System of a Down
Mezmerize


2.0
poor

Review

by grungekicksmetalsass USER (12 Reviews)
July 31st, 2007 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Upon hearing System of a Down's album Toxicity, I found it very creative, enjoyable, and intruiging. Such is not really the case for Mezmerize. This album is dull, and somewhat plagiarisitc in the sense that some of the serious subject matter has been talked about all the time by hundreds of other bands. Abusing the poor, war hungry politicians, it's been done. Not that that's bad necessarily, it just becomes dry.


That seems to be the case for BYOB. A song about war, which was also the first single for the album. Every song on here seems to be about something very serious, or incredibly stupid. Like Cigaro for instance. Serj seems to really love talking about his penis, considering no one else probably is. The lyrics to Question! also really confuse me, something about sweet berries and ghosts, I have no clue what it could be a metaphor for, and I usually have a good idea when it comes to lyrics.


The fact that they actually let Daron Malakian sing on here is astounding. His voice is downright annoying. I can't even listen to a song all the way through on this record anymore because his singing kills my eardrums. Serj's vocals on the other hand are good as always. His vocals have been enjoyable from the beginning, at least for me they have.


The drums and bass do their job well. Shavo and the drummer's name escapes me at the moment, are clearly good at what they do. Nothing entirely spectacular, but very good none the less. They drive a good beat and are the saving points of some otherwise poor songs. Question!, Lost in Hollywood, and to an extent, BYOB are examples of this.


So to narrow it down does Mezmerize suck? Does it blow? Does it matter? This band which is normally an enjoyment to listen to released a poor record. So I advise you to listen to their older records, or at least Hypnotize, 'cause those are much better.



Recent reviews by this author
A Perfect Circle Thirteenth StepNine Inch Nails Pretty Hate Machine
Ramones RamonesVelvet Revolver Libertad
Tool OpiateLinkin Park Minutes to Midnight
user ratings (3491)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
rustysurf84
July 31st 2007


327 Comments


Eh, you didn't exactly support your opinions well. I see where your coming from, but backing them with some other reasons would be nice.

rattlehead42147
July 31st 2007


1345 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this band sucks and this cd is ok. you didn't really explain your opinions

LifeInABox
July 31st 2007


3709 Comments


Too short. I disagree. This killed any lingering accusations of being "nu-metal". Good album.

grungekicksmetalsass
July 31st 2007


62 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah I just realized that I didn't support my opinions too well. To clarify, i'll do it now.

Daron's voice is whiny and too nasal
Most songs are like an acid trip or seem like it because they just take words and jumble them together
the instrumentation is actually done quite well.

There you go my extended opinions or for the most part anyway.

thesystemisdown
July 31st 2007


412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[sarcasm]Wow, fantastic review[/sarcasm].

I don't know how you enjoyed Toxicity, aside from Daron's vocals (which I hated at first but have grown to accept) most of your complaints for these album could also apply to that one. Your opinion is good (except for the stuff about the lyrics, the Cigaro stuff is tongue-in-cheek and the rest of what you said is dodgy too) but you didn't really do that good a job of expressing it. The instrumentation is fantastic technically, I'm glad we agree on that, though.

Altmer
July 31st 2007


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Meh review, good band, good album

metallicaman8
July 31st 2007


4677 Comments


This album is dull, and somewhat plagiarisitc in the sense that some of the serious subject matter has been talked about all the time by hundreds of other bands. Abusing the poor, war hungry politicians, it's been done. Not that that's bad necessarily, it just becomes dry.


That's not plagiarism at all, not even somewhat. Also you mispelled plagiaristic.

Serj seems to really love talking about his penis, considering no one else probably is.


Last word in that sentence should be "does"

I have no clue what it could be a metaphor for, and I usually have a good idea when it comes to lyrics.

and the drummer's name escapes me at the moment


When you run into problems such as those do some research. Hell, to get the drummer's name all you would have to do is type "System Of A Down" in google, click the Wikipedia link that would be near the top of the page and once you're there look in the column on th right.

Overall, this review was pretty bad. You were kind of vague and didn't really tell me much about the album. All I know is that there's lyrics about abusing the poor and politicians, Darren can't sing while Serj can and the bass and drums were good. What kind of atmosphere does the album have? Why such a low rating? Darren's crap vocals don't constitute rating this a 2, so there must be more factors. Was there a lot of filler? Was the production poor? I think you get the idea. Also, your sentence structure was awkward for a lot of the review.






Hatshepsut
July 31st 2007


1997 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Poor review.
I actually liked this better than Toxicity.

teamsleep698
July 31st 2007


423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah everyone else has kind of said everything wrong with this review. just explain more, this review's length could be put in a sound off even. try to be less vauge and actually research stuff for you're reviews like the drummer's name and how to spell plagaristic or whatever.

Two-Headed Boy
July 31st 2007


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album is ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

LifeInABox
July 31st 2007


3709 Comments


Best SOAD to date in my book.

masscows
July 31st 2007


2236 Comments


I actually think this one is their worst. Bad review though, it read more like a long soundoff.

Otisbum
July 31st 2007


1912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't know why, but I really got hooked on the weirdness in this album.

Lunarfall
July 31st 2007


3179 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Me too. But for some reason, I liked Hypnotize better.

HOLY MOUNTAINS FTW!

SCREAM!
July 31st 2007


10206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not only was this pretty poorly written but i disagree. When it comes to SoaD albums i think this is what i prefer:
S/T
Steal this Album
This
Hypnotize/Toxicity

Wizard
July 31st 2007


19498 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That was a short and pointless review that really added up to an opinion with nothing to back it up. Good album, alot better than Toxicity.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Yazz_Flute
July 31st 2007


18809 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dont like Daron's voice either

but imo, this is SOAD's second best, their debut is the only better one.

AAnd Hypnotize? cmon that album's really average, i'd say SOAD's worst, and Toxicity is overrated imo, but still really good, lose the filler on that album and it would be on par with this and their debut. STA! isn't much better than hypnotize.

This album, and SOAD's debut have no filler (even the short songs on their debut didnt really seem filler, except maybe Ddevil) and have plenty of great songs, which iis why i prefer them.

And honestly, BYOB is my favorite song my SOAD. It was the first of their songs i heard, so maybe that's why, but i love it. Sugar is a close second.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

Eakflanderyof
August 1st 2007


2143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is so much better than Hypnotize and could possibly be their best album. It definitely rivals the self-titled album.

Kiran
Emeritus
August 1st 2007


6001 Comments


what a bad review sir

kalkal50
August 1st 2007


2386 Comments


you didn't justify why you don't like the actual music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy