Explosions in the Sky
The Earth is Not a Cold Dead Place


4.0
excellent

Review

by Keelan H. EMERITUS
December 6th, 2007 | 404 replies | 61,710 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A beautiful album full of enjoyable soundscapes.

The crisp morning air and the snow covered ground accented the clear blue sky this morning as I walked home from school. The music I was listening to seemed to match the atmosphere perfectly, and this music of course was The Earth is Not a Cold Dead Place. The feeling I got walking home, is exactly what makes this such a good album, it's serene and beautiful in it's simplicity and can easily be scored as the soundtrack of life.

Musically, the album is fairly simple and with Explosions basic rock setup, each song can begin to feel a little bit too much like the other songs on the album. This sameness is usually the main detractor to those who are not so favourable of the album. Personally, I find that this "sameness" is more like a flowing cohesiveness that gives the album more of a singular feel to it, rather then a collection of songs. Overall the music is very dramatic with each crescendo and accelerando well timed and placed. Critics who will argue the loud-soft-loud dynamic of the post-rock genre are shown just how powerful this dynamic can be when used appropriately, as in the case of this album.

We begin with First Breath After a Coma and it is one of my favourites on the album. The chiming single note guitar intro gives way to a very upbeat guitar melody backed by very military like drumming. This eventually dies off into more guitar work. It's a wonderful way to start the album. At about 6:20 bells enter the fray and we start our next crescendo to the nicely distorted ending that leads into the next track.

The rest of the tracks follow a similar pattern with their own variations. The song structures are generally the same, with each song possessing it's own melody. The Only Moment We Were Alone consists of a series of rather joyous crescendos, before one final crescendo that is notably louder, and more angry (well accented with the distortion). I was feel this song is about a break-up, because of the ending. Six Days at the Bottom of The Ocean, and Memorial are both the most sorrowful songs on the album, appropriate as both are dealing with the theme of death. The only song that I find feels like a more stand alone track is the finale, Your Hand in Mine.

I feel that if you are ever introducing someone into the post-rock genre, Your Hand in Mine is the best track to do it. It has a beautiful melody and it rises and falls at all the right moments, it is my favourite song on the album, and one of my favourite songs in general too.

Overall, what stopped me from giving this album a 4.5 or a 5 is that this album is really best when listened to at certain times. That walk home is a pristine time to listen to it, on the contrary, driving with your friends (as I have found out) takes away from the album.



Recent reviews by this author
Sufjan Stevens Silver & GoldAndrew Bird Break It Yourself
Florence and the Machine CeremonialsBlitzen Trapper American Goldwing
The Muppets The Green AlbumThe Horrors Skying
user ratings (2095)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
thebhoy
Emeritus
December 6th 2007



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whaddaya think?


Intransit
December 6th 2007



2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not bad at all. Very concise, but could use more talking about the moods of the album (since it very much relies upon that) and maybe a bit more about how the music sounds. It was okay, but to someone who's never heard post-rock, they wouldn't really know what it sounds like.

NOTINTHEFACE
December 6th 2007



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've come to like this album more and more over the past year I've owned it. I still like their previous album better, though.

As for the review, listen to Intransit. I pretty much failed at the same things in my own EITS review, so don't feel too bad. It's a hard sound to capture. Your writing style is very good for a first timer though. Keep it up.

cometuesday
December 7th 2007



959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Post rock is not an easy genre to write about. It's easy to come off like you're saying the whole thing sounds the same which for some records... may actually be true.

This isn't a bad review. I bet you could easily say a lot more about it though.

xmattxhardcore
December 7th 2007



422 Comments


Your hand in mine is great!

Babby
December 7th 2007



17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Beautiful. I'm having a hard time actually deciding on the best Explosions in the Sky album. Hmm. However, for this album Your Hand in Mine, amazing. !!

smokersdieyounger
December 7th 2007



672 Comments


You got a great writing style, if you beefed this review up with some descriptions of post rock I'd definately vote it.

Aficionado
December 7th 2007



1027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I enjoyed your intro paragraph, if only you could maintain that into your descriptions. Avoid writing stuff like "usual post-rock crescendos" because it doesn't help with readers who have never listened to post-rock before. That's why you should put more emphasis on descriptions. Also avoid putting "this is my 1st review" in your summaries.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
December 7th 2007



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A decent review but I think you missed the mark with Explosions in the Sky at times. For one I don't feel as if their music is simple. Simple would be 3 power chords with different variations. In fact I think it's just an overall misinterpretation.

On another note, Your Hand In Mine is such a gorgeous track. One of my favorite songs of all time.

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Neoteric
December 7th 2007



3243 Comments


This is a good first review, I like it.

Intransit
December 7th 2007



2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ryry knows where it's at.

eggsvonsatan
December 7th 2007



1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This review starts out really well. But for such a powerful album, it wouldn't hurt to go into more detail.
I did give you a vote tho!

thebhoy
Emeritus
December 7th 2007



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks for the advice, after reading it the first time after I submitted it, I agreed that I didn't go into the music enough. So I've made a few changes.

brutebeard
August 20th 2010



1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Such an adorable wittle album

DiceMan
August 20th 2010



7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

THis album has almost no comments... Shame cause it's gorgeous.

East Hastings
August 20th 2010



4391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Comments: 2647
12.07.07

Comments: 414
08.19.10

thats a hell of a bump

DiceMan
August 20th 2010



7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know right?

DiceMan
August 20th 2010



7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's the bump to end all bumps.

DiceMan
September 8th 2010



7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Every track on this is nearly the best track on the album.

DiceMan
September 8th 2010



7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well you should listen to it more in the dark at night during stressful periods of your life on a headset and let it grow to a 4.5 pretty please : )



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy