Through the Eyes of the Dead
Malice


2.5
average

Review

by Tyler Munro EMERITUS
August 16th, 2007 | 108 replies | 15,371 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 41 minutes of meh-lodic death metal.

When I think of all the people vilifying Through the Eyes of the Dead for reasons out of their control I get angry, but when I see people label them as a Metalcore I laugh. Yes, the band has breakdowns and yes, their fans are cross-dressing girl-pant wearing spin-kicking wieners, but like it or lump it Through the Eyes of the Dead are a melodic death metal band. So with that said, Malice is their second full length and their first album without vocalist Anthony Gunnells, who has since been replaced by Nate Johnson.

The vocal change is instantly noticeable. Where Anthony Gunnells thrived with violent, shrieky highs and relatively strong range, Nate's vocals are low, guttural and relatively beige. His range is limited, though he does try to hit some highs here and there. For better or worse, the vocals prompt a pretty harsh change in the group's dynamic. While it's easy to say Anthony was far more capable, it's even easier to understand why he's gone. Bloodlust, their last effort, was laced with overly distorted vocals and, if the rumours are true, Anthony was far too concerned with alcohol to actually focus on his music career. I guess my point is I don't have one. There's a new vocalist and he's average, I guess.

The loss of Anthony does however bring the loss of vocal distortion, a major plus. Along with the clearer/shittier vocals comes crisp, professional production, which dampens the aggression. Beyond the vocals and production values the music is relatively unchanged; the band still plays the American blend of melodic death metal. Malice is littered in formulas, each song a calculated exercise in repetition. Nearly every track follows the same pattern: firstly, the group tends to introduce a melodic riff or lead, followed by monotonous drumming (which I'll get to), a violent passage, re-introduction to that riff and an extended breakdown. The album is, to its chagrin, far too formulaic and this is the main reason why people write these guys off.

The drums have always been a point of interest with the group, who've since replaced long-time drummer Dayton Cantley with Josh Kulick. Dayton Cantley could be easily characterised by his astoundingly fast footwork and precise drumming, and while it was overly clicky (either due to triggers or the tightness of the drums), his performance was always varied and highly impressive. Josh Kulick on the other hand seems lost, confused on how to branch out beyond the standards blast, thrash and crash. Dayton Cantley used to be a draw to the band; Josh Kulick sounds like he's having trouble keeping up.

Their first two releases, one EP and another split, were relatively well received melo-death albums, lauded for their ferocity and delivery. By comparison, Bloodlust and Malice are chock full of filler and repetition, which do nothing but limit the plusses and expose the faults. Where Bloodlust was marred by meaningless dead-air and overly distorted vocals Malice is plagued by general monotony. As stated, songs on the album retain a very similar structure and the vocals are brutal but disposable.

Obviously I'm pointing out the negatives because they're plentiful, but there are some positives to be found if you take it one song at a time. The music is still more interesting than the Job for a Cowboy's of the world and while it's monotonous and repetitive, it's still relatively enjoyable. Through the Eyes of the Dead are sadly going to be forever plagued by their inability to write an entire album, and the monotony the new members bring isn't doing them any favours.



Recent reviews by this author
Masked Intruder Masked IntruderAtheist Jupiter
Aeon Path of FireAdam Haworth Stephens We Live on Cliffs
Autopsy The Tomb WithinOrbs Asleep Next to Science
user ratings (278)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
gasmaskman (2)
TTEOTD go from incredible to generic in a very unoriginal album....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyler
Emeritus
August 16th 2007



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Boring review for a boring album.

masscows
August 16th 2007



2236 Comments


stop reviewing this it's not out yet
yeah, ok!

Tyler
Emeritus
August 16th 2007



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

staff reviewer

If they can get a steam they can re-submit. I don't make the rules, I just sidestep them. Anyways I know the review isn't the best, but I've been having a sort of prolonged brain-fart lately.This Message Edited On 08.16.07

gasmaskman
August 16th 2007



1006 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

41 minutes is way too long for this, considering it's like the same song over and over again.

masscows
August 16th 2007



2236 Comments


so where's your aild review coke?

Tyler
Emeritus
August 16th 2007



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

And gasdude, I enjoyed your review so I definitely recommend you re-submit it on Tuesday.

so where's your aild review coke?

Tomorrow probably. I've gotta add some stuff.This Message Edited On 08.16.07

Shred Danson
August 16th 2007



118 Comments


Album's boring as hell. Nate Johnson's vocals kill it for me, and the production is horrible...there are some cool moments in there though, so I pretty much agree with the 2.5 rating. Average album, nothing special, and definitely not as good as Bloodlust.

Tyler
Emeritus
August 16th 2007



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I didnt really like Bloodlust though, I'd have that at maybe a 3. Scars of Ages I really like though.

jrowa001
August 16th 2007



8749 Comments


i cant really get into these guys, great review. might check this one out

Shred Danson
August 16th 2007



118 Comments


Haven't heard Scar of Ages, so I can't comment on that.

Good review though.

Tyler
Emeritus
August 16th 2007



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Scars of Ages is only 5 songs, it's an EP. I say search it out. I'm re-writing my AILD one because I was too harsh on it, I've got to re-write it to make it into a 3.This Message Edited On 08.16.07

XpoopyX
August 16th 2007



7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So...the last couple comments make me feel like we're reviewing first impressions of an album not actual albums...Shadows are Security took me a month to begin to appreciate...Pick a side people. We're at war...

robin2220
August 16th 2007



569 Comments


Shadows Are Security is not a good album though.

jrowa001
August 16th 2007



8749 Comments


i still love this album, im guess im just an AILD fanboy. it might rub off in the future
what the heck, i was commenting on the AILD review. weirdThis Message Edited On 08.16.07

ToWhatEnd
August 17th 2007



3172 Comments


Good review, love the summary as well.

Edit: I just listened to the track available, holy crap it sucked. Was that a weaker track or were you being kind with a 2.5?This Message Edited On 08.17.07

XpoopyX
August 17th 2007



7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Way to miss the point, robin...I dono what album josh is talking about. Where I'm from, the new AILD and TTEOTD comes out in 5 days. All I'm saying is, they're going to get more than a few listens before I pass judgement...If you have and are going to do this fine site that small service, props. If not, prepare to engage in mortal kombat...

gasmaskman
August 17th 2007



1006 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off


Edit: I just listened to the track available, holy crap it sucked. Was that a weaker track or were you being kind with a 2.5?

Actually it's one of the better ones on the CD IMO, but there are maybe 1 or 2 better ones.

Tyler
Emeritus
August 17th 2007



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

If you're referring to the track on their myspace yeah, it's bad.
And guys fuck off with teh AILD talk. I'm not an idiot, I don't review on first impressions. My first impression of the new AILD was a 2.5, my matured one is a 3. Now fuck off this is not a fucking AILD review you fucking nitwits.

blackmilk
August 17th 2007



584 Comments


Ease off the commas in the first paragraph.

Tyler
Emeritus
August 17th 2007



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'll fix it tomorrow



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy