Machine Head
Through the Ashes of Empires


3.0
good

Review

by superpeer USER (22 Reviews)
May 30th, 2005 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


This album was a big hype in late 2003. Many reviews were praising, proclaiming how Machine Head had gone back to their roots. It was supposed to be a second Burn your Eyes. Machine Head had been nu-metal for quite a while before the release of this album. And then Imperium blessed my ears. A great song. Unlike other Machine Head songs, this was pure metal. Groovy riffs, fast metal drumming. Simply put, an awesome track.

But alas, the rest of the album, the so hailed come back, does not compare to the opening track. Plenty of promising tracks. Bite the bullet and others contain some great riffs, and Vim has a sweet solo that showcases a lot of skill, but the songs don't seem to go anywhere. Most of them are not memorable at all. The songwriting just isn't what it should be. McClain's drumming is great, Flynn however tries too much to sound angry and his vocals just don't flow with the music and this effects to the elimination of any chance of a good tune. Many of the nu-metal elements of earlier times pop up as well, and they just don't mix the groove metal.

The conclusion is that Machine Head has some skilled musicians and they have the potential to make a good album, but this is disappointing. Still three stars for this one, because of Imperium and because of the improvement they have made and hopefully they'll be a full-fledged metal band soon, once again.

PS: If you're a big nu-metal fan, you might like the extra taste of metal in their music and this might still be for you.


The Band:

Robb Flynn - Vocals/Guitars
Phil Demmel - Guitars
Adam Duce - Bass
Dave McClain - Drums



Recent reviews by this author
Therion TheliTherapy? Semi-Detached
Darkthrone Soulside JourneySoulfly Primitive
Therapy? One Cure Fits AllOld Man's Child In Defiance of Existence
user ratings (757)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adam Jones is GOD
May 31st 2005


113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album starts and ends strong, but I agree, most of the other tracks just dont work. Its still a good recovery from their last few albums.

And as much as they suck on the album, some of the tracks are ownage live.

superpeer
May 31st 2005


257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, I've yet to see them live, but I'll keep it in mind. Thanks for the comment. :thumb:

Six Foot Revolver
May 31st 2005


73 Comments


Very good Review Jelle my boy :thumb:

captain chris
June 1st 2005


73 Comments


God, this band are depressing!

smooches xxx

Arrakakaka
October 19th 2005


685 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

My friend likes Machine Head alot. So I decided to give it a listen. Aaaaack.

Neoteric
October 19th 2005


3243 Comments


I reviewed this album too on my constant account :upset:

Med57
Moderator
October 21st 2005


1001 Comments


Dude, could you stop typing all in capital letters please? Thanks.

spoon_of_grimbo
November 7th 2005


2241 Comments


according to the website, theres a song called "seasons wither" on this album. not only have you not mentioned it in your review, but also, i have never seen it on any copy of the album in any shops!

theyve done a live video for it too! which is kinda weird...

Dancin' Man
November 7th 2005


719 Comments


Might not be on the European release.

Wizard
January 17th 2006


19501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok review except I think this album is so far from nu-metal. Lots of great solos and huge leads. Ive listened to Machine Head for a long time and I believe this album is just as strong an album as Burn My Eyes (The More Things Change was their best album in my eyes). The songwriting is very epic and I love how some of the songs have longs builds that lead to a heavy conclusion (ie. In the Presence of My Enemies). These words are coming from an old school Machine Head fan. This Message Edited On 10.18.06This Message Edited On 10.18.06

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Iai
Emeritus
January 18th 2006


3553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Derivative as hell, and basically devoid of any original ideas, but a lot of fun.

Sangre-Negra
January 18th 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love this album... the review is kinda short.... and this album is nothing like nu-metal, and i haven't a clue how you can say the only good song on this album is imperium.

RobbFlynnRules
January 18th 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

First of all Machine Head have never been a Nu Metal band however I agree about the song Imperium it a real good song, but I do not agree about what was said about the rest of the album. The album is a very rememorable one and as for the song writting it is right where it should be and it the strongest I've heard in along time. Robb Flynn does not try to much to sound angry and the vocals do go well with music. Oh yeh and think all because my name say RobbFlynn Rules that I can't be no byuss beacuse I can. The ablum I think wasn't as strong as any of the others they've done was The Burning Red. This album is one of the best Machine Head has done so far. This band is one of the best and most under rated METAL (Not Nu Metal) bands to have come out of the '90's and I hope for more of the same.
Review Rating = 1.5
Album Rating = 4.5

NuMetalMania
January 20th 2006


325 Comments


Not the best band in the world, they got abit of work to do to improve i will say that. Review really lacked info i never like commenting on poor reviews but yer.

taylormemer
January 20th 2006


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought that this was a pretty good album. The highlights for me were Imperium and Descend the Shades of Night. The rest of the tracks were also very good, but not stuff I could continually listen to.
Musically the album is very nice, lyrically, well quite typical lyrics I thought, but still nicely poetic for metal.
I found the review however less of value. A little more information would be awesome, your writing is very good.

ducttapesmith
January 30th 2006


2 Comments


Are you guys nuts? This album kicks ass in a major way, I also picked up the concert DVD and it also kicks ass!! A much better outing than their latest CDs and every track is an accomplishment. Well written with awesome riffs and great vocals, A+ from a long time Machinehead fan !!!

espbassist
April 12th 2006


66 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Better than previous efforts, but no Burn My Eyes

wikuk
May 13th 2006


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is in my eyes their best album they ever produced, including Burn My Eyes and The More Things Change. They combine shouting very good with singing giving you different feelings.

2 things to say:

1. Rob doesn't sound like he wants to be angry! Maybe on Wipe The Tears but not on the other songs. It's just the way he screams. Listen to for example Chimaira for some really awful angry acted vocals. (No Offense, Chimaira is cool)

2. This album is far from Nu-Metal. Definition for Nu-Metal is: Simple, mostly short songs with a standard formule for song arangement (intro, couplet, chorus etc.). Nu-Metal songs have mostly a very standard beat and features always lyrics like "I hate this world, I commit suicide" or like that. Mudvayne is an exception. This album uses none of these points, has many solo's and the song arangements and lengths are also like normal metal. (to be exactly TTAOTE is groove metal or something)

not a very good review, but next time better :thumb:This Message Edited On 05.13.06

YiXiN
June 16th 2006


67 Comments


hmmmm...wheres seasons whithers...

wikuk
September 1st 2006


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not on this review, cause this is probably a european orientated review, so Seasons Wither is not included.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy