Girl Talk
Night Ripper


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jordan Smith USER (16 Reviews)
January 11th, 2008 | 19 replies | 3,379 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Slightly less addictive than cocaine.....

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Girl Talk

Night Ripper

The Mashup genre is usually a hit or miss ordeal. The complex is simple on paper: Take 2 or more songs from completely different artists, throw them in a blender, and hit the purée button. This, as with most cooking, yields mixed results. The majority of Mashups are done by Basement DJs(akin to the “Bedroom Shredder”), distributed amongst the underground, and are usually a mix of two songs that end up, well…..not too much different from the original products. But, like everything, every now and then someone gets it right. Some guy with a laptop and a bit too much free time manages to nail the formula, and grind up enough different songs that it creates something original and captivating. Greg Gillis, under the stage name Girl Talk takes after the latter. Since 2000 he’s been putting out some of the best music this side of Electronic, and with 2006’s Night Ripper he shows no signs of slowing down. But what makes Gillis so much better than his peers? How does one nerdy white guy manage to make Mainstream Rap, Modern Pop, 90’s Alternative, and a sprinkle of Electronic work? Well, it all comes down to what he’s cooking with…

Night Ripper does not succeed because of it’s sampling. It doesn’t succeed because it is catchy. It doesn’t succeed because it appeals to the same kind of people that buy Dem Franchiz Boyz and Mariah Carey CDs, and it definitely doesn’t succeed because of Gillis’s Thug swagger and Boy band looks. It succeeds because it is inventive, original, and thoroughly addictive. Gillis manages to chop up so many different samples, from all across the board, that the results sound nothing like the original. As a result, Night Ripper actually sounds like an original work of art. The listener is treated to melodies and rhythms he has never heard before. Every thing is so chopped up and disorganized that is virtually unidentifiable. Sure, you may hear Tiny Dancer somewhere in that mess of pounding drums and blaring synths, but it has a completely different effect than the original(and it’s not just because it has B.I.G. rapping over it). The listener doesn’t feel like he is listening to a Coldplay and Sum 41 mashup, but rather that he is listening to a Girl Talk song; and it is because of this that Night Ripper triumphs on not only an intellectual level, but on an emotional level as well.

The arrangement of Night Ripper is meticulous to say the least. It’s the work of a surgeon, and every note is carefully placed to complement the overall song. The beats are infectious, the melodies superb, and the entire presentation is simply hypnotic. Gillis’s arrangement abilities are head and shoulder above most, as he manages to make even the most oddball ideas work. Common sense says that Paul Wall shouldn’t sound good over Phantom Planet’s California, but with Gillis it proves to be one of the albums defining moments. Even people who hate most Mainstream Hip Hop(myself included) will enjoy this; as it takes everything that is boring about Nelly and Jay Z and turns it around, while still retaining the catchy dance club vibe. For once, I can feel good about listening to Ludacris!

There aren’t many faults to be found on Night Ripper, apart from the fact that other drivers think some awkward white kid is listening to 50 Cent. Still, as soon as the Synthesizer kicks on I’m free to crack the windows… Night Ripper only fails in it’s rather homogenous nature. Whereas it is radically different than the majority of Mashup, it is still rather similar throughout. Because of this, the best songs are the one that incorporate awkward outside influences, and pull them off. The first seven songs are some of the best on the album, and every one of them has at least one moment where you can’t help but smile and throw up a gang sign. Admit it, you’ve always wanted to hear the Ying Yang Twin’s say “Wait’ll see my dick” over Bittersweet Symphony.

Night Ripper is a testament to the power of originality. Greg Gillis manages to take what are, at often times, bad songs; and combine them into works of art. It slacks in a few moments, and it’s hard to distinguish some songs from others, but the pros vastly outweigh the cons on what is one of Electronic’s best releases. This won’t leave your CD player for a long time, and next time your in da club, you’ll actually know some of the songs!



Recent reviews by this author
Comadre A Wolf TicketKimya Dawson Remember That I Love You
Snowblood Being And BecomingJustin King and the Apologies Justin King and the Apologies
Tera Melos Split: Complex Full of PhantomsEt Tu Brute Demo EP
user ratings (180)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Zachary Powell (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
The Jungler
January 11th 2008



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the fact that you hate mainstream hip-hop, but like this makes me kind of suspicious. I don't know though, it was a very good review.

I probably wouldn't call it addicting either; I haven't really listened to the whole thing in a while, and I know its the same way for many others.This Message Edited On 01.11.08

Killed4less
January 11th 2008



328 Comments


Great review man, I really liked the song you showed me by him. I'll probably get this sometime in the near future.

By the way jungler I hate mainstream hip hop for the most part as well and I found the song I heard from Girl Talk a great and just overall fun listen. I'll have to see how I like the whole album.This Message Edited On 01.11.08

FireItUp
January 11th 2008



1 Comments


great review
i love this cd



JordanS
January 11th 2008



319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys.

Hmm Jungler, I don't know. I think the reason this appeals to me, and most mainstream Hip Hop doesn't, is the composition and the beats. I like the catchiness of most mainstream, but I dislike how commercialized and generic it all is. I can't really distinguish Lil Wayne, Dem Franchize Boyz, or Three 6 Mafia. I love Hip Hop, just not the Crunk or the aforementioned styles. But with Night Ripper, all the beats are phenomenal. It's jumpy, random, and very original. I like it much more than most other Mashup I know, only a couple other acts have the same sort of longevity. As for what you said about it's addictive nature, I heard this around the start of last year, and I still love to come back to it. There will be big lapses where I don't listen to it at all, but whenever I randomly decide to pick it up, I fall back in love with it all over again. And then it won't leave my car for a couple weeks...

DFelon204409
Emeritus
January 11th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So you definitely do get everything from my blog haha.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2008



16072 Comments


If you can't distinguish Three 6 and Lil Wayne you are a retard.
worshipandtributemedia

sgrevs
January 11th 2008



698 Comments


Nice review, sick album.

Killed4less
January 11th 2008



328 Comments


You've got a good blog DFel, I've gotten stuff from there as well
: ) In fact I'll probably check this out from there soon, lol.This Message Edited On 01.11.08

samthebassman
January 11th 2008



2164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Super cool album.

JordanS
January 11th 2008



319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea, I pull a ton of stuff from all of your blogs. You all have keen taste in music. I likes to steal.

I don't really see anything wrong with that though. If you have a blog it's intent is clearly to share music. I don't think my reviewing of something you all post is in any way negative, as it just trys to spread the music more. I don't know, I needed something to review, and I was listening to this.


Saying I can't distinguish was hyperbole, but I think most mainstream rap sounds samey. This Message Edited On 01.11.08

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2008



17914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Three 6 Mafia is a group.

Lil Wayne is one person.

How is it hard to distinguish between them.

Also they both are good.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2008



16072 Comments


Three 6 rules on Lil Wayne.
I have never listened to Girl Talk but seeing Greer get a boner from them makes me wary.

edit: wait i have this on my computer wtfThis Message Edited On 01.11.08

AtavanHalen
January 12th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There was a stage where I couldn't go two weeks without listening to this.
Love this stuff, good review too.

JordanS
January 12th 2008



319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Chan, I just don't listen to enough Radio Rap to pick up on what makes it all so different. Maybe if I put more time into I would, but from what I've heard none of it appeals to me. IMO it's good for dancing, but I wouldn't listen to it outside of that setting.

To be fair Nick, this is the only review I've ever done that concerns an album on your Blog. Admittedly, I do depend on you all for a fair portion my music, and for good reason. I'm stuck in the middle of North Carolian for God's sake....

Why all the hate?This Message Edited On 01.12.08

DFelon204409
Emeritus
January 12th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There is 0 hate you must have misread the tone. I was just laughing at the fact that I saw an echo on sputnik after making a post, which is nice but that shows people actually have viewed my blog you know? I appreciate it.

JordanS
January 12th 2008



319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My bad, I misread. You have a great blog, as do most the guys here, thanks for posting it all man.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2008



17914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I am listening to Hold Up on repeat.

Rokkstar64
January 13th 2008



29 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I rarely listen to rap and hip-hop, the only time i listen to it is when my girlfriend puts it on in the car. But my friend suggested me girl talk and it blows my mind. I love post-hardcore, blood brothers type music, and girl talk just blows me away its so awesome and new to me.

GiraffesandDolphins
January 22nd 2008



12 Comments


I also barely listen to hip hop but since I read the reviews everyday, I don't see that many new reviews in the post hardcore section. I liked this review however and I'm going to look into it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy