Overkill
The Years of Decay


5.0
classic

Review

by RCA USER (7 Reviews)
February 5th, 2005 | 64 replies


Release Date: 1989 | Tracklist


Band: Overkill
Album: The Years of Decay
Year: 1989
Label: Atlantic

Lineup:

Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth - Vocals
D.D. Verni - Bass
Bobby Gustafson - Guitars
Sid Falck – Drums

This album is Overkill’s fourth studio album, and in my opinion their definitive album. Nothing on here sucks, or is filler material. You can listen to this album all the way through and not get bored, save for maybe the intro to E.vil N.ever D.ies. This is the album that always seems to get stuck in my stereo.

The production on this album is great. Clear where you can hear the riffs, and the drums aren’t mixed too high, yet it’s not squeaky clean like a whiffle thrash album or the majority of metal albums that came out in the 90’s.

The guitar sound on this album is noticeably heavier than their previous album, “Under The Influence." The riffs on here are crushing and really catchy (I couldn’t seem to get the main riff to “Nothing To Die For" out of my head the first time I heard this album), and the guitar leads and solos are executed nicely. The drums, like I said before, aren’t mixed too high which is a plus. There’s variety to be found in Falck’s drumming too, so for all of you who hate the continuous meatbeat ala Pleasure To Kill, this album made sure you would be pleased.

Speaking of variety, this albums features a diverse sound. You have you’re speed metal number like Elimination and Time To Kill, you’ve got your bonecrushing thrashers like Evil Never Dies and Birth of Tension, you’re slow, menacing doomy songs like Playing With Spiders/Skullkrusher, and the clean guitar parts of the title track and Who Tends The Fire. All of which are solid and/or kick ass. The album does not disappoint.

The only real problem with this album people might not get used to is Blitz’s voice. It can take a while to grow on you, but Blitz really is an outstanding vocalist. So for all you nay sayers, *** You And Then Some.

EVIL! NEVER! DIES!

5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Judas Priest Angel of RetributionDismember Like an Ever Flowing Stream
Dark Angel Darkness DescendsOverkill Horrorscope
Revenant Prophecies of a Dying WorldDekapitator We Will Destroy...You Will Obey!
user ratings (424)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Atari CONTRIBUTOR (4.5)
Full of imagination and originality, Overkill’s fourth studio album is the ideal thrash experience...

Drew Tyler (5)
Overkill's defining album; A true classic of thrash metal...

Chris Carney (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
metal-militia
February 5th 2005


3 Comments


Good review.

Blitz owns you

LordDargon
February 5th 2005


165 Comments


I Hate is one of the best songs ever. This album gets a:

m/ OVERKILL m/

Dual Horns rating, the highest in music.

LordDargon
February 5th 2005


165 Comments


Fuck, my horns got messed up. Oh well, you get the picture.

SLATANIC-666
February 5th 2005


1 Comments


Great review RCA.
This album took some time get used to, but now its one of the albums I listen to most. m/

mudvayne_bass_player
July 3rd 2005


71 Comments


Well, I haven't heard all of the album, but I love Elimination. It's such a fun song to play on the bass. I also love the sound of his bass.

Dethtrasher
October 12th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was an awesome review as well, keep up the good work!

Dethtrasher
October 22nd 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I found this album and it is one of my favorite bands now, once again this is an awesome review!

ChrisD
December 19th 2005


44 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Overkill are great."Under the influence" is very underrated.

Dethtrasher
February 4th 2006


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listen Up People!
This band has made totally almost 19 albums including EP's and live ones. Can someone please review some more Overkill?. (If I had some albums I would review right away but I can't for the moment.)

Apocalyptic Raids
April 13th 2006


810 Comments


Awesome album.

British Beef
July 8th 2006


7 Comments


i might have ot check it out, i've never liked them much. im more into testament

GenuineImitation
July 27th 2006


49 Comments


This is a classic metal album. Every thrash and metal fan should check this out.

Mart0001
October 9th 2006


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Great review. Great album too. It's really a thrash classic. I especially like the diversity on this album.

bigguy69
June 9th 2008


199 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

they should have left out Playing with Spiders/Skullkrusher...the song drags on and slows down the album that little bit that a thrash album shouldn't be slowed down

foreverendeared
September 10th 2008


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

classic thrash right here.
FATAL, YOU'RE SH*TTIN' ME!!

bigguy69
September 10th 2009


199 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album is way overrated...as is the band

KILL
November 18th 2009


72111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

E!!!!!

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

TheHamburgerman
December 2nd 2009


1300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No filler? I disagree. Skullkrusher and Who Tends the Fire are rather average. Then again, there are six unimagebly fukcing incredible songs to listen to (the title track is merely amazing).

KILL
September 1st 2010


72111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

time to kill!!!!

Pyosisified
October 23rd 2010


2450 Comments


lowering my rating



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy