Overkill
Horrorscope


4.5
superb

Review

by RCA USER (7 Reviews)
February 5th, 2005 | 55 replies | 13,776 views


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist


2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Band: Overkill
Album: Horrorscope
Year: 1991
Label: Atlantic

Lineup:

Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth - Vocals
D.D. Verni - Bass
Merritt Gant - Guitars
Rob Cannavino - Guitars
Sid Falck – Drums

Ah, Horrorscope. One of my favorite albums, and probably one of the best thrash albums next to The Years of Decay, Darkness Descends, and Bonded By Blood. This was released in 1991, in a time where thrash (and metal in general) was starting to go down the drain, and grunge and alternative were starting to become popular. In other words, gay music was infecting the world. Many good bands broke up or changed their sound. Metalheads cut their hair and had kids, and the tr00ness was leaving.

But some bands kept “tr00" and still kept making solid albums. Overkill was one of those bands, and this album was one of those aforementioned solid ones. Check that, it kicked some fucking ass.

This album kicks off with the fast headbanger “Coma", and doesn’t slow down until the intro to “Bare Bones", and then it kicks off again into a thrashing frenzy. Then the title track comes, and although it’s slower, it still manages to shove a Mack truck up your cunt. You have no cunt you say? Well, this album will give one to you, and rip it out with its giant claw of thrash. The album rumbles on through New Machine and an instrumental entitled Frankenstein (which is pretty damn catchy) until it gets to Live Young, Die Free, where the fast thrashing commences again. The album closes with a great ballad entitled “Soulitude", where Blitz really shows some emotion.

Noticeable on this album is the crunchier guitar tone, and a little groove is found on some riffs. The drums are also mixed differently (notice the snare drum and bass drum sound), and Blitz’s voice also is a bit lower and a TAD bit raspier. People who didn’t like his voice before should probably be able to tolerate it this time.

Standout tracks:

All except for New Machine and Nice Day…For A Funeral. Those two just weren’t as good as the others on the album.

This album gets a 4.5/5 only because it lacks the great variety found on The Years of Decay. Other than that, a GREAT album.



Recent reviews by this author
Judas Priest Angel of RetributionDismember Like an Ever Flowing Stream
Dark Angel Darkness DescendsOverkill The Years of Decay
Revenant Prophecies of a Dying WorldDekapitator We Will Destroy...You Will Obey!
user ratings (300)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
ImTheOnlyThugInTheBuildin (4)
Overkill show marvelously that thrash was not dead following 1990 with a fantastic follow-up to The ...

BlackLlama (5)
A love letter to the magnum opus of Jersey bred thrashers Overkill. Stripping away their slightly ca...

Drew Tyler (4)
A satisfying and excellent end of an era for Overkill....


Comments:Add a Comment 
metal-militia
February 5th 2005



3 Comments


An absolutely brilliant album. I don't see what you've got against New Machine though, its a great track

LordDargon
February 5th 2005



165 Comments


The best reviewer on the site is back in action. I like it. None of this pussying around. :thumb:

Dethtrasher
October 12th 2005



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do so agree with you that gay-music destroyed the metal-scene. I have only heard one song of this band and I thought they had this unique sound as other thrash bands have. Good review!!! Live Young, Die Free is greatThis Message Edited On 10.13.05

Thor
May 7th 2010



10176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"How can you say you know what I mean as you're pissin' all over my life?"

lol Overkill

Phrike
August 29th 2010



1691 Comments


rules

McCopper
August 29th 2010



1367 Comments


"All except for New Machine"
Song that got me into overkill.
Not great but did it's job...

mark7477
January 3rd 2011



392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think Horror scope was somewhat of an improvement from their earlier stuff.The first half of this album strike's being just redundant thrash over and over at this point but the second half gets much better with the Horrorscope song itself.I also like the last 2 tracks nice day for a funeral and solitude they progress very well on this album.I was never a big fan of bobbies voice but other that they are probably the underrated thrash band but definitely not the big four of this genre.

Thor
February 10th 2011



10176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Most fun thrash album ever? Probably.

TheNotrap
July 30th 2011



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

One of their best records.
Sad to see Bobby Gustafson leave but Horrorscope is definitely a good album.

Coma, Bare Bones, Horrorscope and Soulitude are really cool songs.

Madbutcher3
September 17th 2011



1076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Infectious and Live Young, Die Free are my favorites here. I really love everything about this album.

TheNotrap
September 17th 2011



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

One of their best sure.
Their debut remains my fav. Taking Over close second.

TheNotrap
September 17th 2011



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Under is a little inconsistent imo but Hello From the Gutter is classic. I also like Years, Elimination is a killer track.

TheFlightOfTheNazgul
October 18th 2011



55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New Machine and Nice Day For A Funeral are my fav here... Sound to thrash!!!Also like Frankenstein and Blood Money...

BigHans
January 11th 2012



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think this is my least fave major thrash band

BigHans
January 11th 2012



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh let me guess you like Slanted better since the production is shittier

TheNotrap
January 11th 2012



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hans you need to jam their debut and Taking Over. Killer stuff.

BigHans
January 11th 2012



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have in pieces, Blood and Iron goes hard

seedofnothing
January 11th 2012



3425 Comments


I don't give this band enough credit.

BigHans
January 11th 2012



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

RawkOClock > RiffOClock

TY2810
February 13th 2012



110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Infectious m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy