Trivium
Ascendancy


1.5
very poor

Review

by Bob USER (8 Reviews)
December 5th, 2007 | 34 replies | 5,477 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This review was originally written for metal-archives. I used this review on this site solely on hoping for some constructive critic, that's what I need.

2 of 5 thought this review was well written

Type in "Trivium" on youtube always turns out to be enjoyable moments for me. Whether it be a live version of "A Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation" or a video of "To the Rats", reacting to all those comments is always fun. On one side, there are the fanboys, who claim Trivium to be the metal saviours, ture definers of Thrash or the new Metallica/Maiden. On the other hand, there are the haters, who all think Trivium sucks, or are clearly just another metalcore band. What I want to point out with this paragraph? I don't know. I just recommend it to anyone with a good grasp of the English language to piss off some people (whether it be haters or lovers) with some valid argumentations, knowing that they'll crawl in despair having someone to react on their worthless rant/praise.

As I'm writing this new paragraph, I suddenly CAN think of a meaning of the previous paragraph. Many reactions of fanboys towards people showing disrespect contain the ever so smart argument "you just hate them because their famous and earn money, and because you think they're metalcore". I, however, think that I can speak of the majority of the haters that we have other reasons not to like it. The dreadful music for example, or the arrogance of the band. There are in fact several reasons why I see this release as one of the negative turns of metal with mainstream succes.

Mainstream succes, yes. This record has got quite some attention. Mostly because of the general sound they play. Melodic metalcore may not sound as the right term to express this band's sound, but it is the most accurate. Expect metal in the sense of melodic death metal, but without the death-sound. The first song already proves that. Rain is an energetic song. The verse is speedy, the chorus catchy. Whether this song is good or not is up to debate, but it is undeniable true that in terms of originality, this song contributes nothing.

As the album moves on, various imitations of Rain pass by. All do they have the speedy verse, and all do they have the catchy chorus. This is the biggest reason why Trivium did go wrong with this album. Riffs are bland and unoriginial. Take any general metal band in existence, and there are too many similarities to call Trivium good songwriters. While the riffs are just boring to listen to, the solo's are definitely more enjoyable. Although it's all written in a neat minor scale, and even though most of it reeks to mindless wankery, the melodies in it fit the music.

All of this is directed by vocalist/guitarist Matt Heafy. A person known not only for his guitar talented, arrogance but also of his voice. To explain his voice is simple. He does is bad. Bad how he rips his vocal chords apart, and bad how it sounds. Although his clean vocals are not as bad to listen to, listening to his forced screaming is a pain. In most of the songs Matt tried to balance the dynamics with doing screams in the verse, and clean vocals in the chorus. Not only proves this the lack of songwriting talent, it also makes me to think I put the album on repeat-song.

There are, however, still some enjoyable moments throughout the album. Dying in your Arms is, save for the bridge, a simple but funny song. Leads and solo's in songs such as Departure, Declaration or A Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation prove that these guys DO have the potential. It's just not enough to be anything enjoyable. If Trivium really want to make an album that will not only please the mainstream audience, but also the casual metalhead, Trivium needs to create something unique. Something that doesn't sound like the 10000 other "heavy metal" bands.



Recent reviews by this author
Sonata Arctica UniaScar Symmetry Pitch Black Progress
Windir ArntorDimmu Borgir Death Cult Armageddon
Insomnium Since the Day It All Came DownKorn Untouchables
user ratings (2087)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheHamburgerman
December 5th 2007



1284 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Allllllright people. If anyone can help me out. I recently placed this review on metal-archives, I got 5 points, which means average review. Now I don't disagree with it, but I'm rather curious of what could have been better. And that's where you guys come in, so please, feel free to place some constructive comments in here.

Pebster49
December 5th 2007



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really didn't mind his screaming on this album, he actually has a different voice, not a horrid Metallicaesque voice in there other ones. I love the solos on this album, with all the bridges. This is my favorite by them, but probably the only one im going to enjoy, seeing they headed down the wrong road on their last one.

Btw, good review, I just disagree with it.This Message Edited On 12.05.07

rasputin
December 5th 2007



14538 Comments


Not a bad review, however go through it closely as you have 4 or 5 grammatical and spelling errors.
'To explain his voice is simple. He does is bad. Bad how he rips his vocal chords apart, and bad how it sounds.' Those sentences were a little clumsy too, aside from the typo.
Still a good review, your content was good. I don't like Trivium.

cometuesday
December 5th 2007



959 Comments


There's a few awkward spots in this review.

edit: beaten. Yeah, just re-read and maybe beef up the review a little and it should be okay.This Message Edited On 12.05.07

patrickbateman
December 5th 2007



28 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Great review. You got your message across and your opinions of this album off really nice. Terrible band.

TheGreatD17
December 5th 2007



1141 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's "success", with 2 s's at the end, and there are definitely grammatical errors. Aside from that, I'm tired of people ripping on Trivium.This Message Edited On 12.05.07

rasputin
December 5th 2007



14538 Comments


I'm tired of people ripping on Trivium.


I'm tired of people thinking Trivium are good.

Aeksis8745
December 5th 2007



448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oye here we go lol, i'm actually surprised at how long it took for someone to add a clever response to someone liking Trivium.

rasputin
December 5th 2007



14538 Comments


Well, it wasn't as quick as the time it took for someone to begin praising Trivium where the praise would obviously be contested.

Willie
Moderator
December 5th 2007



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

There are actually quite a few grammatical mistakes, and choppy sentences... and vague, almost contradictory, statements in this review... I think the people who said this review was average were probably right.
As for Trivium, I don't love them or hate them... but I think that their fans come off as such big "fanboys" because they're constantly having to defend them from people who hate them because of "The dreadful music for example, or the arrogance of the band." Arrogance of the band has nothing to do with the music on the CD's... and the "dreadful music" is better then a lot of the other mainstream metalcore bands out there (which isn't hard to do, I admit).

rasputin
December 5th 2007



14538 Comments


ahh Willie, you always have the answers

Willie
Moderator
December 5th 2007



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

ha ha, alright smartass ;) I just think that the people that do like Trivium a lot have got so used to defending them that after awhile they may just become defensive at the slightest negative comment... which makes them appear like "fanboys".
I, myself, think they're ok in small doses.

rasputin
December 5th 2007



14538 Comments


Point taken. That goes with a lot of popular/mainstream/generic music though. The people that like them have gotten to a point where they defend them on absolutely no grounds.

Willie
Moderator
December 5th 2007



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

If you mean "on absolutely no grounds" to mean that they get defensive for no reason, then I agree.

If you mean "on absolutely no grounds" to mean that the bands suck and their arguements about why they don't are baseless, then I'd disagree because opinions on music are all different.

Edit: Some of the music I've found through this site and liked was found through negative reviews, but the descriptions sounded like something I'd like anyway.This Message Edited On 12.05.07

rasputin
December 5th 2007



14538 Comments


Well it was a little bit of both, arguments do start over the smallest things. I feel like I'm running out of smart things to say now

ReturnToRock
December 5th 2007



3448 Comments


arrogance? i read an interview with Heafy where he was really humble, thanking his father for teaching him about good music, etc.

i'm neither a fanboy nor a hater. i might get this on mid-price.

jrowa001
December 5th 2007



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

im not a fanboy, but i love this album. so be it that it is hated by a lot of people, i think it's a great album. i will admit that i hate The Crusade. good review though

gasmaskman
December 5th 2007



1006 Comments


^Me too.

I liked this (though it was nothing special), but the Crusade was just terrible.

Confessed2005
December 5th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm also in agreement. The fact is, people hate Trivium a lot of the time because of their popularity. The band are talented, not necessarily the most original thing out there. But this album was solid - the riffs were good, the solos great and the vocals tolerable.

Geedrummer
December 5th 2007



607 Comments


I thought it was a very good review. i havnt actually heared the whole album but what i have heard really doesnt make me want to. not a fan at all, although the newer stuff is even worse.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy