Opeth
Watershed


4.5
superb

Review

by Acey USER (43 Reviews)
July 24th, 2008 | 69 replies | 7,025 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This will grow on you, only if you take the time to listen to it in it's entirety. A Great CD by an Epic band.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Opeth, a band that many have either come to love or hate, especially with the long anticipated release of this new CD “Watershed.” This CD has a lot of bright spots as well as a few flaws, and seeing as I’m doing an Opeth reviews, I will get criticized for things I might like about the band and others might not. With that being said, lets move on to the actual review.

As far as melody comes along in this CD, you’ll get a lot of it. Starting with the opening track “Coil”, even through most of the tracks and ending with “Hex Omega”, you will notice a lot that the organ, or some variation of that mixed with a lot of MIDI stuff has made this album seem less dark, and more of a progressive album (there’s nothing wrong with that, as either with this band sounds good).

Opeth is known for the Akerfeltd signature growls and the pounding riffs in their music, and the tracks that show this are “Heir Apparent”, and “The Lotus Eater”, with the latter being more of the song that makes you confused when you listen to it. “Heir Apparent”, is no doubt the heaviest song on the album, with it being arguably one of Opeth’s best songs to date, because it shows everything Opeth is about, dark, melodic eerie bridges, and just straight in your face riffs.

The singles, “Porcelain Heart” and “The Lotus Eater” are two of a different style that Opeth has done, with Porcelain Heart being the song that gets you into the CD but makes you scratch your head because it by many peoples’ standards it isn’t up to par with all of Opeth’s work. “The Lotus Eater” is my favorite song on the CD, not only cause of the epic solo that Fredrik does, but just because the all around song just keeps driving forward as time goes by, and the band as a whole just clicks as they play the song, almost no flaws whatsoever in my opinion.

As far as the rest of the album goes, “Hessian Peel” is something Opeth has approached differently and done VERY well. The very soft opening guitar riff is something you will be wanting to play for months later, and the heaviness in the riffs during the latter part of the song as well as the solo will just make things sound dark and gloomy, then 20 seconds later, it will sound sort of on the hopeful side, making the song and album interesting, progressing, if you will. “Burden” is the song that sounds like a ’70’s song, but well done, metalheads might not like it as much if they’re looking for distortion, face melting riffs, as I’ve already mentioned what songs on the album can provide that.

Overall, you might not be impressed with Opeth’s new work, but as you listen to it, it WILL grow on you, as Mikael Akerfeldt has taught his new guitarist and drummer well. I thought this was terrible to their previous releases, but I now prefer it over Blackwater Park and Still Life. I personally think this is a step in the right direction for the band, as they can only get better while still keeping their trademark sound.

Recommended Tracks:
Heir Apparent
The Lotus Eater
Hessian Peel



Recent reviews by this author
Submersed In Due TimeBreaking Benjamin Saturate
Stone Sour Stone SourTool Lateralus
Bullet For My Valentine The PoisonBreaking Benjamin Phobia
user ratings (2799)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crimson
July 24th 2008



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

capital E in Epic!

SHOOTME
July 24th 2008



2393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decent Review. You have tons of details, but I really dislike the first person tone of the review. Also, grammatically you still falter a tad, such as this part of the intro.

A Great CD by an Epic band


great and epic are not captilized.

However, I will pos because you show much improvement from your past reviews.

ninjuice
July 24th 2008



6758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Decent but quite unnecessary.

Poet
July 24th 2008



5910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review and I read a lot faster when I listened to Dragonforce for some reason lol.

Altmer
July 24th 2008



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not a 4.5 but good yes.

ninjuice
July 24th 2008



6758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Then again, I did do that Dark Tranquillity review....
Worth a pos, except

but I now prefer it over Blackwater Park and Still Life

Boo.

SHOOTME
July 24th 2008



2393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Acey, this is your best review. Good job buddy.

brandtweathers
July 24th 2008



2009 Comments


apparently, there can never too many reviews


Wizard
July 24th 2008



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You have tons of details, but I really dislike the first person tone of the review.

Besides this constructive criticism, you have lots of spelling and grammatical errors to fix up. Do this and I will pos'.

Good review, not really necessary.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

yas666eer
July 24th 2008



269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't understand people complaining about this review and that "its not necessary". i think it should be more of the individual wants to write instead of "yeah let me listen to this album so that i can do a review about it on sputnikmusic"... This Message Edited On 07.24.08

Wizard
July 24th 2008



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think it should be more of the individual wants to write instead of "yeah let me listen to this album so that i can do a review about it on sputnikmusic"...

Thats cool and all, but when you already have four other reviews pretty much saying the same thing, I think people get the drift. And remember, your not exactly writing for yourself here, but rather contributing to a large database on the net.


SHOOTME
July 24th 2008



2393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still, besides grammatical errors and spelling, this is a nice and informative little review.

As for the album: "Heir Apparent" and "Coil" are my favs, while "Hessian Peel" is growing off of me sadly.

Lunarfall
July 24th 2008



3177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is great.

kattunlover69
July 24th 2008



1194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

overated album overated band...oh yes i went there

rasputin
July 24th 2008



14504 Comments


you spelt overrated wrong

Poet
July 24th 2008



5910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lol


Still, besides grammatical errors and spelling, this is a nice and informative little review.

Correct me if I am wrong, but I think Acey's style is to have these short informative reviews. For those who aren't diehards with the group and just want to look into them.

SHOOTME
July 24th 2008



2393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well yeah, but he stepped up his game so to speak with more description than most of the reviews he's done.

Acey
July 24th 2008



2577 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

poet and shootme, thanks for the feedback

SHOOTME
July 24th 2008



2393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no problemo

AngelPhoenix
July 25th 2008



2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[quote=kattunlover69]overated album overated band...oh yes i went there[/quote]

[quote=rasputin]you spelt overrated wrong[/quote]
Lol like seriously, kattun, don't try so hard. relax. breathe it all in. opeth will do the rest ;)This Message Edited On 07.24.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy