The Beatles
Abbey Road


5.0
classic

Review

by Humor99 USER (14 Reviews)
January 17th, 2005 | 34 replies | 8,396 views


Release Date: 1969 | Tracklist


4 of 8 thought this review was well written

In 1969 the biggest band in the world, The Beatles, were on the verge of breaking up. Fortunately, that did not stop them from making the tremendous album Abbey Road.

This album encompasses some of the finest Beatles songs ever written - "Something", "Come Together", and "Here Comes the Sun". Sprinkled among these well-knowns are quirkier songs that are great in and among themselves. "Maxwell's Silver Hammer" is a song that follows a boy who kills anybody who displeases him with his silver hammer and a "bang bang bang." "Octupus' Garden" is about a wish to leave among the octupus' and the free life associated with it. Quirky - perhaps, but still these songs are as good as any song written.

The musicianship is top-notch on this album - George's lead on "Here Comes the Sun" and many other riffs throughout the album are some of his best, and the songwriting is reaching its creative peak. Harrison, the odd-man-out when it came to songwriting produces two amazing songs, including the later #1 "Something". Overall, the Beatles sound very tight in their playing abilities.

There are some letdowns on the albums because they don't seem to fit, but they don't spoil the album. "Because" seems to come to mind, but it's not a horrible song. The Beatles also employ some interesting tactics with the album, like making three songs - "Mean Mr. Mustard", "Polythene Pam", and "She Came in Through the Bathroom Window" - seamless makes for quite a cool song. The switches from slow and melodic to fast rock-n-roll is used effectively to make some great tunes like "You Never Give Me Your Money".

Overall this album is one of the Beatles' best, and it's unfortunate that they broke up so shortly after.



Recent reviews by this author
Guns N' Roses Use Your Illusion IIBob Dylan The Bootleg Series Vol. 5: Live in 1975
Jimi Hendrix Live at WoodstockGeorge Harrison Brainwashed
The Band The Last Waltz [DVD]Bob Dylan The Bootleg Series Vol. 6 Live in 1964
user ratings (3112)
Chart.
4.6
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Badmoon
January 18th 2005



384 Comments


Very solid review. With a short amount of writing, you covered everything one would need to know. Great job :thumb:

I really like this album. Not necessasrily as much as some of the other previous Beatle albums, but the musicianship is great. The music became much more intricate when Abbey Road came out, also.


Woodstock
January 19th 2005



154 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review, one of my all time favorite albums.

Knoxvillelives
February 4th 2005



342 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fantastic album, great review.

Sok98
February 23rd 2005



36 Comments


nice review! this album changed music after it came out. just wanted to say that 'Let it Be' was actually recorded before abbey road but due to some problems, not sure what exactly probably financial, abbey road was recorded and then in 1970 let it be was released.

Sok98
February 26th 2005



36 Comments


k well justread over the review again... in my opinion the second side of this record (here comes the sun-her majesty) is far superior to the first side. Sure you can say 'Because' is a bad song but basiccally Because to Her majesty is all one song. They flow together so well and if you listen from Because to the end of the album you will here the Beatles best work they EVER did. Similar to the Police's Synchronicty, they left the industry in a good note.

Glitterati
April 10th 2005



83 Comments


I like how after track five or six, it all melds together until the end.

ltj64
April 27th 2005



9 Comments


I actually found it interestint that the melody of "You Never Give Me Your Money" shows up again in the middle of "Carry That Weight".

Great review. Maybe one of the best albums in rock history.


Killtacular
July 6th 2005



1314 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Abbey Road owns so hard. Good review.This Message Edited On 07.05.05

Blackbird
July 10th 2005



39 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Brilliant Album... i think the review could've covered a little more but nevertheless good work.

Abbey Road's best:

- Come Together
- Something
- I Want You (She's So Heavy)
- Here Comes The sun
- (The Medley) You Never Give Me Your Money -----> The End

An absolute classic.

masada
July 11th 2005



2733 Comments


I'm on such a Beatles binge right now. I can't get enough.

I noticed that Bright Eyes' "Nothing Gets Crossed Out" sounds vaguely similar to "You Never Give Me Your Money". Hmm...

drummerguy274
July 20th 2005



32 Comments


abbey road was my all time favorite beatles album that came out and the review you gave it is really good also.
the whole album is so good that i dont have a favorite song i like em all.
~drummerguy

blockhead
July 25th 2005



8 Comments


5/5, I especially like how the second half of the album is a medley.

Chilly-Bean-Bop
August 30th 2005



344 Comments


the beatles f*cking rock. great review, btw. :thumb:

masada
September 5th 2005



2733 Comments


"Her Majesty" is the best 20 second skiffle song ever recorded.

Zebra
Moderator
September 5th 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great album, good review. This is a great album but I still prefer Rubber Soul, Revolver, and Sgt. Pepper over this.

Mean Mr Mustard
September 6th 2005



4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I dont know how Because is Dissapointing.

Knoxvillelives
September 22nd 2005



342 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Is this the only review?
Seems a bit short, still a good un though. Thought someone would have written a beef for this bad boy
Alliteration: Tool of the new millenium

Zebra
Moderator
September 22nd 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

^^^That's a good idea.

BasShorty
September 24th 2005



26 Comments


One of my favorites ever!
and good job on the review, ;)

Romencer17
October 18th 2005



84 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice review, but if I didn't know how the Beatles sound I might've been confused by this review... then again, is there anybody in the world who doesn't know what the Beatles sound like?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy