Yeasayer
All Hour Cymbals


4.5
superb

Review

by jon miller USER (5 Reviews)
February 23rd, 2008 | 17 replies | 8,638 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Yeasayer make an extremely important record that feels as animal collective as American gospel choirs.

1 of 4 thought this review was well written

111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaa aaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaa aaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaa aaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa11 1aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaa aa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaa aaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaa aaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111a aaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaa aaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaa aaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaa aaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa11 1aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaa aa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaa aaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaa aaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111a aaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 111aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa


user ratings (197)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
snydely (4.5)
Expertly fused noises from very different musical eras and areas, with a distinctive pop music influ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
jontheatheist
February 23rd 2008



79 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haaaaahhahaha. I made so many grammatical errors. Well this won't be my last review I'll tell you that, it was really fun. This Message Edited On 02.23.08

rasputin
February 23rd 2008



14519 Comments


A detailed track by track, better than a lot of other ones I've read. Try moving away from it and more towards overall reviews, I think you have potential to be a decent writer.

mx
Moderator
February 23rd 2008



733 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is really a brilliant album, I'm glad someone reviewed it.

sgrevs
February 24th 2008



698 Comments


Nice review for a first, I should really get around to hearing this.

jontheatheist
February 24th 2008



79 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Basically just get this album. It's really good.

Eliminator
February 24th 2008



2067 Comments


they were bad on Conan

jontheatheist
February 24th 2008



79 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, it was disappointing.

istaros
May 27th 2008



310 Comments


based on your descriptions, i'm pretty sure you have the titles mixed up for "Worms" and "Waves" - which, by the way, also seems to be actually titled "Many Waves". very strange album. but insanely good

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
August 6th 2008



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The first three tracks gives me the chills. This Message Edited On 08.06.08

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

jrowa001
September 4th 2008



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i just got this today im really liking it

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
September 4th 2008



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lyk how gud is 2080? rly gud i kno

VALISwalrus
September 6th 2008



7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

in all the live footage i've seen the singing is a lot worse than the album. regardless of that the lp is top shelf.

natey
March 2nd 2009



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they were scrumtulescent when I saw them live. This album is so fine.

dav4550
May 29th 2009



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just discovered this and it has changed how I will listen to music from here on out I am sure

Kashmir09
April 23rd 2010



772 Comments


I don't know why I don't give this album more credit. It's always a solid listen, and I literally dig every song here

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The debut LP from Brooklyn-based band Yeasayer is definitely a bold, interesting & original release. Infusing all kinds of world music (especially African & Middle Eastern influences) into an indie template, 'All Hour Cymbals' is an ambitious mish-mash of traditional instruments & synths. At its best when the vocal harmonies - no matter how filtered & mumbled - are accentuated, the best examples of this just happen to be the first 3 tracks. The predominantly inaccessible latter half of the album is much more experimental & psychedelic, resulting in a hit & miss disconnect for the average listener. Recommended Tracks: 2080, Wait for the Summer & Sunrise.

wacknizzle
January 26th 2012



12639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love this album and 2080 is one of my favorite songs ever.

Digging: Systems - Ghost Medicine



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy