Enslaved
Frost


5.0
classic

Review

by Per Ardua Ad Astra USER (30 Reviews)
January 18th, 2005 | 103 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist


Following the epic release of 'Viking LigrVeldi' in 1994, Enslaved returned only a few months later with the release of 'Frost.' This album is equal to, if not outdoing their previous works.

By this time, Enslaved had already grown a cult following of fans with several demos, a split with Emperor (which is now incredibly hard to get your hands on) and of course their debut 'Viking LigrVeldi.'

This Enslaved's 2nd release, released on Osmose records along with Bathory's 'Hammerheart' is one of the defining viking metal albums.

The lineup...
Trym Torson : Drums, percussion
Grutle Kjellson : Vocals, bass, mouthharp
Ivar Bj°rnson : Guitars, electronics
Eirik "Pyten" Hundvin : Fretless bass (Track 5)

Tracklisting...
Frost
Loke
Fenris
Svarte Vidder
Yggdrasil
Jotunblod
Gylfaginning
Wotan
Is÷ders dronning

This album comes at you with both a roaring wave of intense black metal with viking themes and a very calm folk side that is seldom seen in this day and age of music. With intense tracks like Loke and the classic Jotunblod Enslaved captures a sense of pride in their heritage through fast, aggresive music. The drumming of Trym (of Emperor fame) shines through the brutal riffage of the guitars, keeping up the with the wails of Grutle Kjellson throughout the fastest of riffs.

Enslaved does not shy away from folk music on this album, combining acoustics with slow electrics and synths, paving the way for bands like Ensiferum and Einherjer and the likes. The tracks Fenris, Yggdrasil and Isoders Dronning put on a clinic on how viking metal is supposed to be done by the fathers of Viking metal.

Enslaved touches on many aspects of metal on this album, using synths where they are needed to give a song a boost. With Gylfaginning, Enslaved combines the synths to create an awesome atmosphere much like the cover portrays the album to be. Not to mention this song has one of the few guitar solos on the album.

This album is relentless on it's attack on the ear, this along with most of Enslaved's older albums cannot be compared to the new stuff such as 'Below the Lights' and 'Isa.' Enslaved hasn't taken a new direction with the new stuff, but rather matured and progressed over time. 'Frost' is raw, gut-wrenching and extreme while 'Below the Lights' is more mellow and and progressive, essentially leaving behind the raw black metal attitude. This being a turn for better.

The only real knock on this album would be some out of place synths, for the most part they are used perfectly but there are certain spots where the synths ruin the feeling of the song.

Rating: 4/5 for anyone new to the genre.
Rating: 4.7/5 and must for anyone who is familiar with this genre.

Recomended Tracks
Loke
Yggdrasil
Jotunblod
Isoders Dronning

Not bad considering Ivar was 16 and Grutle was 20 years old when this album was recorded.
This is an essential, if not the essential, viking metal album.



Recent reviews by this author
Age of Silence AccelerationArcturus La Masquerade Infernale
Iced Earth The ReckoningGordian Knot Emergent
Enslaved Below the LightsUlver Bergtatt - Et eeventyr i 5 capitler
user ratings (286)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Arrakakaka
December 21st 2005


685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds like my kinda stuff. And the coverart is beautiful.

Thor
July 29th 2006


10192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't know, this album just didn't do it for me.

rattlehead42147
July 7th 2007


1345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good work, have a vote. im not new to the genre but i still give this a 4/5 due to the fact that enslaved has done better than this, i.e Isa.This Message Edited On 07.07.07

Wizard
July 7th 2007


19409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

or Ruun I must add!

Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

TheHamburgerman
November 2nd 2007


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love it much more then I used to. The fist 4 tracks are bliss, and the last one too.

TheHamburgerman
November 2nd 2007


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But they could, and should, have been more popular.

FR33L0RD
November 14th 2007


1464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Enslaved is a very gifted band.
I discovered them recently and im very impressed.

IMO the top 3 Enslaved are the last 3,
Ruun 4.5/5
Isa 5/5
Below the Lights 4.5/5This Message Edited On 11.14.07This Message Edited On 11.14.07

Yazz_Flute
January 4th 2008


18783 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome album. Svarte Vidder is my favorite. All I need now is VikingLigr Veldi, Mardraum, and Monumension.

Digging: Battles - Mirrored

FR33L0RD
January 17th 2008


1464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I raised my score from 3.5 to 4.
The more i listen to this the more i like it and found the beauty of the pieces.

You can find awesome tracks in each of the Enslaved albums.
My favorit Blackmetal band followed by Emperor
---------------
QUESTION FOR THE BLACK METAL EXPERTS:
What are the others real_good bands similar to Enslaved and with good album production?

rattlehead42147
January 17th 2008


1345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dissection - Storm of the Lights Bane (not one of my fav's but matches the description of what you're looking for)
Satyricon - "Nemesis Divina" (once again not one of my favorites but well produced)
Vinterland - Welcome My Last Chapter
Ulver - BergtattThis Message Edited On 01.17.08

FR33L0RD
January 21st 2008


1464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^^^ thanks, much appreciated

FR33L0RD
February 20th 2008


1464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Fenris" & "Svarte Vidder" are a pure black delight

Wizard
February 20th 2008


19409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still want to listen to this. I saw it in HMV for $27.99 Canadian. Not worth my money until I listen to it first!

FR33L0RD
February 20th 2008


1464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^^Indeed, thats a bit expensive

myhigherpie
November 8th 2008


3027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bumped for being the best black metal album I have ever heard.

Wizard
November 8th 2008


19409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This isn't exactly black metal.

Essence
November 8th 2008


3585 Comments


It's viking themed black metal.

Wizard
November 8th 2008


19409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't know, there's something about calling this black metal that just doesn't sit well with me.

Essence
November 8th 2008


3585 Comments


The rhythmic patterns they use are a little strange, but all the other black metal staples are there.

Essence
November 8th 2008


3585 Comments


Shit, double post. Um... um...
Like the summer sunshine, Your sweetness over meThis Message Edited On 11.08.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy