Eyes Set To Kill
Reach


3.5
great

Review

by Ryan Williford USER (48 Reviews)
February 19th, 2008 | 42 replies | 15,062 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The female/male vocal duo is creative for the genre.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Post-Hardcore, the genre that has in recent years exploded into the Hot Topic scene only to be overshadowed by the Metalcore and Deathcore bands is in dire need of a facelift. Tempe, Arizona’s Eyes Set To Kill is hoping to be the band to give Post-Hardcore that facelift. For more than ten months, the band was marked as Myspace’s number one unsigned band, as mention in their press kit, until they signed to BreakSilence Records. Since forming in 2004 Eyes Set To Kill have supported Papa Roach, (hed)p.e., Kittie, Walls Of Jericho, and In This Moment. On February 19th, Eyes Set to Kill will be releasing their debut album Reach. Is it the breath of fresh air the band was hopping to give the Post-Hardcore scene?

First let me state two things; Alexia has a great singing voice, and Brandon is already on top of his game as a screamer. They both really benefit from the contrasting Male/Female vocal style this band presents. Brandon easily rates as one of the top screamers in the genre. The duo of Alexia and Brandon really shows how well they gel when they offer up duel vocals on the title track. The later on during the same track Alexia and Anissa have they own duel vocal part. Alexia does a good job on clean vocals but they do get dull in the middle of the album. To fix this slight problem the band can give Anissa more vocal duties and bring her more into the band’s sound. It would also show more dimensions of the band seeing that Alexia has a rougher vocal style compared to Anissa’s more dreamy style of vocals. Alexia really shines in the beginning and middle of the track Young Blood Spills Tonight. You can hear the emotion in her voice as she sings mostly without backing instruments. When Alexia’s Vocals are on the edge of really bringing the band down with almost no variation, she steps it back up on Only Holding On and Behind These Eyes.

The band also uses Piano and Synth Keyboards. Alexia and Brandon take care of this aspect also. Brandon helps the end of the title track with his keyboard part. Alexia then shines on her opening Piano part on Where We Started. The lyrics are primary wrote by Alexia and she writes about frustration, anxiety, relationships, isolation, and correction one’s past. In Young Blood Spills Tonight Alexia deals with the pain of divorce through the perspective of her and her mother:
Quote:
Sip my blood till there’s no blood left to spill from my neck. I’m embraced by a concealed grip I welcomed in my arms.
On guitars, you have Alexia and Greg, and they start the album out with distorted guitars on Sketch in Black & White. Then closer to the end of “Sketch in Black & White,” they add a great melodic guitar part. Darling starts out like a very good Deathcore song and then fades back into post-hardcore. “Darling” is one of the hardest tracks on the album, you can even hear Anissa’s bass in the song. In the middle of Violent Kiss, the guitars really make the song in the short amount of time they have to really shine in the spotlight. Young Blood Spills Tonight begins with a nice acoustic guitar riff. It is tasteful and melds together well with Alexia’s voice. It also shows how the guitars really do add emotion into the songs. Near the beginning of Where We Reach, there’s a nice solo that fits well into the song and doesn’t overpower. A nice melodic riff is found in the middle of Behind These Eyes, and eventually leads into some nice sweeping and back into the beginning riff.

Caleb, the drummer, really likes to use the double bass and snare drums. While he does use the double bass a lot, he does know when not to use it. Caleb also starts out the title track with some fast drumming on the snare drums. He mostly holds down the fort, but he does help in the small but important places, ex. the free space in Violent Kiss. Caleb rarely gets the spotlight, but when he does, he takes full advantage of it. The whole album flows really well and even allows for a slower, softer track like Give You My All. The middle of the album lags slightly, but Only Holding On brings back the freshness from the beginning of the album. Then Behind These Eyes continues the trend and ends the album out very well.

Is this a fresh sound in Post-Hardcore? Yes and no, the female/male vocal duo is creative for the genre, but many people will complain that it sounds just like every other Post-Hardcore band around. I guess it just depends on who is listening and what they think a fresh sound should sound like. I think a fresh sound should sound like this.

3.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Onward To Olympas This World Is Not My HomeGreeley Estates No Rain, No Rainbow
brokeNCYDE I'm Not A Fan, But The Kids Like It!Decyfer Down Crash
The Sleeping What It TakesArise And Ruin Night Storms Hailfire
user ratings (200)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kiran
Emeritus
February 19th 2008



5992 Comments


I've only heard the title track and it was one of those songs that are catchy while you're listening but you forget about roughly 30 seconds after it's finished.

ToWhatEnd
February 19th 2008



3172 Comments


Dude there's grammar issues in your first paragraph.

For more than ten months, the band was marked as Myspace’s number one unsigned band, as mention in their press kit
I'm actually interested in checking this out. It has potential to be interesting.

HighandDriving
February 19th 2008



3232 Comments


This sounds like I would hate it but I'll give her a listen later.

beans
February 19th 2008



2332 Comments


ive heard darling, and i liked it
but im not sure if ill check this out
meh review

DWittisarockstar
February 19th 2008



1501 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This band is alright. Their songs are all good but none of them really stand out or are anything remotely new.

encmetalhead
February 19th 2008



744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

towhatend, must've missed that when i read over it hmmmmm....

Bulletproof
February 20th 2008



2 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Brandon is defiantly not even in the top 100 of best screamers in this genre. Thats what really turns me off about this band.

After Lindsey left ESTK I've been very disappointed with this band. Alexia is an okay singer, I don't think shes anything special. ESTK has a couple catchy songs like Darling and Violent Kiss, but other than that I think this album is pretty much bland and generic.

Overall though good review

Hysterical
February 20th 2008



161 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It wasn't so bad, but I just have no urge to ever listen to this again.

ExNihilo17
February 24th 2008



13 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

needs fixing

Is it the breath of fresh air the band was hopping to give the Post-Hardcore scene?



The album wasn't completely horrible, I've definitely heard worse; but at the same time it's not that much of an improvement from their EP.

Alexia's vocals bore me at times, but then again Lindsay's voice got annoying after awhile. So I don't know if this is an improvement or not.





DWittisarockstar
February 25th 2008



1501 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think this is the first time you have reviewed something not from North Carolina.

christinarockstar
February 27th 2008



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I actually have to say that I am probably one of Eyes Set To Kill’s biggest fans. I’m not going to sit here and bash any of your opinions, because everyone is entitled to their own, but personally I think they have come a long way. The band has been in formation since 2004. I understand, there is always going to be someone who disagrees… however, if they were really that horrible, they wouldn’t have sold over 11,000 copies of their first EP “When Silence Is Broken The Night Is Torn”, or have over 86,000 fans on myspace, or have been Myspace’s #1 unsigned band for more than 10 months, or have made it on the Hurley/ Smart Punk stage at the Vans Warped Tour, in the summer of 2007. So, they are obviously doing something right; especially since they’ve made it to a record company and their latest single “Reach” has even made the radio station. Alexia and Lindsay, yes, have a very different voice…. Alexia’s is a little deeper than Lindsay’s, but since Lindsay left the band has just gotten better. Let me also point out that Greg and Brandon didn’t originate in the band either. So the formation of this band is truly at it’s finest. Maybe Brandon is not in the top of the screamers in this genre, but it is also hard to classify this band into any genre. But still, they’re doing a pretty swell job. They are all so young (the oldest having just turned 22), and that’s a long way to come out of a small town in Arizona and originally unsigned. The only opinion I will bash is whoever said “I've only heard the title track and it was one of those songs that are catchy while you're listening but you forget about roughly 30 seconds after it's finished” and “Their songs are all good but none of them really stand out or are anything remotely new.” Well first off, if you didn’t remember the lyrics afterwards, you obviously weren’t paying attention to the song… maybe just the instrumentals. Your attention probably wasn’t focused on the song to begin with. And also, “it’s nothing remotely new”…. Well, it doesn’t have to be new to be good. The lyricist (Alexia) tackles topics such as depression, divorce, and relationships. And what does 90% of people suffer from today? Depression; which can fall into the category of relationships and divorce. Well, I think my opinion has been well stated… and this band is truly a phenomena. Just take a listen…. Not just to ONE song… but to all of them. One song can be SO DIFFERENT from the rest. They are truly a success and they are making their name well known.

LunarStrain
February 28th 2008



27 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this album, it's catchy and the mix of vocals is superb!

encmetalhead
February 28th 2008



744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

christinarockstar, i respect what you say but as a reviewer i'm to be objective and since thePR compnay they hired sent me the album this was my first taste of the band so that's why there's no comparisons to their older EP or the time when it was na all female band(did my research on the band though). This also gives the band room to grow and improve as they are young as you've said

HighandDriving
March 8th 2008



3232 Comments


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=govNXg8PBr0&feature=user
After watching this music video, it's safe to say these guys (and girls) suck the big one. But the lead screamer, besides from having a terrible scream, does entertain with his "light mic".

encmetalhead
May 22nd 2008



744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i may bump this down to a 3...

BallsToTheWall
May 27th 2008



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This CD is incredible. I can't belive I hadn't heard of this until recent.

Willie
Moderator
May 29th 2008



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

The review isn't that good, but I bought it based on Balls' ravings about it on one of his lists. It's not as good as either of you say it is, in my opinion. The male vocals are weak, and the female vocals need more power and variation. Also the production is flat and makes the music sterile. They have potential, and it is catchy from time to time, but I probably won't listen to this very often.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

nwel20nwel
July 26th 2008



25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

alexia's voice fits way way better than lindsay's


xmOBSCENEx
December 30th 2008



122 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

getting this tomorrow
shouldn't be disappointing
or so i hope

Willie
Moderator
December 30th 2008



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I'm thinking you'll love it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy