My Bloody Valentine
Isn't Anything


5.0
classic

Review

by Scott Herren USER (42 Reviews)
January 16th, 2005 | 193 replies | 21,651 views


Release Date: 1988 | Tracklist


4 of 7 thought this review was well written

Members:
Kevin Shields
Belinda Butcher
Deb Googe
Colm O'Ciosoig

Though usually just seen as a precursor to their epic Loveless, Isn't Anything is nearly as groundbreaking in it's own way. This was the album that essentially started the shoegazing scene, and created many followers. Though much of the album is laced with traces of their indie-pop roots, the experimental side of Shields and company is evident. Also traces of the feedback noise of the Jesus & Mary Chain with the dream pop elements of the Cocteau Twins and the ambient musical landscapes by Brian Eno lace the album.

Notable Songs:

"Soft As Snow (But Warm Inside)"
This song is highlighted by the distorted guitar layers of Belinda Butcher and Kevin Shields who sings on this track that is accompanied by the funky bass hooks from Debbie Googe and ominous drum tracks of Colm O’Ciosoig. At first the hook isn't apparent and the song just seems like a lot of dissonance and noise, but by the end of the song it has grown on you and you will be wanting more.

"Lose My Breath"
This is the most beautiful song on the album. The open-ended sonic stir and dreamy vocals of Belinda create a swirling atmosphere, held aloft by a single, plodding acoustic guitar.

"Feed Me With Your Kiss"
This song is evidence that although MBV can write a ballad, they can still rock out. This song is very hard almost to the point of metal. Then...Belinda comes in. The instruments are intense, but the vocals are just as calm as ever. The guitar riff is great, and the hooks are catchy. The song is a bit cheesy, but it is catchy as hell.

"Several Girls Galore"
Again Belinda shines on this song vocally. She sounds so sexy, yet she seems dazed and distant. The catchy guitar riffs in this song are evidence of what MBV has to offer later with Loveless. I can't get enough of this song, I wish it were longer.

This is a great album for indie rock fans, fans of distorted guitar, fans of beautiful vocals, and anyone who enjoyed Loveless, and pretty much anyone else. JUST GET IT. This album is incredible, and almost at that same level.



Recent reviews by this author
Royksopp Melody A.M.Metric Old World Underground, Where Are You Now
Ride NowhereClearlake Cedars
The Walkmen Bows + ArrowsJamiroquai A Funk Odyssey
user ratings (682)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Justin Swope (4.5)
On their first studio album, My Bloody Valentine construct an immense wall of powerful but sweet noi...

derho (4.5)
An overlooked gem that changed the shape of rock and noise...

altron2095 (3)
Isn't Anything inspired a legion of imitators. One can see why, both in the strengths and weaknesses...

Neoteric (4)
It's haunting, it's dissonant and sometimes inaccessible but what the hell? Catchy hooks? Pop melod...


Comments:Add a Comment 
MemoryMachine
March 2nd 2005



12 Comments


I'm going to get this, such is the way "Loveless" has affected my life (in a postive way).

Zmev
June 10th 2005



983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am indifferent to your lack of reviewing "When you Wake (you're still in a dream)". One of the best songs on there I think. Good review though.


masada
October 11th 2005



2733 Comments


I'm planning on getting this sometime in the near future.

Iai
Emeritus
March 29th 2006



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is wildly inferior to Loveless, and is basically the worst shoegaze album I've heard yet.

masada
May 8th 2006



2733 Comments


^

Yeah, it is. I need to rewrite my review of this.

D & V
May 23rd 2006



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I prefer this album over all of my bloody valentines other albums (i have 17). This album has the amazing ability to make me sad, happy, and turned on at the same time. best band ever.

D & V
May 23rd 2006



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this review, however, sucks balls.

Scott Herren
May 23rd 2006



192 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Feel free to re-review this if you want as this was a forum post before the review site even existed, and thus not much effort was expensed.

Two-Headed Boy
July 20th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not too shabby, just nowhere near as awesome as Loveless.
I think this would've been loads better if the producition was more suiting, like Loveless. But the songwriting is very good.This Message Edited On 08.06.06

The Jungler
February 8th 2007



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is so good


Ruthlessgrunge
April 5th 2007



460 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I listened to this while running around today....i have to say it IS very good....its just not loveless tho.

Ephex
October 7th 2007



730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is wildly inferior to Loveless, and is basically the worst shoegaze album I've heard yet.


:-O


samariah
April 16th 2008



109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is not wildly inferior to loveless

Shadowskos
August 6th 2008



352 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I just finished listening to this and I enjoy it, but it's a bit inferior to Loveless.

HailToTheThief
October 19th 2008



144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't see it so much as being inferior to Loveless. To me it just makes loveless better hearing this first.

I can just imagine kevin shields sitting on a stool with his head down, strumming with the whammy bar and surrounded by amps; trying to find that sound that made Loveless brilliant.

slan
May 13th 2009



50 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"You Never Should" & "Nothing Much To Lose" are both good tracks that I never hear mentioned. + I'd say the second half has a better flow.

bab808
November 8th 2010



456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is very good and shouldn't be compared to loveless. it's more of a blueprint for what was coming next

Ire
November 8th 2010



41453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is great compared to the mid era eps.

couldwinarabbit
November 8th 2010



6996 Comments


It's really hard to not compare this to loveless but essentially I agree with you. Still this would probably be in my top 100 albums of all time.

It's easier to get into and was a great precrusor to making me truly understand how amazing Loveless is.

Ire
November 8th 2010



41453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Scratch what I just said, this is better than everything except for Loveless(obv) and You Made Me Realise.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy