Slayer
Decade of Aggression


4.0
excellent

Review

by power_lutin USER (9 Reviews)
June 14th, 2005 | 46 replies


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist


Band line up

Tom Araya-Vocals, bass
Kerry King-lead guitar
Jeff Hanneman-lead guitar
Dave Lombardo-Drums
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Pros

-Almost perfect playing if each songs
-Nice vocals and drumming.

Cons

-their lyrics
-Some of their first songs are not good at all.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Slayer were has Metallica, Megadeth and Anthrax the major thrash bands out there. Their incredibly fast playing, violent lyrics, short songs made them special and really different from the bands at this time. Their masterpiece reign in blood was fallowed by two other great albums. This one is a live performance and it is really good. The cool points that I noticed is their playing even live. In a two hour show, they never get tired of their quick double-bass drum, their fast guitar and bass playing and of course of Arayaís ravaging voice. It is always precise and great sounding.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Track reviews

I wont do a individual song review has I usually do because first of all these arenít new song, they are old song played live. I will just list the songs that personally impressed me.

Raining Blood- This a classic, you never get rid of this simple but fast opening riff and the killer vocals in it. So in a show, it is different in no way. It has the same feeling except now you hear what they are able to give you live. (5/5)


Angel of death-Another classic that speaks about Hitler way to do things. This one is probably one of their fastest and it has insane solos and a scream that Araya does which give me shivers every time I listen to it. (5/5)


Postmortem-One of my favourite on reign in blood this one is quite slow if you compare to what these guys are usually playing. But hey, donít they deserve that brake? (5/5)


Seasons in the abyss-From the record with the same title, this song is probably on of their slowest and one of their most famous. All the riffs in this song are well done and trashy and this song is really not similar to their usual 1:30 second songs with non-stop high tempo and distortion assault. (5/5)


Chemical warfare-This song is fast, nice and I would die for it. This is all I have to say.(5/5)


Notice that Iíve put my highlights there, and they are all 5/5. Why do I than give the album a 4/5? Because all the songs are not that good but it is a great album that real fans must own.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hope that you liked my review and donít forget to take a look on my others reviews and write a comment.



Recent reviews by this author
Megadeth So Far, So Good... So What!Black Sabbath Paranoid
Enthroned Carnage In World's BeyondMetallica Kill 'Em All
Black Sabbath Sabbath Bloody SabbathBlack Sabbath Master of Reality
user ratings (316)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Grant Hunter (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
seasonsintheabyss
June 14th 2005


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I am completely disagree with you cause i think it diserves a 5/5 and all the songs on this albums are great. It's not a bad review but i'm a real fan of them and want more track by track review.

power_lutin
June 14th 2005


56 Comments


right but has i said at the beginning of this review this is a live record... If you want the usual track by track read a review of the album you want to hear to. I wanted to do reign in blood but i think that the reviews that are made for this album are great.

Damrod
Moderator
June 15th 2005


1093 Comments


Yeah, the review is a bit weak IMO. After all these are two CDs, and only five songs is not representive. One always should approach a review as if the reader does not know the work or the artist at all.

Priestmetal
June 19th 2005


542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Araya cant do the Angel of Death scream live!! Thats a bit strange... Anyway, I think the cds deserve a 5/5. Its 2 hours of great slayer songs!!!

power_lutin
June 19th 2005


56 Comments


Yeah he can, have you actually heard that cd? Or maybe i'm wrong but he does that scream in many songs on this album anyway...

Killtacular
June 19th 2005


1314 Comments


I haven't heard this album, but I do know that I despise Reign in Blood. This review isn't up to par, either.This Message Edited On 06.19.05

Priestmetal
June 20th 2005


542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude, listen to the Angel of Death scream on the studio album and the one on the live one. You are def if u cannot hear that he cant REALLY do it live. He does a scream but its kinda weak and isnt the right note. This Message Edited On 06.20.05

Aakon_Keetreh
November 5th 2005


448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice review, i love this cd, slayer is awsome live

JeffDiablo
November 30th 2005


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think 'Decade of Aggression' is a good snapshot of what the live Slayer experience is all about. All of the classics are covered and some good 'secondary' material is aired- Spirit in Black, Blood Red, Hallowed Point, etc.

I would give it a 3.5/5.0 as a solid listen but not a 'must have'.This Message Edited On 11.29.05

vicy77
November 30th 2005


164 Comments


i like slayer cuz they are just what u need to drive away those stupid hippies!!

i hope someone got that

canadapantsman
February 7th 2006


236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the first disk to this collection was burned for me and was my first slayer disk evar. needless to say i wanted more.

slayerized
March 16th 2006


5 Comments


Slayer ROCK!!!!
the reviewz are fine,but i don't gv a damn anyway..

tooluver31
March 16th 2006


12 Comments


I dont know if a agree with the review because slayer is awesome!! I have been a slayer fan for a while and i think that the cd deserves a 5/5. Not a good review.

south_of_heaven 11
March 23rd 2006


5435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ahhh this is like...the greatest hits for slayer if you really want to call it that...every one of these songs is amazing, i just wish i could actually see them live for once...came so close...then it got sold out just when i got the money

"We shall drive to the center of the festival, and play this Slayer cd into the speakers. Why? Because HIPPIES HATE DEATH METAL"

that ones for you vicy77

(FYI i know slayer isnt death metal, but if you dont know whats that from, dont worry bout it)
This Message Edited On 03.23.06This Message Edited On 03.23.06

Hunter555
April 1st 2006


424 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Dispite that all of Kerry's "solos" are the same, slayer is virtuosso

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 21st 2006


4405 Comments


It's not a bad review, but I think you should put the pros and cons at the bottom, fix up some grammar, and make it a tad longer. But it's not bad.

Hunter555
April 22nd 2006


424 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

And also, the playing isn't presise. Lombardo starts about have of the riffs on this album of time. But he corrects, so it isn't a really big deal.

slayerized
May 16th 2006


5 Comments


btw ppl, don't expect Araya to scream as gd as in the recording tracks!!This Message Edited On 05.16.06

Hunter555
May 24th 2006


424 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

How many singers acually sing as good live as they do on the recording?


Killtacular
May 24th 2006


1314 Comments


All the good ones.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy