Godspeed You! Black Emperor
Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada


4.5
superb

Review

by S. G. Shaw USER (15 Reviews)
January 17th, 2005 | 47 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist


It is indeed a slow riot for Godspeed in this second release; what we have here is a slow-burner with the explosion at the end. The full force of Godspeed's 9-piece is felt without restraint and delivers on other levels. The album by track:

Moya : 10:51

The track begins silent but soon builds as violin, french horn, cello and other ambient noises increase and then harmlessly fall back down. Soon after, guitar and xylophone introduce the next movement. The combination of all the members of the nontet playing is incredible as the song grows increasingly uplifting, then troubling, then almost frantic and soon back to its previous uplifting state. It continues on and then finally slows down to a mere violin for the outro.

Blaise Bailey Finnegan III : 17:45

Ok, now what may look like periods of utter nothingness or very quiet music can also be viewed as a sort of restraint. A restraint that can fully get the message of Blaise Bailey Finnegan III, a Rhode Island man who was being interviewed about a speeding ticket trial he had earlier that morning. For 11 minutes, he is interviewed while the music becomes increasingly eerie and belligerent. The interview ends with a poem Finnegan wrote about social decay. The interview ceases and piano and violin play into a crescendo that is joined by drums and horns. The fuse on this slow-burner has finally run out and the music soars. Drums pound away, rise, fall and pick back up. A lone violin brings around the ending as it's sad melody encompasses the listener with it's raw sadness.

Overall: This Canadian nontet succeeds yet again by expanding their sound past the sounds of F# A# (Infinity) and by utilizing each of their members and instruments effectively. When judging an album like this, length can't matter. If one would listen to it, they should plan on sitting and do something else perhaps and take in the half hour of music.



Recent reviews by this author
Balmorhea All Is Wild, All Is SilentSunset Rubdown Dragonslayer
Fifths of Seven Spry From Bitter Anise FoldsMisophone Where Has It Gone, All The Beautiful Music Of...
Set Fire to Flames Telegraphs in Negative/Mouths Trapped inSet Fire to Flames Sings Reign Rebuilder
user ratings (1608)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Killtacular
June 17th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review. I pretty much agree with everything. I think I'll say this is GY!BE's second best work, behind f#a#oo.

Med57
Moderator
June 17th 2005


1001 Comments


I love Blaise Bailey Finnegan II.

Killtacular
June 17th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not to be a nit-picker, but it's supposed to be Blaise Bailey Finnegan III, as in 3. It's my favourite of the two tracks. Moya holds it's own, though.

Wanker
June 18th 2005


139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, this was my first review :eek:

..and it's pretty bad; I messed up the name of the second track.

Moya's good as a really solid song. BBFIII can scare the crap out of you.

pixiesfanyo
June 18th 2005


1223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is great.

And I dig it mucho.

Killtacular
June 18th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd hate to be half asleep during BBF3 when he gets all angry and starts shouting. I'd be jolted awake, and that's not pretty.

Artemician
October 16th 2005


26 Comments


The thing recited in Blaise Bailey Finnegan III is actually the Iron Maiden song "Virus". C'mon people, Blaise Bailey= Blaze Bayley. Nobody caught this one?

Zebra
Moderator
October 16th 2005


2647 Comments


^^^I never caught it, but I'm not much of an Iron Maiden fan.

Wanker
October 17th 2005


139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Already knew that.

/fanboy

Killtacular
October 17th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've known that since before I'd even heard the song.

Kage
November 5th 2005


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just listened to this for the first time today...God damn this is so good. I can't get over the greatness of Moya. This is just as good as F#A#; I just wish it was longer.

Godspeed owns the earth.

Zebra
Moderator
November 5th 2005


2647 Comments


If this was longer it would probably be my favorite GSY!BL album.

"Moya" is currently my favorite Godspeed song, I actually wish it was longer.

Trinigoth
August 3rd 2006


24 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is my personal favorite GYBE album, great stuff.

Two-Headed Boy
August 9th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pretty shabby review.

This album pretty much owns.

Muisee
August 9th 2006


679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Strong but short album, strong but short review, now how do you like that?

matt_drummist
September 20th 2006


26 Comments


Moya is amazing, makes me cry. I actually don't like f#a#(infinity) that much, it might be my least favorite album of theirs.

whiteminority
October 23rd 2006


74 Comments


Great release, the song Moya is absolutely beautiful.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 30th 2006


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I may have to agree with sixtyten.

Moya is fantastic, nothing else to say, it's a spectacular song. Second favorite GY!BE songs to date.

BBF III, such a chilling song, the interviewer really makes this song just beyond eerie. Music once again is soooo good and the crescendo's and decrescendo's fit in sooooo perfectly.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2006


17944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this album is so good.

711
October 30th 2006


1341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I dont think tis is GYBE's best album really, but it is still amazing. Moya is one of my favorite songs by Godspeed, and it is also more accesable than many others that they have done.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy