Emarosa
This is Your Way Out


4.5
superb

Review

by TheSunSleeps348 USER (8 Reviews)
September 19th, 2007 | 52 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist


Emarosa – This is Your Way Out (EP)


A good friend the other day told me: “You really have to listen to this new band I figured out. They’re called Emarosa; they have keyboards, breakdowns, awesome riffs, samples, low screams, high screams and scream/sing vocal harmonies”. Since I heard them, I can only say that is a damn-near perfect description of what pounded through my speakers.

This band finally stands out in all the countless and repetitive Post-Hardcore acts such as From First to Last, who display very-little originality. Emarosa does the exact opposite. Although at times you may find yourself saying “This sounds somewhat like The Devil Wears Prada”, or more-likely Underoath. That isn’t a bad thing in this case whatsoever. Emarosa seems to slightly pull different aspects out of the good steps set by other bands, and turn it into a masterpiece.

The similarities are strongly found in the vocals. Chris Roetter’s scream sounds similar to Underoath’s Spencer Chamberlaine, but in all the right ways. It still has quite a good amount of originality in it, thankfully. His range is also impressive, going from lower-sounding screams/growls to high pitched agonized screams.

When it comes to the clean vocals, they sound like The Devil Wear’s Prada’s, only better. The thing that will really crack a smile on your face is that Emarosa executes everything at practically the perfect moment, strongly being the clean singing. You will also most-likely find yourself humming them to yourself through most of the day, or singing them to yourself in the shower.

The album/EP displays a wicked amount of emotion, being happiness, sadness, anger, you name it, and Emarosa has it done.

The guitar work is very melodic, such as the Metalcore scene. It as well has a good range, playing “chug-a-lug” riffs, to high screeches. The melodies in themselves are quite catchy, and the pounding drumming backs them up perfectly. They’re even a keyboard in there to hold it all together, and add to the atmosphere.

For a debut, this sure as hell did not have an under-produced feel. Infact, the production feels even better than that of The Devil Wears Prada, who are not nearly as new as Emarosa.

The best display of everything the band has would be in either Utah or Casablanca. So those would be by-far the top-two recommended songs for me.

I’m greatly looking forward to buying, and reviewing the first full album that comes out. I’m also hoping to see them live sometime if they ever come close to my hometown or city. The thought of them live practically makes me weak on my knees.

For the bands first attempt at recording music, they did it better than 4/5 of the Post-Hardcore bands out there.

To wrap up, I’d like to say two things: EP – Download.
First full-album (due soon) – BUY.
No, I’m not advertising. But if Post-Hardcore, Metalcore, or…well… extremely diverse, fast-paced amazing music, this is for you. Hands down.

-The Sun Sleeps



Recent reviews by this author
Destroy The Runner SaintsKillswitch Engage Alive or Just Breathing
All That Remains The Fall of IdealsAlexisonfire Watch Out!
Underoath Define the Great LineDark Tranquillity Character
user ratings (402)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
todis522 (4.5)
The past shouldn't stay dead....

related reviews

Versus

Emarosa

Relativity
recommended by reviewer
Underoath Define the Great Line

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSunSleeps348
September 19th 2007


156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hope I wrote this well.

TheSunSleeps348
September 19th 2007


156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't write much, its an EP...

ToWhatEnd
September 19th 2007


3172 Comments


Make sure you at least add a track list to this, artwork would be nice as well. You can edit your review and do so. These guys are pretty good so far despite my first impressions of their originality not being as high as described in your review. Still doesn't take away from the fact that they are solid, I can imagine getting into this.

Willie
Moderator
September 19th 2007


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You really just need to ask a mod to merge this into the album that was already here that has soundoffs, artwork, etc already.

This album is slightly above average, but if I want music like this I'll listen to the last Underoath album over this every time.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2007


16089 Comments


From First to Last are both more original than these guys and try harder to be a good band to boot.
I havent heard all the songs here but its been jocked to me by guys into generic post-hardcore/popcore before. Nothing special.

ToWhatEnd
September 19th 2007


3172 Comments


Oh wow yeah good call about the merging. This Message Edited On 09.19.07

ironman4444
September 19th 2007


276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Slightly sub-par review. It just seemed like you we're talking too much about TDWP and you really didn't credit these guys on their sound enough. In conclusion I shall not vote.

ToWhatEnd
September 19th 2007


3172 Comments


Hey sunsleeps would you mind hitting me up on AIM and sending me this? My screen name is towhatend81488 I'll be on for the next half hour or so and would greatly appreciate this.

TheSunSleeps348
September 19th 2007


156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wouldn't mind at all, problem though: I have MSN, not AIM. Sorry.

TheSunSleeps348
September 19th 2007


156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ Ironman4444, considering you have never left a good comment on one of my reviews, I could give two shits about that comment. Considering the majority of the review was about the band's unique sound. Plus, start trashing my reviews when you start righting amazing ones. "Sub-par". Its a EP. You shouldn't expect much.

TheSunSleeps348
September 19th 2007


156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Someone please agree with me ^

ironman4444
September 19th 2007


276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

TheSunSleeps348 i'm sorry for being so harsh with your reviews but I never had any intention to trash your review and my comment came from the goodness of my heart. To give you some advice use more details for your statements like when you talked about emotions, what makes the band that emotion or what song do they use that emotion.

TheSunSleeps348
September 19th 2007


156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you. I don't mean to be harsh either.

KritikalMotion
September 23rd 2007


2262 Comments


Sounds like Underoath. Probably be a 3.

KritikalMotion
December 19th 2007


2262 Comments


It got worse. This is incredibly mediocre and generic, and it does indeed sound like a b-sides album from Underoath or something.

Thats bad.

chad^
May 29th 2008


16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Guilty Pleasure.


zack182daley
July 6th 2008


18 Comments


Their new album has my favorite singer, Jonny Craig in it. He was kicked out of my previous favorite band, Dance Gavin Dance, who turned out to be good also, even without him. Listen to the new Emarosa, Jonny Craig has the best voice in the business right now.

DaveBum69
July 10th 2008


699 Comments


I agree with the comment above there much better now with jonny, this album IMO is devil wears prada with a better singer

tarik28
August 25th 2008


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think this album was solid. maybe generic, but better then most.
the old vocalist sure was talented. now hes in a shitty christian metalcore band called Agraceful

BSX
October 4th 2008


1636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I LOVED Emarosa before Jonny

Digging: Nicki Minaj - The Pinkprint



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy