Linkin Park
Meteora


2.5
average

Review

by Damrod EMERITUS
May 3rd, 2005 | 581 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Some general impressions:
The second studio album by Linkin Park was released two years after the ground breaking album 'Hybrid Theory'. If people like it or not, 'Hybrid Theory' was setting the standards for nu-metal, rap-metal or whatever you want to call it. I adored the album back in the days, and though I know today that there is a lot more out there that is a lot better, I like to listen to it every now and then again. The line was set high with the major success of 'Hybrid Theory', but when the highly anticipated release was there, it was a disapointment to me.

That Warner Music is mikling this cow until the udder glows is clear. Four (!!!!!) different versions of this album in my local record store. Sadly, the band follows this and does all to keep the sells high you could think. The successfull schemes of the 'Hybrid Theory' hit singles were taken to the next level. Without really changing anything. What one realises pretty fast is the same structure of almost all songs. Sampled intro, Verse, Chorus, Verse, Chorus, Outro. Next song it's the same. Examples for this are "Somewhere I belong", "Easier to run" or "Figure 9". But about 10 of the 13 songs have this schematic.

The instrumental aspects have not changed a lot as well. The bass is still pretty simple, the guitar riffs lay down a simple but effective base for the songs, complemented by the drums. Practically no change with Chesters and Mikes vocals. The new thing are different sounds and loops used by Joseph Hahn, but that's about it.

Overall, that is quite sad. The band has a very good sense for melodies, and catchy hooks etc. But on this album, it's almost too catchy, the melodies always worked in the same way. It enters your right ear, and as soon as the song is over, it's out of the left ear. Fast food, if you want to say. The only slightly differen songs are 'Faint' and 'Nobody's listening'. The first suprises with unusal drumming (breakbeats, nice). Not so mid-tempo as the other stuff. But that's about it. The latter is new in terms of the strange sound, and it has a much more hip-hop-ish appeal. That's about it.

What was good:
Well, one could never complain about the production quality of Linkin Park. The sound is good, the overall mix good. Catchiness was never a problem for LP as well, the songs just invade your brain. Songs like Numb or Don't stay are quite good and fine for a relisten. Unfortunately, that is already about it...

What was not so good:
When I went into the record store, I did not want another Hyrid Theory in differen clothes. Where HT set new standards for the genre, I would have expected something new here. But "in the end, it doesn't matter", to say it with Linkin Parks own words. "Standing still is regress" like my dad always uses to say. And here nothing changed at all. Well, the hardcore fan, that fears progression and change like the devil holy water, will be happy with this stuff. But someone who's musical taste somewhat evolved after listeing to the first album (like it is in my case), can only wonder if the creative potential is not there, or the band was forced/did not want to change because of certain reasons. What those reasons are, I leave that to personal judgment and discussion.


Summary:
Excellent production and catchiness, as well as some quite good songs (Numb, Don't stay, Faint, Session) on the pro site, the major lack of creativity and new impulses on the contra side. In teh end, it will be up to personal judgement if the record is good or not. The hardcore LP fan will be happy as hell with it I persume, but anyone who has an expanding musical taste will make a big leap around this one after then first few listens. Apart from the songs listed above, nothing realy motivates to buy the album or listen to it.

If I ever wasted money on a CD, it was in this case... No inovation, no effort to set this album apart from Hybrid Theory, a realy poor effort. A very weak

Rating: 2.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Polar Bear Club Clash Battle Guilt PrideDown-Stares Cobras And Matadors
Unearth The MarchThe Psyke Project Apnea
In This Moment The DreamThis Is Hell Sundowning
user ratings (3557)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
EdwardTheGreat
May 3rd 2005


57 Comments


Great review, and I agree with everything you've said. A dissapointing album.

Clumpy
May 3rd 2005


76 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah. A great, reasonable review that doesn't burden itself with informational overload. I like a review like yours that gives out all the information about the album for someone considering it, rather than a "throw everything and see what sticks" type of review.

I used to love Linkin Park (I was looking forward to Meteora, but decided to forget it when I heard the direction LP was going), but I've moved on to other things. I still think Hybrid Theory is a good, if not great, album. All of the tracks mesh nicely into each other and it has a great industrial, multi-layered sound.

Dancin' Man
May 3rd 2005


719 Comments


I hate this album. Mostly because I loved Hybrid Theory so much. It was just such an utter disappointment it made me dislike the album even more. Very good review also.

Med57
Moderator
May 3rd 2005


1001 Comments


I agree with everyone else...although I didn't really like Hybrid Theory, it was listenable. As an example of the type of music it is, it's pretty much the definitive albums of the genre, at least as far as I'm concerned. This album is quite frankly terrible, and I'm just pleased that I got a copy off a friend.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
May 3rd 2005


2125 Comments


I listened to this album once. Even when I was a fan of this band, I hated this album, I listened to it all the way through once and I was so bored.

94_Hours
May 3rd 2005


73 Comments


a couple years ago, i was huge fan of these guy, once i got into underground music i stopped followng them and now im glad i did

Shattered_Future
May 4th 2005


1540 Comments


I bought this cd the day it came out, and loved it for 2 weeks...then never listened to it again.
Just recently i traded it in to a store for about 2 dollars, which is more than it is worth.
Horrible, HORRIBLE cd...apart from Breaking The Habit (that song is just too damn catchy), and Don't Stay, this was an utter disappointment...after 2 weeks.

Numb used to be one of my favorite songs off that album...then when it was played every freaking hour on Krock, i couldn't stand it any more.

Good review.

rustysurf84
June 4th 2005


327 Comments


great review.. well done

personally, i was into hyrbrid theory.. it had some great stuff on it.. this was a massive dissapointment... only a few good tracks.. nobodys listenin and faint

rustysurf84
June 4th 2005


327 Comments


great review.. well done

personally, i was into hyrbrid theory.. it had some great stuff on it.. this was a massive dissapointment... only a few good tracks.. nobodys listenin and faint

Killtacular
June 4th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I borrowed this offa friend not too long ago. Rubbish, it is. Pretty boring throughout with really short songs, which make for a really short album.

(>dragon~guitarist<)
June 25th 2005


243 Comments


Meh, was a fan of Hybrid Theory, but this was more disappointing then I have ever imagined. Not looking forward to a new album by them I have to say.

MisterMonday
June 25th 2005


10 Comments


meteora gets really boring and dull after a while. hybrid theory was a hell of a lot better. hybrid theory expirimented more and meteoras song sound all the same

metalmaniac54
June 25th 2005


47 Comments


jokes

Thor
June 29th 2005


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think 3 stars would have been better, but good review. It didn't compare to HT in any way.

AmericnZero02
July 27th 2005


3351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think Meteora was a good album, but like you guys said, it wasnt too different from Hybrid Theory outside of "Breaking the Habit." I think much like HT it has very few bad parts. Except im not a big fan of "Hit the Floor." I think its kinda lame how both albums end with an instrumental, then a slow song. Id have to say "From the Inside" is my favorite track tthis album.

Meteora3255
July 27th 2005


194 Comments


Im just gonna say for the record i didn't get my name from this album, I had been using this name before this album was even conceived, and if you want to know my source of the name ask. Thank You

harvester_of_sorrowx
July 28th 2005


13 Comments


BAD REVIEW!!!!! this album is good! admitidely not as good as hyrbid theory, but it has some of there best songs on it, breaking the habbit, numb, faint, from the inside, the guitar riffs are awesome an to the point, this album, much like HT, has a nice blend of rap an metal, LP are probably the best nu metal band around, in my opinion, an i think the album was awesome!!! :p

Killtacular
July 28th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

So whenever an album you like gets a low score (aka "what it deserves") then it's a bad review? I think not.

rkdrummer216
August 15th 2005


5 Comments


Good review. I'm with you. I liked the album okay at first, but then every single song started to sound exactly the same.

The only track I can still stand (sometimes) is "Faint." The rest either all sound the same or (in the case of "Numb") have been way overplayed and redone featuring a [c]rapper.

CowboyBebop
August 23rd 2005


5 Comments


I wish the Dj would make his own CD. I love Cure for the Itch and Session.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy