Wintersun
Wintersun


3.5
great

Review

by Crimson USER (60 Reviews)
October 8th, 2007 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: What's all the fuss?

Right off the bat I'll tell you something. I wanted to love this album, I enjoy melodic death metal and power metal, especially when they're mixed together. I really like Ensiferum even though I only have one album; and the amount of reviews praising this album as a classic are too many to count. So, how come when I find myself listening to it, I think, "What's all the fuss?"

Yes. That's right, I am, in fact, disappointed by the Wintersun album everyone seems to love. Sure, it's good, but it certainly isn't godly by any means. The word overrated comes to mind here. As you can see by the rating, I do like the album, it's just I was expecting... more, reading up on most reviews online (and on this site) nearly all of them worship this album beyond belief yet I just see it as a pretty solid album. Okay then, personal opinion aside (not really, as all reviews are someones opinion), let's get on to the music.

The album opens powerfully with 'Beyond the Dark Sun' with a catchy riff and quick drumming from the get-go. Also add in some weird keyboard effects, then Jari comes in with spoken vocals, followed by his ear piercing scream. At this moment I am pretty much loving the album, it's quick, it's fast, and it has a bite to it. So is it living up to the hype after the first song? Well, yes, an almost perfect opener, discounting the slightly repetitive main riff, but then again it is a short song, so that doesn't really matter. Unfortunately, straight after the first song the album starts to deteriorate in quality for me, with the next song 'Winter Madness' only having some good moments, and at over five minutes, it is slightly boring, saved by the vocal work of Jari, who pulls off a great performance here, and on many other songs too.

As you should already know, Jari made most of this album by himself, apart from the drums, and that is a bit of a problem for me. I'm not against people creating there own albums like this, I love Solo Artists, Dan Swano is a god amongst men, and his solo work is breathtaking. But it just seems to me that Jari, while being more than a competent musician and a decent song writer, doesn't add enough variety in his riffing or the songs as a whole. Sure, the riffs aren't the same, and the song structures only have some similarities, but you can tell he did all of this, it all sounds similar, each riff is pretty much the same tempo and this is where, in other bands, another guitarist might come in handy. Each guitarist in the world plays his instrument differently, I can guarantee it, and each one will have their own ideas and own way of playing. Jari obviously has his own style, and I am impressed with his technicality, but this album is nearly an hour long and in desperate need of more variety, in fact, only one of the songs sounds unique compared to the rest of the album, and that is 'Beautiful Death', which is certainly the heaviest, grimmest song on here. This shows that Jari can do this, and by this, I mean explore slightly different emotions in his music, rather than just repeating the same icy feeling in most of the other songs, this song gives off a feeling of despair and doom and is one of the highlights of the album.

This album, even with it's faults is still great, the musicianship of Jari is inarguable, he plays pretty much every instrument perfectly, and his vocals are at an all time high here. Also, the drumming is great, not very varied, but it impresses thanks to the quickness and accuracy of the beats. Jari is certainly a competent song writer, and he needs to be as he has made nearly an hours worth of music by himself, despite some of the tracks sounding similar, there are a couple of highlights, and each of the songs have something to make them pretty good, but sometimes, the wait for these parts are too long, and when they're over the songs just gets average again. The obvious highlight of the album is 'Starchild', and it sums up the album in just under eight glorious minutes. The opening, while being similar to several of the other songs, is jaw-dropping, and when Jari starts singing, you just know that this song is going to be special. And only after several listens will you realise why this song is so much better than most of the others, it is constantly changing, you need to pay attention to notice the subtleties, but they are there, whether you notice them or not. One thing I haven't given Wintersun enough credit for is the atmosphere they create, even though the riffs and some of the keyboard work is repetitive, it gives off an icy impression, and while listening, you can imagine Jari produced this in an icy wasteland. Some of the songs also have some epic moments to them, especially the aforementioned 'Starchild' and the slow but rocking 'Sleeping Stars'.

Musically, the album impresses, and the atmosphere is unique and carries on throughout the entire album. But I still cannot figure out why people praise this as much as they do, the riffs are similar, the keyboard work is used pretty much the same way through out the album, and the bass is nearly indistinguishable. Hell, even the vocals do get slightly tiring after listening for nearly an hour. I know this sounds like I'm just an attention seeker here, but I'm really not, I'll be the first to agree with anyone who says this is a good album, but in no way, shape, or form is it a classic. No way.



Recent reviews by this author
Ea Au EllaiEa Ea II
We Insist! The Babel Inside Was TerribleBe'lakor Stone's Reach
Senate The Great Northern ScenekillNahemah A New Constellation
user ratings (1120)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of
related reviews

Time I

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crimson
October 8th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

*Puts up fanboy shield

this is sparta etc...This Message Edited On 04.24.08

Zoo
October 8th 2007


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Your review makes it sound like the primary reason you gave the album the rating you did was because of how high others have rated it. I tend to wonder how high your rating would have been were you one of the first to review the album.

Monticello
October 8th 2007


805 Comments


Good review. The only song I've heard from this is Winter Madness and it was impressive but it didn't bring me to listen to more of his stuff. Still, it's obvious just from that one song why people would like this.

Thor
October 8th 2007


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album fucking owns dude. That's the fuss.

Crimson
October 8th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Your review makes it sound like the primary reason you gave the album the rating you did was because of how high others have rated it. I tend to wonder how high your rating would have been were you one of the first to review the album.

Not true, read the first sentence, I wanted to love this, and if I did, I wouldn't have reviewed it, but as it stands now, there are four near perfect reviews of an album which just isn't that good. Also, had I been the first to review it, it would have gotten the exact same rating, for the reasons that I gave in the review, so please don't say that I am doing this for attention, which basically, you are doing.This Message Edited On 10.08.07

BallsToTheWall
October 8th 2007


44800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh yeah... Im Xerxces and I have millions of persians. You lose. Good review but I think this is atleast worthy of a 4.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

Crimson
October 8th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well... There are a lot of fans for this album, I didn't mean it literally. Glad you liked the review, if not my joke.

Doppelganger
October 8th 2007


3124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this album ain't that great.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2007


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm no fanboy of Wintersun but I enjoy this album a lot.

Crimson
October 8th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm no fanboy of Wintersun but I enjoy this album a lot.
I ain't going to complain, I just wanted to write a review about this album to show my opinion on it, yet I could have guaranteed you people will say that I did this for the attention or just to be different, which is not the case.

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 8th 2007


3742 Comments


um...why dont i have this?

Zoo
October 8th 2007


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

[quote=Crimson]so please don't say that I am doing this for attention, which basically, you are doing.[/quote]
No, I did not say that, nor did I imply it. You interpreted my response how I assumed you would: defensively. I simply stated that that was the main point your review seemed to convey, not that it was your intention to point that out, by any means.

What I'm saying is this: you seem more intent on convincing readers that the album isn't as good as other reviewers have made it out to be, more than just writing a regular review that focuses on the album alone, and not how other people view it.

It's a pretty common scenario that I see all the time (and one that I, myself, have been in, as have many others). An album comes out that is highly praised by many people. Soon, a couple reviews come out trying to justify the hype, and a select few decide to go against common opinion that the album is a classic or is near perfect (and are subsequently drowned by a flood of comments by fans of the album). Then, at some point, someone (enter: you) writes a review that he/she knows many will disagree (you anticipated this very fact yourself, which is evident by your first comment) with primarily because they don't believe it is as good as everyone says it is.

I do they same exact thing (for example, my opinion on Colors or Dark Passion Play), as do many others. I was just making an observation.

Crimson
October 8th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Alright then, sorry for the harsh reply. No hard feelings?

ZapatoDiablo
October 8th 2007


167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review, Crimson. I think I'm going to be the one who has to mention that Kai does some insane drumming on this album, I think hes playing here practically won him a Finnish musician of the year award.
/edit I guess he was just nominatedThis Message Edited On 10.08.07

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2007


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm excited to see what Wintersun's new album will sound like. I forgot to mention this was a good review, got my vote dude. Good work as always :D

Yazz_Flute
October 8th 2007


18852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was probably my first more extreme metal album...perhaps thats why I love this so fucking much.

Winter Madness owns though, and beyond the dark sun is the weakest track, only cuz of its length.

My personal favorite is Beautful Death, closely followed by Starchild.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2007


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Beyond The Dark Sun is the best track on here IMO.

Wizard
October 8th 2007


19612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ok review, you backed yourself up well. However this album has so much to offer in terms of diversity and musicianship. If this fucking site would let me have more 5 ratings, this would be a 5!

Digging: Hans Zimmer - Interstellar

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2007


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm sure you can have more 5 ratings dude, it says 10% of the albums you rated, and you rated 524... so 524 x 10% = 52.....

Wizard
October 8th 2007


19612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It takes me to a screen that says "Only 10% of your ratings can be 5's. This rating should only be given to the very best albums, or 'classics'. Please don't use the rating lightly. If you really feel this album deserves a 5, please go back and change some of your other ratings that don't deserve a 5." Than I have no choice to go back to the review? Don't know what the fuck is going on? Seriously, I feel their are more than 10% of my ratings that are 5's. Or else, why would I listen to them so often?This Message Edited On 10.08.07



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy