Car Bomb
Centralia


2.5
average

Review

by Shawn USER (3 Reviews)
June 5th, 2007 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Car Bomb doesn't really fit into any genre, but they are closest to death metal. This could've been a great cd if they would've expanded they sound a little bit.

Car Bomb is a band that I first heard on Hard Attack Heavy Metal, when they played the track M^6 I was hooked, the vocals and the drumming are perfect on M^6, so the next day I went out and bought the cd. It wasn't bad but it was still a letdown because of my high expectations after listening to M^6.

Now I'm going to start off by saying to me a 2.5 rating means an overall an average cd. Car Bomb is a death metal band that formed in 2006. Car Bomb's self titled debut leaves somthing to be desired. Though it is an average cd I reccomend you check it out, if you like heavy brutal growls and screams you'll surely get something out of this cd. If you're a first time listener than you can expect heavy, brutal music!

What was good about the cd:

The brutal vocals on this cd are awesome, and they are most of the reason this album didn't get a 2 from me. The lyrical content on the album is excellent, they are very deep and dark. All of the instruments go perfect together, though the guitarwork is nothing special, the drumming is great, and is one of the highlights of the album. The drumming is fast and brutal throughout the whole cd. M^6 is by far the best song on the cd, it just seems like everything fits together just right on that track. Now that we are done with that lets talk about the bad things about the album!

What was bad about this album:

The vocals are great, but they sound exactly the same on almost every song. If they would of experimented with his vocals than this could have been alot better. The guitarwork is the same way, its almost exactly the same every track. All the songs pretty much have the same structure, which gets quite annoying after a couple of tracks. The whole first half of the cd is great but after that it gets very boring. You just keep waiting for it to get better or at least change, but it doesn't! If the lyrical content wouldn't of took a huge fall after the first half of the cd this could of been a great album. Another bad thing about this cd is it sounds alot like what alot of other bands have been putting out these days, and its just a bit to generic. This album could use alot of work but overall its still a pretty decent cd.

Overall this cd gets an average rating (2.5) from me, because every song sounds like the last one. This band does have poteintial though, and the vocals alone were good enough for me to buy this cd. If they release another cd I will deffinetly check it out. I reccomend this cd if your just getting it for the vocals and the lyrical content, but if your getting it for the guitarwork this would be a cd you should just skip on.


user ratings (92)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Ian W. (3.5)
A solid, chaotic mathcore outing from Long Island, NY band Car Bomb...


Comments:Add a Comment 
metalhead17
June 5th 2007


234 Comments


This is actually my 2nd review my first one was on metallica master of puppets,but it got rejected because there were already 5 ratings that had a 5 rating on them.So tell me what you think.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2007


2682 Comments


This is more of a sound-off than a full-length. What you have here are good body paragraphs for a full-length, but you need to go into the review a bit more. My suggestion is to try the five-paragraph approach, like this:
Intro/Paragraph 1 (what you have here isn't sufficient... talk briefly about the band, their sound, and possibly the album, and then get into why you feel this is an average CD).
Overall/Paragraph 2 (here, you provide a more in-depth analysis of the album as a whole - talk about the musicians, what a first-time listener can expect when hearing this album, and so on).
Pros/Paragraph 3 (basically, you go into much more detail than what you have... "the lyrical content is excellent" - what are the lyrics like? What makes them excellent to you? "The drumming... is a highlight of the album [sic]" - provide some examples where the drumming is highlighted! This can be just songs, or if one REALLY stands out, then say where in the song).
Cons/Paragraph 4 (same as above, just with cons. What makes the first half better than the second? Why are similar-throughout vocals a detriment to the record? What could be improved on? How could they improve? What would a first-time listener be ready for that isn't so great?)
Conclusion/Paragraph 5 (basically, your last paragraph is fair enough, but be sure to hit on the major points of paragraphs 2-4).
Lastly, put this through a spell/grammar check if you can.
I'll give you a couple days to work out the kinks - let me know if you have any questions, dude. Good luck!

metalhead17
June 6th 2007


234 Comments


Is that good,or do I still need to work on it?

Jom
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2007


2682 Comments


Well, I'll give you credit for improving what you had originally, although I still think it's a bit insufficient, especially in terms of putting this in a grammar/spell check.
I'll put this through because of the improvements you had to your original piece, but you should expect some constructive criticism from others. Maybe they will hit home with you more than I did.

Tyler
Emeritus
June 6th 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The review is just kind of awkward. The opener is a run on sentence, and the second paragraph is a lot of statements that don't really flow. You have to frame your statements a little better, because some things are arbitrary in the review.
Also, if I didn't already know what this sounded like, the review probably wouldn't help me. I agree with the rating though, this is mediocre stuff.

JordanS
June 6th 2007


319 Comments


This album gave me the biggest headache. Really average math metal.

combustion07
July 4th 2007


5362 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

BoringThis Message Edited On 03.19.08

any14doomsday
July 4th 2007


679 Comments


These guys are lame as hell live man, they brought a whole elaborate light set-up to the tiny hole in the wall church they were playing in. And still manged to do nothing interesting, except waste a half hour of my life.

I listened to most of the this cd and its just Mediocre, nothing is good and nothing is bad, truly unmemorable.

blackened07
January 20th 2008


949 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This cd is so boring and annoying.

hykinix
June 1st 2009


187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Apparently I'm going to have to review this. Surprised at the general dislike.

cattmoop
January 28th 2011


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I agree with hykinix
Obviously, you guys don't understand the extreme rhythmic complexity of this whole CD.
If you think this is an 'average' CD, it went right over your head.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2011


6149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is great, although it is quite hard to digest.

Plus these guys make Meshuggah sound "average", although they lack in musicality and replay value with respect to Meshuggah music.

Digging: Raven Throne - ???????? ?????????

cattmoop
January 28th 2011


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Also, you said NOTHING about the drumming, which is the most talented member of this band and the highlight.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2011


6149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah the drummer shreds big time here.

LilLioness
November 3rd 2012


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Why am I not surprised that Sputnik doesn't think much of this band?

DeadGuy
March 16th 2014


396 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cellophane Stiletto rules

Digging: Warning (GER) - Electric Eyes



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy