NOFX
The Decline


4.5
superb

Review

by TBrown87 USER (10 Reviews)
September 8th, 2007 | 21 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of NOFX's most excellent works.

You wander into Best Buy one day looking for some good music, when you spot some NOFX cd's on the shelves. Hm, NOFX. Not bad. Idly flipping through the cd's you find one that's only $9.95. $9.95 for a cd?! Amazed at the bargain you are about to get you sprint to the cash register, shell out a ten and run out of the store before the manager realizes his pricing error.

Leaping into your car you immediately tear the cd out of the rapper. Looking at the cd you notice something strange. They cut out half of the cd! The inner part looks normal but the rest is clear plastic! Feeling slightly ripped off you put the cd in the player and press play. Then you notice the tracklist. One song. You realize that the world is working against you.

Then the music starts. The song starts with a slow bass intro that gets faster and turns into NOFX's trademark breakneck tempo. Very impressive so far but is it worth $9.95? Then Fat Mike come's in with the lines "Where are all the stupid people from? And how'd they get to be so dumb?" Hm. Good question. You continue to listen with rising interest.

As the song progresses you realize that it's not just one song your listening to, its an entire album in miniature, with the slow almost ballad-like parts countering blazing fast punk melodies. Some parts are amazing some are just mediocre but it all fits to create something of a masterpiece for this band. On the surface it seems like everything NOFX has done before except its done on one song. But it's more. Fat Mike is more sarcastic and more passionate about his music than he ever was before. That is the one big thing that makes this one song better than any past material from this band.

So you drive home after your 18 minute listen(18 minutes? It seems a lot shorter.) and put your new cd away. A good buy on your part. And for $9.95 too. Then you log onto Napster and realize you could have bought the song for 99 cents.



Recent reviews by this author
The Dreadnoughts Victory SquareDrive Like Jehu Yank Crime
Crass The Feeding of the 5000Mischief Brew Songs From Under the Sink
Ghost Mice EuropeConflict The Ungovernable Force
user ratings (465)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
pow3rtr1p (5)
While NOFX may not be one of the most technically talented bands out there, they took the most appar...

Richard Craig (4)
...

(4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
tom79
September 8th 2007


3380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this song is pretty great

Digging: Nai Harvest - Whatever

dub sean
September 8th 2007


980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm voting just for the little joke in the last paragraph, made me chuckle.

Anyways, I agree, this is superb and my favorite NOFX song by far. However, I think you could have been little more detailed. You completely skipped over one of the longest sections and most intense sections of the song, the outro. The horns and stomping feet are just amazing, and I'm surprised you didn't mention it at all.

But, good review other than that, maybe just a little more detail.

Willie
Moderator
September 8th 2007


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

I liked the story-nature of the review that still gave a general idea of what the CD sounded like... could have had slightly more info, but as a first impression type of review I can't find fault at all.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

blackmilk
September 8th 2007


584 Comments


omg a long punk song excuse me while i masturbate furiously

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2007


17940 Comments


fapfapfapfap

Doppelganger
September 8th 2007


3124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Correction: NOFX's greatest work

Ire
September 8th 2007


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This song bores me now

dub sean
September 8th 2007


980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how?

Ire
September 8th 2007


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's long and has no hook besides the solo portion

dub sean
September 8th 2007


980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

and the EPIC freakin horn sections!

Ire
September 8th 2007


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's five notes on a Bb trumpet!

spoon_of_grimbo
September 8th 2007


2241 Comments


and your point is? some of the best hooks ever written have been made from only a handful of notes! there's room in the book of good songwriting for both complexity AND simplicity. which, incidentally are two qualities which "the decline" displays most impressively throughout.

there's some totally sick drumming and bass work, and some relatively difficult guitar parts (more for the sheer speed than anything) and some incredibly effective yet extremely simple parts. the only way to make a song of this length work is to use alternating dynamics well, which they have.

oh, and back to your "five notes"... one of the most epic parts in music that i can think of off the top of my head is the main riff of "hallowed be thy name" by iron maiden, which is a simple lead riff (of FIVE NOTES) over a simple progression of three chords.

P.S. i forgot to mention, pretty good review! like the others, i think it could have been more descriptive, but it did sum up well, and i like the writing style, i'll vote.This Message Edited On 09.08.07

Intransit
September 8th 2007


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

omg a long punk song excuse me while i masturbate furiously

Not the only reason the song is amazing, although his review would lead you to believe otherwise.

UncalledFor
September 8th 2007


100 Comments


This review had one tiny paragraph on the actual music, the rest describes how "you might've felt ripped off at first when you bought this for X money while it's only one song!!". I'm sorry, but I though it was rather pointless. You said so little about what we will HEAR, and you should clearly have commented on the lyrical content as well.This Message Edited On 09.08.07

PhoenixRising
September 8th 2007


277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definately NOFX at their best.

TBrown87
September 8th 2007


52 Comments


The longest paragraph was the one about the music. Just trying to keep the review interesting, I'm sorry.

descendents1
September 9th 2007


702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought this review was well-written, but I thought it could have been either longer or better structured.

armchairidealist
May 2nd 2008


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If Nofx never did anything else, this would be enough. I wish they put as much effort into all their records because when they do, it's pretty darn good

suburbanwaste
June 26th 2008


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This song is definately NOFX's masterpiece. Even the manner in which they released it is really amazing and innovative. The lyrics are relevant and insightful, and overall this is a really great piece of art

brandaao
November 19th 2008


99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

best song ever



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy