Between the Buried and Me
Colors


4.0
excellent

Review

by chris1 USER (2 Reviews)
September 26th, 2007 | 44 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album kicks Progressive Metal ass! Yes its that simple!

Between the Buried & Me - Colours
Released 24th September 2007 (UK)
Victory Records

So another review about Colors. Has this website gone Colors mad? Its certainly divided opinion in one way or another. I'm certainly on the 'for' side. Here's why: This album kicks Progressive Metal ass! Yes its that simple!

If you like progressive metal ala Opeth, Mastodon, The Red Chord and the Mars Volta(plus many more) then i'm certain you will find something to like on this album. The album has been created to be listened to as a continuous whole rather than individual songs and it honestly works much more effectively that way and yes its pretentious and self indulgent, but its also enjoyable.

The album contains parts of virtually every genre available (death metal, jazz, country, folk, pop, polka, metal) It certainly gives the impression that its an uncohesive mess, but in actual fact it all works perfectly.

Songs such as 'Informal Gluttony' have riffs that stop, start and thrash wherever the please. Tommy Rogers vocals make this album, alternating between a croon a gothic screech and full death metal growls but the guitar playing of Paul Waggoner and Dusty Waring along with the drumming of Blake Richardson make this album exceptional. Oh and lets not forget Dan Briggs on bass!

'Sun of Nothing' and 'Ants of the Sky' are album highlights while 'White Walls' could be the best thing the band have writtens since 'Selkies the Endless Obsession' from their 2005 album Alaska.

Mixing brutallity with beauty has always been one of Between the Buried & Me's strong points and the off kilter time changes, breakdowns, acoustic interludes, jazz guitar prove how well they accomplish this feat. the fact that they sit together seamlessly with each other is testamnet to the songwriting skill of BTBAM.

This for me along with Baroness's 'The Red Album' define a year that has had some exceptional metal releases heaped upon our ears, and in my mind Colors is up there at the top spot.


user ratings (3934)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
kalkal50
September 26th 2007


2386 Comments


this review is overblown, very average and uninspired.. you didn't go into any detail

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2007


6094 Comments


You don't really tell us anything at all except that a bunch of moments on the album are great and then name drop a bunch of bands that either don't fit the genre you're describing or have little to do with Colors at all.

chris1
September 26th 2007


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know I read it and thought the same, but then I thought every other review of Colors on this site goes into each song in detail so i thought whats the point? Heroes is on TV in 10 minutes, hahah...

Anyway the Country breakdown in the middle of 'Ants of the Sky' is genius.

BallsToTheWall
September 26th 2007


44333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That was unnecessary. I agree with the others, how do you become ranked?

Digging: Pharmakon - Abandon

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2007


16088 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What do you mean become ranked.

Altmer
September 26th 2007


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

album sucks utter cow balls

Fort23
September 26th 2007


2475 Comments


srsly

BallsToTheWall
September 26th 2007


44333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The rankin numberg. I notice people who have written one good review have a ranking number. I know I've written atleast 6 well written reviews with the votes and I dont even have a number 1000 or something, I'm just confused here.

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2007


6094 Comments


balls- you'll get them when the great kings of the holy community deem you worthy. until then, f'uck off.

8')

FukuiSan
September 26th 2007


179 Comments


this review sucks. the album does not.

BallsToTheWall
September 26th 2007


44333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

8 ? HarryKotter are you related to HyperboleKing by any chance?

Crimson
September 26th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You definitely are.

Crimson
September 26th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd be seriously worried if your cum is crimson mate, might want to get that checked out.

BallsToTheWall
September 26th 2007


44333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Reminds me of a cannibal corpse song.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2007


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

do me next please

Mikesn
Emeritus
September 26th 2007


3709 Comments


that's what she said

i am the master of humourThis Message Edited On 09.26.07

Crimson
September 26th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok then...

Monticello
September 26th 2007


805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This thread/album/review brings uber lulz.

Two-Headed Boy
September 26th 2007


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is insanely good.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2007


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hermione and luna

not cho because she is a chinky



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy