Thursday
Waiting


2.0
poor

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
July 10th, 2008 | 26 replies | 5,259 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Songwriting & musical potential is evident, but this debut is brought down by raw production and a short running time that contains too much filler, repetition & padding out.

It is always a rather interesting and fun experience when you take the time out to listen to a debut album by a band that goes on to become rather successful. Sometimes it does lead to disappointment and/or apathy, but on those few occasions where the experience is rewarding, it makes it all worthwhile. On the majority of occasions though, the conclusion lies somewhere in between. It’s more a matter of spotting the potential in amongst it all. That is most definitely the case with Thursday’s debut offering ‘Waiting’.

Many first-time listeners would place Thursday well and truly amongst the post-hardcore genre. And those listeners wouldn’t be wrong either. But judging by this debut offering, lurking in the background there is clearly a band that has the capabilities to branch out into a number of directions. There are most evidently touches of alternative-rock apparent here, but what is most interesting are the leanings towards a more indie-rock feel to it all, both in the musicianship of the slower tracks and lead vocalist Geoff Rickly.

In fact, Rickly may ultimately be the factor that determines whether someone loves or loathes Thursday… Not just on this debut, but over their entire career. He almost sings with a British accent at times and it lends something a little different to his (and his colleagues’) screaming. When this is partnered with a very strong songwriting prowess at times, there is much to like of Thursday as a future force, if not a total success initially.

Those songwriting skills are immediately called into action on the very good opener ‘Porcelain’. In amongst a metal-sounding riff and occasional background screaming, there is a rather melodic lean that accentuates the meaningful lyrics dealing with death & suicide. The production is raw here, but that actually assists the song placing seemingly more importance on the words. Also interesting lyrically is track 3 ‘Ian Curtis’, which deals cleverly with a past relationship by placing it at a point in time that is musically significant (the death of Joy Division vocalist Ian Curtis). The structure of this track is also good as its slower mid-section almost brings the listener’s attention to an important stage of the song. It’s a shame the ending is overlong & repetitive.

The slower-mid-section and overlong formula is used once more in the mid-album track ‘Streaks In The Sky’, but apart from occasional hints of melody, the song is rather forgettable. The most melodic and accessible offering here is track 2 ‘This Side of Brightness’. But it is also probably the song that suffers most from a lack of production and refinement, as the vocals do not stand out sufficiently. It is somehow effective in meshing strings and a crunching beat fairly successfully though and that is not an easy task to accomplish.

The latter half of the album is fairly forgettable and there is a little too much recycling of ideas evident, which is definitely a negative considering the album is only 9 tracks and 34 minutes in length. Both ‘In Transmission’ and closer ‘Where The Circle Ends’ contain very good, and at times, haunting guitar work, but the vocals unfortunately don’t match that quality. Meanwhile, track 7 ‘Dying in New Brunswick’ does stand out due to its meaningful lyrics and suitably emotional vocals which place it right up there amongst the album’s highlights.

Like some other debut albums, this is a tough one to rate. It’s difficult too rate too highly in isolation, but it is also difficult to completely ignore the various potential that is evident at stages. Songwriting is above average for a post-hardcore act, while there is a genuine feel that Thursday brings enough variety to the table to possibly result in them carving out a nice little niche sound in the future. The production value is rather raw and while it does assist some of the more meaningful songs, it also makes those lower down the totem pole totally forgettable. What ultimately brings this album down though is its running time. At 34 minutes in length and including a 2 minute instrumental, it basically requires little filler, repetition & padding out. Unfortunately all those traits do exist here. I know it’s a tough call, but I’m going to just fail it!

Recommended Tracks: Porcelain & Dying in New Brunswick.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (413)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Lee Carlson (3.5)
...

Mr. Lean Mug (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveBum69
July 10th 2008


699 Comments


this is higher than a 2, although I will admit by thursday standards its probably there worst album

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2008


16088 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

oh hey review game album

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm definitely surprised at how few people have given this under a 3. While I can see why people (especially fans) like it, I wouldn't think it was for everyone.
Ummm, apologies if I'm missing something John, but care to enlighten me on what you mean by your comment.....

ilikemusicthatsucks
July 10th 2008


1063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^There's a contest right now for writing the best negative (2 or under) review of an album. He thinks that is why you wrote this review.

Willie
Moderator
July 10th 2008


15966 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like the two Thursday albums after this one, but his voice is mixed too high on this album. It ruins everything else. Good Review.

Edit: Sorry, I was thinking of "Full Collapse" that his voice is mixed too high in and that I like the 2 albums after that one. I've never heard this.

There's a contest right now for writing the best negative (2 or under) review of an album. He thinks that is why you wrote this review.
There does seem to be a lot of reviews that are "reaching" and stretching things in order to hit that magical "2" cut-off. Especially since they mentioned that they kind of wanted to see high-rated albums with negative reviews, and not just univerally accepted bad albums with negative reviews... and it does seem to be getting out of hand.This Message Edited On 07.10.08

Digging: Necropoli - I

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks for that ILIKEMUSICTHATSUCKS. I can assure both you & WILLIE that I had no idea of such a game and this review was not posted for that reason. I am genuinely surprised that this album has had most people rate it above 2.5 full stop.

Willie
Moderator
July 10th 2008


15966 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I believe you. This one doesn't seem to be one of those "sensationalist" reviews that a few people are cranking out right now. I'd probably even agree with this review if I had heard this before because I didn't like the album that follows this one.

ToWhatEnd
July 10th 2008


3172 Comments


because I didn't like the album that follows this one.
You talk in code and I'm still onto you. Full Collapse is amazing but if you don't like that you probably won't like the band all together. Do you enjoy any Thursday willie?

HighandDriving
July 10th 2008


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Full Collapse is a very solid post-hardcore album.

This on the other hand is very poor and even when I did really enjoy Thursday I never gave this album much spins.

Willie
Moderator
July 10th 2008


15966 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You talk in code and I'm still onto you. Full Collapse is amazing but if you don't like that you probably won't like the band all together. Do you enjoy any Thursday willie?
Yeah, "War All the Time" is an awesome album and the one that follows that one (name isn't coming to mind) is pretty good too.

HighandDriving
July 10th 2008


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Hahaha I can't remember what the newest album is named either.

City something lol.

I have high hopes for the upcoming split with Envy.This Message Edited On 07.10.08

brandtweathers
July 10th 2008


2007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^city by the light divided. yeah, that one only had one or two standouts.
I think this is their second best album after full collapse. I also don't think that raw production on a rare record should reduce its rating solely because it adds to the goals aimed.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well, you guys should know by now the pattern I take with reviewing. Expect a review of 'Full Collapse' before Monday comes.
Now that WILLIE does mention it, Rickly's vocals are mixed rather high on 'Full Collapse', yet it doesn't bother me all that much. Without giving away a great deal, I am usually one who prefers those albums that tilt more towards the mainstream, yet there is just something about 'Full Collapse' that sucks me in. But anyway, I better not get too far ahead of myself.
BRANDTWEATHERS, I can see where you are coming from with regards to your point on raw production. I obviously don't fully agree with it because I think that many times it can hinder a band's full potential. In a way, 'Full Collapse' isn't produced all that well either, yet I feel it is markedly better than 'Waiting', so at times I actually agree with your point. But I guess it is all a matter of opinion & taste at the end of the day.

PayneTiger777
July 10th 2008


4390 Comments


This band is so terrible.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2008


16088 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I really don't like Thursday, but this is more tolerable than most of the stuff they've put out

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You sure you are referring to the same album John? Something didn't seem right with your comment above, so I checked your album ratings and you have rated this album & 'War All The Time' 2, while the other two albums have been rated 2.5 & 3. Going by those ratings, you must think this is either the weakest or next to weakest of their releases.

joshuatree
Emeritus
July 10th 2008


3742 Comments


^^You're reading way too much into his ratings.

I don't think Thursday's ever released a bad album, just never a great one. They're all sorta average/slightly good.

KritikalMotion
July 11th 2008


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love Thursday, as they pretty much got me into music. This is a 3.5 for me though. Their other work is amazing, especially full collapse.

Digging: Death From Above 1979 - The Physical World

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
July 11th 2008


16088 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You sure you are referring to the same album John? Something didn't seem right with your comment above, so I checked your album ratings and you have rated this album & 'War All The Time' 2, while the other two albums have been rated 2.5 & 3. Going by those ratings, you must think this is either the weakest or next to weakest of their releas

I haven't updated my Thursday album ratings since I joined the site two years ago. In fact most of my ratings are pretty out of wack haha. my RYM page has more relevant information if you wish to diss on me yo.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Trust me John, you're probably the last person I would "diss" around here as it was your reviews more than anyone else's that originally had me coming to this website.
With that said, I would be interested in the link to your RYM page... Just in case there is some dissable ratings in there as well! ;-)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy