are a good live band.

kudos.

charliecoolman
April 17th 2009


23 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

gets a 2.5 from me just because of jonnys amazing voice. emarosa should have kept their previous front man and dgd should have kept jonny. although i think that dance gavin dances new material is still quite impressive. emarosa has gone down hill, jonnys vocals are not as catchy as they were once before.

IndieOut
April 30th 2009


498 Comments


I agree that "This is your way out" was much better then this album. The old vocalist was simply amazing and added screaming to the table along with pretty impressive singing. Though new Emarosa is still excellent, i preferred Craig with DGD. On this album Craig tends to add throat to his singing occasionally and it really grinds me in a negative way.This Message Edited On 04.29.09

icallitvictory
May 5th 2009


77 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the past should stay dead is amazing...
still undecided on the rest of the album
but the repetitive "sound" in their songs might sway me down
need to listen more

TheGreatxIAm
May 20th 2009


18 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

instruments can get a bit tiring.

po0ty
May 20th 2009


493 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jonny Craig is annoying as shit. He should go into r&b with all the overdramatic shit he adds to his vocals.

iwinyoulose
May 28th 2009


75 Comments


Jonny craig's voice makes my peepee hard

Dreakon
June 19th 2009


369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Say what you want about the bands and Jonny Craig, but the man can belt out a tune. I've had The Past Should Stay Dead on a constant repeat for the last day or two lol.

I'll admit, it makes me hard.

cirq
June 22nd 2009


9266 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

jonny craigs voice is gahddamn orgasmic

TREO5
June 23rd 2009


1071 Comments


Wow I never knew the singer was in Dance Gavin Dance....

Dance Gavin Dance>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>emarosa. All of emarosas songs sound.exactly.the.same.

cirq
June 23rd 2009


9266 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

old dance gavin dance > new dgd or emarosa

i cant listen to the new shit

TREO5
June 23rd 2009


1071 Comments


I like the new dgd just as much. Like the single from the new one at least, and I really, really like the cd with the death star on the front.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy