Electric Six
Fire


4.5
superb

Review

by sobelecta USER (9 Reviews)
February 8th, 2005 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Electric Six have always been known for their singles 'Gay Bar' and 'Danger, High Voltage'. These were both huge hits here in the UK, both peaking in the top ten. These singles were probably recognised for their great wit and, probably most noticably, the videos that came with them. Everyone remembers for the video for 'Gay Bar' because of the depiction of former president Abraham Lincoln, which I thought was genius.

But there is more to this album then one may expect. I bought this album not knowing what I was going to get, but when I first stuck this in my CD player I was blown away. It was very powerful, strong music which was well written and original. I was especially pleased with the tracks 'Electric Demons in Love' and 'Synthesizer', which surprisingly had excellent lyrics, coming from the inspirational Dick Valentine. The music was coming from a band with over-enthusiasm and character, which comes through on the record.

And surprisingly, there are some excellent solo's on the album, coming from tracks 'Naked Pictures' and 'I'm the Bomb', which shows the talent that these men have. The only tracks I may criticise are 'She's White', which definitely lost its novelty quickly (even though the solo is pretty good), and 'Getting into the Jam' which seemed like a filler track.

If you are looking for some music to dance around the room to, this is definitely the record to do so. The songs are snappy and exciting, and the synthesizers create a spellbounding effect. I truly recommend this album, or at least give it a try. Because who knows, you may enjoy it...


Happy listening,

sobelecta.



Recent reviews by this author
Cher Lloyd Sticks + StonesGorillaz Plastic Beach
The Long Blondes Someone To Drive You HomeThe Associates The Affectionate Punch
The Cure PornographyAdam Ant HITS
user ratings (110)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Benjamino Jackanory (3.5)
No crazy was sacrificed in the making of this origin story...

hybridofsound (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
wheelydude_13
August 18th 2005


6 Comments


this album is great, it does get a bit repetitve after a while though

sobelecta
September 21st 2005


38 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It does, as I have now found out, but I might dig it up soon.

Arrakakaka
October 20th 2005


685 Comments


"Gay Bar" and "Naked Pictures (Of Your Mother)"..

:lol:

frankswildyears
May 13th 2006


4 Comments


This album is just genius, never before have I felt such an urge to just lose it then when this album is on, it makes me so happy. with lines like "Im a man with conversation skills, Im a man with $100 bills. Where would we be without this type of music.

CharmlessMan
May 13th 2006


169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This band are pretty cool, I like them because their just totally different. They combine fast rock with disco and Dick Valentine manages to be a sarcastic lyrical genius at the same time. He's got a really over-the-top style of being a frontman that makes me piss myself laughing when I see one of their videos or live performances. I love this album and I personally like every song off of it.


rasputin
October 29th 2007


14545 Comments


review's a bit short, but a really good album. I very much love the frontman.

Jim
November 22nd 2007


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album is good fun.

improper dancing is awesome.

peopleeverywhere
August 18th 2008


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is awesome, shame they went down the pan after this. STOP!.....CONTINUE!

marksellsuswallets
December 20th 2008


4848 Comments


GIRL
I WANT TO TAKE YA TO A GAY BAR

Jim
December 20th 2008


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

DANGER DANGER
HIGH VOLTAGE
WHEN WE TOUCH
WHEN WE KISS
the lead singer sounds like trey parker sometimes

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I tried and tried to write a review for this album and every draft came out convoluted. I just can’t get the words right to describe it… Probably because it is so strange & different. I’d call it (humorous) theatrical rock with lashings of electronica. One can’t take ‘Fire’ too seriously as it is occasionally fun and contains a few contagious tracks & some good guitar riffs. But the lasting value is poor and it often gets overwhelmed by the silly lyrics & ineffective vocals (especially when Valentine goes into freestyle-like corny rhyming mode). Recommended tracks are the 2 lead singles ‘Danger! High Voltage’ & ‘Gay Bar’.

DarthBlubber
August 24th 2010


218 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The videos for the singles off this album are so WRONG! But it's a fun album :D

metallicass
November 12th 2011


28 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i think this may be the most unique and amazing albums ever, its just that there is nothing out there quite like this. And the fact that the music is actually really good helps it separate itself from other funny non serious albums like a lot of "weird al" yancovich's work. great stuff :D

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012


16023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dick valentine so funny

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2012


16023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fire in the disco....fire in the taco beeeelll

FrozenVain
March 19th 2013


2432 Comments


I have something to put in you


at the gay bar

PersianLeonidus
March 26th 2013


14 Comments


This album says fire 47 times. I counted.

No, I have no idea what I'm doing with my life either.

Mad.
March 26th 2013


3841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I must obtain this. Zodiac is awesome.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy