Subhumans
Internal Riot


4.0
excellent

Review

by Weezerfan_returns USER (1 Reviews)
November 6th, 2007 | 15 replies | 7,022 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Subhumans return with their first album of new material in 20 years! The band is back with blazing drums and guitars that tear through 13 songs in 41 minutes. Good stuff.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

It’s been nine years since singer Dick Lucas and the anarchist U.K. punk band The Subhumans reformed for touring, and 20 years since the band released an album of new material. With punk rock all but squandered by the eyeliner-wearing MTV faithful, Internal Riot arrives just in time to remind us what a punk band is supposed to sound like, rather than what they’re supposed to look like.
The screaming jets and guitars in the beginning of “This Year’s War” make it clear that time hasn’t slowed The Subhumans down, as they sound angrier than ever. The moaning guitars and furious drumming sound like the blast of a well-timed bomb. The band delivers 13 songs in 41 minutes without leaving out a single target in Dick Lucas’ raspy assault.
Lucas paints his ugly picture of America with lines like “There’s war in the headlines, there’s war in the heads. The leaders will feed us ‘til we’re overfed.” His stories focus on the atrocities of war and violence, and instead of simply pointing out the problem like too many of the bands releasing political-tinted albums today, Lucas’s lyrics actually point to solutions.
The majority of the band’s social and political tirades discuss guns and bombs, but “Supermarket Forces” attacks the oversized grocery and department stores that impact local businesses. With Lucas screaming, “The price of all your favorite meals stays low, but now you can’t afford it,” one could assume he doesn’t do his shopping at K-mart.
As a whole, the band itself sounds very tight on the album. From the machine gun intro to “Culture Addict” to the simple-yet-effective guitar riffs on the title track, these middle-aged musicians sound like they’re still in their prime.
But the album is not strictly limited to two-minute cuts of punk fury. “Too Fat, Too Thin” showcases the band’s lesser-known ska sound, with a punchy bassline and upstroke guitars in a song that focuses on the media’s constant pressure for women to lose weight. If you would have approached the band in 1983 and told them that one day they’d be the heroes of anorexic teenage girls everywhere, do you think The Subhumans would still be around in 2007?
With a rich history embedded in the roots of punk rock, and a new album that proves that they haven’t lost their grasp on what’s happening in the world, The Subhumans have managed to stay relevant while showing today’s sugar-coated punk bands what’s really going on.


user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Yyy
November 6th 2007



289 Comments


YO PARRAGRAPS

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2007



6073 Comments


Break this up into paragraphs and it's a nice, concise review. A little more attention to how the album sounds might have helped, but you get the job done for the most part.

Welcome to the site.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
November 6th 2007



4925 Comments


20 YEARS!!!!!!

descendents1
November 6th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album bombed. I've had it for over a month (thanks to getting it while they were touring) and had such high hopes. It's lame.

Jim
November 7th 2007



5110 Comments


great review
welcome :thumb:

Serpento
November 7th 2007



2351 Comments


Meh, the band didn't impress me the first time I heard them. Consequently, I never listened after that.

descendents1
November 7th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

To be honest, The Day the Country Died and From the Cradle to the Grave are a solid 4.5 and 4, respectively. This band was remarkable in their prime. They still put on fine live shows but Citizen Fish is much better in the studio.
Process is the best song on here.

PhoenixRising
November 7th 2007



277 Comments


SUBHUMANS!!!
I'm definately getting this for old times sake, and I hope the review is right and not decendents. ;)

descendents1
November 7th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The review LIES like a lazy dog.

Weezerfan_returns
November 8th 2007



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album is really cool, don't listen to the descendents dude. I actually did use "PARAGRAPPS", but this crappy website didn't understand them when I copied and pasted the review in the little box...

I see that the punk forums here are still full of lame fucks who never leave the house.

descendents1
November 8th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i am a douche

PhoenixRising
November 8th 2007



277 Comments


good points, but I'll probably still check it out. Worst case is that a band that has made amazing music will get a little extra cash from me. I'll just sell it back to Amoeba if it sux.

descendents1
November 8th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Amoeba is sick dude. Do you go to the one in LA or in the East Bay?
And yeah I definitely own the album and support the band as much as I can short of sexual favors.

Scuba_Steve
February 18th 2008



46 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dont think descendent's rating of 2 is entirely accurate.

It's clearly not as good as The Day The Country Died, but it's still a solid album.

descendents1
February 18th 2008



702 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I hate this album. The first night they played my town I couldn't dance to any of this crap. They totally lost their solid instrumentation that was prominent on From the Cradle to the Grave.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy