Tool
Aenima


5.0
classic

Review

by PTECK USER (37 Reviews)
July 17th, 2007 | 23 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Worth any sum of money, shows a different shade of beauty...

When I think of music that has changed the way I have listened to music, Tool has always come to mind. If I can point out a certain Tool album, it would be AEnima. As a musical and simply artistic achievement, this is one of the few albums that I have hailed as masterpieces in which I really mean it. I'm not sure if this is just a personal thing or not, but this seems to be one of a very select group of CDs I own that seem to be more enjoyable with every listen, rather than the common notion that the more you listen to an album the more sick of it you will get. This may stem from the idea that it's more thought provoking than most music, or that it's just plain that beautiful.

The notion behind me finding this album so grand is that every song has seemed to perplex me in some way, you can attribute this to four brilliant musicians. Because of Danny Carey, every song has some breed of unique and outstanding drum beats flowing through it. The drum solo during the track Forty Six & Two is absolutely genius. Adam Jones and Maynard James Keenan are both at the top of their games. Maynard proves that he is capable of singing in any way, mixing it up perfectly. For example, during Eulogy, Maynard sweetly commands in a dark, quiet tone, "Don't you ***ing lie," before barking out at the top of his lungs,"Don't you step out of line!" Also, the use of a megaphone at times shows another element to his versatility. Newcomer Justin Chancellor picks up exactly where Paul D'Amour left off creating bass lines that are unlike anything most anyone has ever heard, barely funky, not at all metallish, and with a tone that will make anyone drool. But what really puts the music here so high is the simple musicianship. These guys interact like none other, creating a dark, haunting atmosphere behind each and every song.

But what is just as compelling as the music is the words that Maynard sings to us. Topics range from theories of evolution to opinions on drug use, the excessess of America, child abuse, scientology and some things that seem to be to deep, dark and inexplicable to decipher. Something I've always looked for in music is the ability of the lyrics to make me think, this accomplishes that. No matter how complex or abstract they may be, they always channel some amount of thought.

Like all things Tool, the album is not light and happy, but mainly dark with a good deal anger behind it. Anyone who says that music like this is incable of achieving beauty is wrong. On the surface lines like, "Remember I will always love you, while I claw your *ucking throat away" may seem somewhat idiotic and unnecessary, but Tool have found a way.

The highlights of this album are many, but all signs seem to point out to certain songs as being more bold than others. Eulogy is a perfect emotional explosion, starting with a wonderful guitar intro followed by Maynard's powerful voice in the chorus. AEnema is another track that will wow you with the lyrics, no matter how many f words it takes. One line from Stinkfist will describe how I have felt with each of these songs, "It's not enough, I need more."

When you have four dark, seemingly demented, but creative minds that are willing to hold nothing back the results can be fantastic. All 77 epic minutes of this album can be summed up in one word: genius.



Recent reviews by this author
Pearl Jam Touring Band 2000 DVDCollective Soul Afterwords
Lindsey Buckingham Under the SkinJourney Greatest Hits: 1978-1997 DVD
Queen Classic QueenQueen Greatest Hits I & II
user ratings (4606)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of
related reviews

Lateralus

Undertow

Opiate

Salival
recommended by reviewer
Everclear Sparkle And Fade

Comments:Add a Comment 
NemesisDivina
July 17th 2007


141 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

great review, man! I feel the same way about this album. It's my favorite from Tool

Intransit
July 17th 2007


2797 Comments


HOLY SHIT NO MORE DONT YOU GET THE CLUE

EyesWideShut
July 17th 2007


3210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the best albums of all time. Every track is a stand out and has the band at the top of their game. Its hard to decide which is the best of the 90's when you have albums like "NIN - Downward Spiral", "Aenima" and "Opeth - Still Life"

Angmar
July 18th 2007


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lateralus is better, but this is still fantastic, sweet review, don't worry bout intransit, he just likes to look to things to bitch about. :rolleyes:

muchtallerthanu
July 18th 2007


648 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I like this one the best out of all Tool albums.

Sound
July 18th 2007


3904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"HOLY **** NO MORE DONT YOU GET THE CLUE"

what is the site about... reviews, right?This Message Edited On 07.18.07

Brain Dead
July 18th 2007


1150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Somebody give me one reason why having a lot of reviews for an album is a bad thing.
"THEY SHOULD BE REVIEWING SOMETHING THAT HASN'T BEEN REVIEWED YET"
That's not a reason. Don't use it.

Aficionado
July 18th 2007


1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ya, I never understood that...that's why I 've been scared into not reviewing aenima, 10'000 days and stadium arcadium.

Aficionado
July 18th 2007


1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

From all indications, he looks for an excuse to spazz.

Angmar
July 18th 2007


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It really isn't a big deal, I've done it before (IE BWP) but I think the only problem with it is that people want to see an album that does not have a review get its spot filled so we can have some diversity on the site, but more reviews on albums certainly does not harm anything.

Patrick
July 18th 2007


1891 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

And I've reviewed about 30 albums that had not been reviewed before, therefore I think I deserve to do this.

Kage
July 18th 2007


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great, another fanboy foaming at the mouth masquerading as a review.

Patrick
July 18th 2007


1891 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that'd be me

Intransit
July 18th 2007


2797 Comments


What use is 10 reviews of varying quality that say the exact same thing? If you can come up with a reason why, go right ahead. Personally, I believe if you review something, you should be saying something that no one has said previously or bettering a point that was made in the past. Review what you want, but honestly, your writing is not going to develop worth a shit if you don't try and come up with original ideas. Review what you want, but spewing shit nearly verbatim that other reviews have already said is just hurting your own development.

Brain Dead
July 18th 2007


1150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I review purely for myself. The vocalization of my thoughts on an album helps me clarify my thoughts. Besides that, I like to see a large amount of reviews about an album If I'm trying to decide whether I want to buy it or not. Really, I can't think of a case where an album could have too many reviews.

Patrick
July 18th 2007


1891 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't think I hurt myself in any way by writing this review. I guess it's your problem if you're that angry about it.

wakeupdead
July 18th 2007


2208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ya i didn't think this album was very good. i was all hyped when i bought it, cuz i loved 10,000 days, but its way different

Intransit
July 18th 2007


2797 Comments


Okay then. Liking tool, and the repetitiveness of reviews I guess go hand in hand considering tool has written like 5 songs in their entire career and then just rehashed them from there.

Two-Headed Boy
July 18th 2007


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album's really over rated.

The Door Mouse
July 18th 2007


2092 Comments


Somebody give me one reason why having a lot of reviews for an album is a bad thing.

Because our database looks like crap.This Message Edited On 07.18.07



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy