Manowar
Warriors of the World


3.5
great

Review

by SylentEcho USER (21 Reviews)
December 25th, 2007 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album has some of the best stuff Manowar have done in years and also some of the worst.

Manowar: The manliest band ever, the band that eats live animals, usees Tabasco sauce as eye drops, as well as using the blood of virgins as pizza sauce. Their flatulence the cause of some forest fires and to top it all off the tale spreading around the internet that Eric Adams is so metal, that he survived 5 abortions before his mother finally gave up.

So what can you expect by the most manliest and "loudest band in the world" 20 years after they first hit the scene? Well, let's find out.

In 2002, Manowar signed with a new label (Nuclear Blast) with a pretty stable line-up. The truth is, Manowar who claim to be "Kings of Metal" actually get less and less metal with every release. We shall go through this album song by song.

Band Line-up:
* Eric Adams – vocals
* Karl Logan – guitars, keyboards
* Joey DeMaio – bass, keyboards
* Scott Columbus – drums


"Warriors of the World" makes me think of "The Triumph of Steel" because of its uneven nature. This album is a bit appalling at first because it has some of the most amazing stuff I have heard in years by Manowar but also has some of the worst stuff I have heard in years, but the good stuff strongly makes up for it.

Some songs are very good, starting with "A Call to Arms" a powerful and groovy opener. Things go bad with "Fight for Freedom", the intro drags a but and Eric's tone is a bit weird (the arrangements don't help either). "Nessun Dorma" is a song by Pavarotti, it's basically nothing on this album. I do not know if it was management or Joey de Maio who comes up with these weird ideas to have such tracks on the album. "Swords in the Wind" is a nice power-ballad , Eric's voice can be soothing at times and he can be an awesome singer. "An American Trilogy", which us an Elvis Presley cover and I dont know what the heck its doing on this album. Then comes "The March", an instrumental that just makes the album drag more and you start to wonder if this album would ever take off. These three songs are horrible but I can understand why Manowar did them because they were searching for a patriotic theme for the album.

At this stage, the album seems condemned to sink ... But fear not, for it's here that Manowar chooses to recover with "Warriors of the World United." The riff is simplistic, a recurring problem since the arrival of Kar Logan, but I hesitate to hold him accountable for his simplistic riffs, because theyre extremely effective and seem to get the right feeling across.

The pace is then provided by a trio of tracks, fast and energetic. "Hand Of Doom" is one of the most metal tracks you'll ever hear and kind of takes you by surprise here, although Eric's voice isnt as glorious as it used to be, he sings this track really really well. The two closing tracks are really good, "Fight Until We Die"s lyrics will get stuck in your head. Downright awesome.

Pros:
Some really good metal songs here.
Eric's vocals are as good as ever.
This can be a good album to relax and listen to.

Cons:
The album may drag a bit.
Too much filler for the bulk of the album.

In conclusion, some may think that Manowar are sellouts by releasing such an album but keep in mind they have always maintained this kind of a balance between melody and metal. Some may also think that it has too much filler and stupid meandering, but the real songs make it up completely. Get this album if youre a fan of metal. Manowar albums are sure to put hair on your chest!

Rating: 3.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
The Beatles The Beatles: Stereo USBDethklok Dethalbum II
Megadeth EndgameThe Offspring Splinter
Cirith Ungol King of the DeadNapalm Death Death by Manipulation
user ratings (144)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheStarclassicTreatment
December 25th 2007


2910 Comments


This can be a good album to relax and listen to.

Relax? I'm sorry?

Tyler
Emeritus
December 25th 2007


7926 Comments


Yes, relax. The album was the bands first real foray into restraint. Still, this is where I lost faith in the band. Yeah, Warriors of the World (United) is top 5 best songs they've ever done, but regardless of how well he sings, I never want to hear Manowar do an Italian Opera. This is where the metal lost its way and the band became sort of a parody of themselves.

Good review, I suppose, it feels too short. You blew through the descriptions of all the tracks but I don't feel like you touched on the band nearly enough. You also contradict yourself when you say Eric's voice "isnt as glorious as it used to be" and then you say "Eric's vocals are as good as ever".

I feel like his voice is at an all-time high. Yeah, he doesn't do the wails as much, but if he did it probably wouldn't fit the album anyways. This Message Edited On 12.25.07

rasputin
December 25th 2007


14555 Comments


You don't do reviews very often, but when you do they are always great to read. It's easy to read, and everything that needs to be said, you've said. Well done, voted.

TheHamburgerman
December 25th 2007


1300 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that first paragraph is priceless

SylentEcho
December 26th 2007


1574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

:D

@ Renzor, thank you very much

You also contradict yourself when you say Eric's voice "isnt as glorious as it used to be" and then you say "Eric's vocals are as good as ever".
well, I do miss his old voice but I also enjoy the new style a lot. HEy, I just noticed, this is the first time one of the seniors is commenting on my review. This Message Edited On 12.26.07

ValiumMan
December 27th 2007


493 Comments


It's mind-boggling how Manowar manage to constantly remind people of how "manly" they are without realizing they look like a cross between a gay disco troupe and a bunch of live-action-roleplay nerds. Awesome.
Fairly OK review.This Message Edited On 12.29.07

Wizard
December 27th 2007


19613 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Excellent review. It made me laugh a few times because of all the tid-bit facts I didn't know about the band ie.

The manliest band ever

This is the only Manowar album I own and I have yet to check out any of their previous albums. I still to this day, have no idea where I got this album from. Fun stuff!This Message Edited On 12.27.07

Digging: Hans Zimmer - Interstellar

BludgeonySteve
November 27th 2008


558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Completely agree with the whole review. Call To Arms is my favorite Manowar song.

MO
October 21st 2010


18996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is solid. "Call to Arms" makes me want to go and fight a war.

xfearbefore
October 21st 2010


1246 Comments


My buddy makes me listen to this band every single time we get drunk, without fail. There are few more annoying bands I think I've ever heard.

Digging: Negative Approach - Tied Down

BigHans
October 21st 2010


26454 Comments


Manowar rules

MO
November 9th 2011


18996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

THERE IS THUNDER IN THE SKY

SylentEcho
April 5th 2012


1574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

YOUR BLOOD UPON THE SOIL, YOUR BODY FED TO WOLVES

Geadom
November 14th 2012


2827 Comments


Never heard anything from this guys, except the title track a.k.a the manliest song ever.

manosg
December 26th 2012


6536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wonder why Manowar release an album every 4-5 years since it's every time the same material. As a fan of the band I don't care, I like them anyway but I just wonder. And yeah, what the hell are they trying to prove with Nessun Dorma?

Digging: Witchfynde - Give 'em Hell

FrozenVain
January 12th 2013


2472 Comments


"Warriors of the World United" is horrible

manosg
January 12th 2013


6536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Warriors of the World United is horrible"

doesn't matter. Other bands play, Manowar kills.

CaptainDooRight
June 13th 2014


30251 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

dem steroids

manosg
June 13th 2014


6536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Remove some of the steroids, add a bit of symphonic influences and progressive tendencies and you've got Virgin Steele. If you haven't checked them Cap, I highly recommend them.

CaptainDooRight
June 13th 2014


30251 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've def heard them before but I'm not too experienced with them. Where would you suggest I start sir?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy