Stone Temple Pilots
Tiny Music... Songs from the Vatican...


3.5
great

Review

by angelo_d_necro USER (8 Reviews)
June 12th, 2005 | 46 replies | 16,010 views


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist


2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Tiny Music...Songs From The Vatican Gift Shop is the oddly titled third release from underrated rockers The Stone Temple Pilots, with their previous releases Core and Purple they amassed huge sales and unfair critical loathing being branded as a tag along band to such acts as Alice In Chains and Pearl Jam.

The copy cat tag remained with the band throughout their entire career although they went some way to dispelling this myth with everything released past Core (which in itself was a fantastic album and should not be discounted), and none more so than with this album.

01 - Press Play: The album opens with a nice little instrumental number which is a good indication of the rest of the album.

02 - Pop's Love Suicide: Soon as you hear Scott singing he sounds different, far more whinny but it suits the album mood well, this songs not the kind of crunching hard rock number that opened the previous two, its actually a breezy pop tune and catchy as hell.

03 - Tumble In The Rough: Not much can be sayed about this song apart from the fact that its really just a carbon copy of the song previous with a faster beat, bit dissapointing but the album picks up.

04 - Big Bang Baby: Here we go, this is a much more refined form the breezy pop tune with catchy written all over it, and a slightly heavy guitar riff driving it along (heavy in the context of the album).

05 - Lady Picture Show: Highlight of the album right of the bat, a sumptuous Beatles type song that powers through until arguably one of the most gorgeous guitar solos from Dean Deleo's repertoire, everything about this song screams classy.

06 - And So I Know: Sounds like its just drifted from some beach or something, the song is unlike anything from STP but is kinda relaxing in a way.

07 - Trippin' On A Hole In A Paper Heart: The album's hardest rocker, beginning with some nice and fast power chords and continuing through some brilliantly played out verses, a fantastic chorus and an insanely addictive solo from Dean yet again.

08 - Art School Girl: Another pop tune but with more zest, probably the catchiest song from a very catchy album, again brilliant.

09 - Adhesive: More like jazz-pop than anything else a slow burning melody with saxophones playing at certain intervals. Similar to Kitchenware and Candy Bars from Purple in a way.

10 - Ride The Cliche: Yet again a catchy pop tune but again with its own hooks which give it its place in the album.

11 - Daisy: Another instrumentalbut actually bloody good, suits the album well.

12 - Seven Caged Tigers: The album closes with not the best song of the album but my personal favourite, its an insanely good riff with strange lyrics sang fantastically by Weiland, perfect closer, then just when you think the song can't embed itself into your head any further they go and create a kinda echo effect of the main riff that gradually fades out almost leaving you longing for the album to be played again, course thats very sensible advice.

All in all absolute belter of an album and anyone looking for something a bit different or any STP fans not yet owning it definitely should.



Recent reviews by this author
Paul Westerberg Suicaine GratificationFaith No More Album of the Year
Jerry Cantrell Degradation Trip Volumes 1 & 2Stone Temple Pilots Thank You
Stone Temple Pilots Shangri-La-Dee-DaPearl Jam Yield
user ratings (458)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
lewish440 (4.5)
pop takes over grungemania...

mudvaynegodsmackacdc (4.5)
...

f_u_c_t (4.5)
Stone Temple Pilots poppiest effort. And can probably be considered their most underrated album to d...


Comments:Add a Comment 
angelo_d_necro
June 12th 2005



43 Comments


I already know the track listings messed up, dunno what happened.

Final Origin
June 19th 2005



344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I havent heard much of the album but i have heard most of it so im gonna rate it 4/5 cause from what ive heard from it (and im a big STP fan), this album is very underrated and this album kicks ass with its excellent guitaring and sometimes vocal wise. Not as good as the others ive reviewed but it is still a strong effort and it is a platinum album.

angelo_d_necro
June 19th 2005



43 Comments


Yep completely agree, not quite up there with the others but its still a stunner, and has a great ending with that cool little effect. Whats your views on Shangri-Laa-De-La? I love it personally

Final Origin
June 19th 2005



344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I havent got a clue, only heard "Coma" and "Days of the week", havent heard the album personally but the 2 songs are amazing. If you have the album, can you review it? Im interested in the album.This Message Edited On 06.19.05

angelo_d_necro
June 19th 2005



43 Comments


I'll get a review done for it in a while then, its definitely a great album

Final Origin
June 19th 2005



344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Need to get this band noticed here in this site, they deserve credit. Im starting to believe that STP is actually underrated despite all the awards they've got.

masada
June 19th 2005



2733 Comments


I cannot stand them, at all. I don't really see how anyone can.

Anyway, pretty decent review.

bushey37
January 24th 2006



14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review. Rating for each song would have been nice. Great album. O and final Origin, I agree with you about them being underrated. Far and away the most talented band of the 90s.

JohnXDoesn't
April 22nd 2006



1267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like the pop trash vibe of this album. Kinda different then what STP had done up to this point, the album is refreshing and the band sounds, well, refreshed. Album has some great singles on it such as Trippin', Big Bang Baby, and Lady Picture Show, which is lovely. I wish they would of explored some of this style a little more, but I guess it wasn't to be. And with a front man as unreliable as Weiland it most likey wouldn't of mattered much, anyway...This Message Edited On 04.22.06

Jimmy
April 25th 2006



717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is my favorite STP album. I always seem to prefer the mellow, laidback albums most bands do later as opposed to the earlier heavier stuff.

The track listing for this album is screwed up, it should be

1. Press Play
2. Pop's Love Suicide
3. Tumble In The Rough
4. Big Bang Baby
5. Lady Picture Show
6. And So I Know
7. Trippin' On A Hole In A Paper Heart
8. Art School Girl
9. Adhesive
10. Ride The Cliche
11. Daisy
12. Seven Caged Tigers

Every track on this album is strong, and it has surprising variety between hard tracks and easygoing tracks. I love Art School Girl, Daisy, And So I know... hell, I love them all.

Two-Headed Boy
April 29th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I will review this. It's an excellent album.

f_u_c_t
April 29th 2006



1406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Best STP album. Only thing that sucks on this are those useless mall/porn music fillers.

f_u_c_t
August 30th 2006



1406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I will review this. It's an excellent album.


I bet I'll beat you to it....i know this is an old conversation




metallicaman8
August 30th 2006



4677 Comments


I've been thinking of reviewing some STP, but not this album.

f_u_c_t
August 30th 2006



1406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This ones in the works with me, but there's no telling when it will finally be done. If I was to review a different one it would probably be Core.

grungeguy88
February 18th 2007



788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a great, overlooked album.

mudvaynegodsmackacdc
March 21st 2007



79 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This and Purple I could listen to forever. Core is okay, but most of the songs drag. No.4 is like Purple when it comes to heavy riffs, but Church on Tuesday is also similar to Lounge Fly on Purple. Oh and doesn't Trippin' on a Hole in a Paper Heart sound similiar to Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit?This Message Edited On 03.21.07

badbreath07
August 31st 2007



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

trippin' is the best on the album and that solo is da best

weepingwillowdown
August 20th 2008



29 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Definitly STP's finest Big Bang Baby and Lady Picture Show classic.

focksy
May 9th 2010



437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

3 of the new songs are streaming here
http://www.amazon.com/Stone-Temple-Pilots/e/B000ARC4TI/ref=pe_32080_15138130_fe_exp_1/#ep_mp3s

sounds like they're going back to the tiny music style which gets me p wet



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy