Linkin Park
Minutes to Midnight


2.0
poor

Review

by Abaddon2005 USER (18 Reviews)
May 15th, 2007 | 506 replies | 46,843 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Old school punk and hip-hop might have looked cool on the blueprints, but as it turns out they were nothing more than half-cocked concepts.

28 of 35 thought this review was well written

When Taproot’s Blue-Sky Research came out in 2005, I remember how guitarist Mike Dewolf stated in a press release how hard they worked on this album, having written over a hundred songs in the writing process. When I got my hands on that album, I was disappointed. The band seemed to have written so much material that any form of inspiration was absent.
When Linkin Park issued a similar statement for their new album, Minutes To Midnight, I was fearing the worst. After hearing the first single, ‘What I’ve Done’, I actually saw a sparkle of hope that the band would land on its feet after all. Vocalist Chester Bennington's singing seemed to have improved, losing its whiney edge that had left its scars on the band's first two discs, while improving and expanding the melodic sensibilities that the band showed on some tracks off of Meteora.

Unfortunately, the band doesn’t even come close to keeping up that level of songwriting throughout the rest of the album. The band has indeed changed its sound as promised, in fact they changed a huge part of their songwriting formula. Where Meteora was characterized by its dense walls of guitars, Mike Shinoda’s rapped verses traded off with Chester Bennington’s faux-angry screaming, none of these play an essential role on Minutes To Midnight. The band’s new sound is characterized by a much softer, ballad-like approach, where the guitars aren’t choking the rest of the instruments, the bass can actually be heard, and DJ Joe Hahn plays a more central role in the songwriting. If there is one thing that connects this album with Meteora though, it’s the fact that the band hasn’t developed as songwriters. Where Meteora was like a sugar rush that was fun for a week or two, Minutes To Midnight feels like something that has a sense of longevity that isn’t really there. The album doesn’t grow on you, and because of the new approach the band has taken to its songwriting the hooks on this album aren’t as solid as they were on Meteora. Perhaps the huge amount of songs written for this album also has something to do with that.

What’s also very much missing from this album are the heavier moments. Surprisingly, the rolling, punk guitars on ‘Given Up’ work well with Chester’s voice, but the song is ruined by its thirteen in a dozen breakdown, with Chester screaming “PUT ME OUT OF MY MISERY!”. The album’s other heavy moment (yes, there are only two) is ‘No More Sorrow’, which is inevitably ruined by the most cliché palm-muted riffing and yet another boring breakdown that show no signs that the band had some sort of creative approach to writing these types of songs.
An unexpected and rare highlight on the album is the song ‘In Between’, which features Mike Shinoda handling lead vocals, who is rarely heard on the rest of the album. Besides being one of the few memorable and catchy songs found here, this is a nice step away from the rest of the songs that are being dominated by Bennington.
If the music is disappointing, at least the band took it to a different place. The lyrical writing shows very little, if any, signs of progress, which might be the band’s own noose. After all, the 14 and 15 year olds that could relate to all the teenage angst on Meteora have now matured, and it’s sad to see Chester Bennington has not.
While Linkin Park took their music in another direction, Minutes To Midnight is essentially a disappointment that shows that LP; A) have put too much effort into it resulting into uninspired songwriting. B) Are just poor songwriters in general. As with a lot of things, the answer probably lies somewhere in the middle.



Recent reviews by this author
John Abercrombie The Third QuartetSearch/Rescue The Compound
Spandau Ballet TrueBest Interest Camera Shy But Still The Star
John 5 The Devil Knows My NameJust Jack Overtones
user ratings (2878)
Chart.
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dragon_Prince
May 15th 2007



272 Comments


Good review, but as someone one told to me, you shouldn't relate a new album to the old ones and make much comparisions. For someone who doesn't know the LP sound this is only saying it's softer thant he older, but if he doesn't know how the old one sounds.

But I don't think I will be buying this.

Abaddon2005
May 15th 2007



684 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, but being that they are one of the biggest bands on the planet, most people are familiar with their sound.

Trivium
May 15th 2007



9 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

My Chemical Romance + shit metalcore + the clash + large bags of poopie = this pathetic attempt at being emo

NO MORE SORRY, TAKE ME OUT OF MY MISERY, IVE GIVEN UP ON MY LIFE

dear god this album is fucking terrible

jrowa001
May 15th 2007



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

good review, terrible album. hybrid theory is still a decent album to listen to every 4 years but this is just crap

gimo80
May 15th 2007



223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Universally panned? Yeah, I mean Rolling Stone only gave it 4/5 and Rock Sound 8/10 etc...

This album, although nothing groundbreaking, is certainly a brave effort for Linkin Park - the production is superb with fantastic songwriting on top, too. I honestly cannot see why people cannot read into the depth of the album - it really shouldn't be compared to their previous albums.

The inevitable thing is though, it undoubtedly will be.

Good review by the way, although I disagree :pThis Message Edited On 05.15.07

SergioBlaze
May 15th 2007



7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review, the album isn't so great

NightHunteR
May 15th 2007



52 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well, this album does have two or three catchy songs in it but overall it's damn mediocre. What are all those generic ballads and where has Mr. Hahn gone? Shinoda should also appear in more of the tracks, this isn't a change of sound but rather a loss of identity. I first liked linkin park because it was a mix of rap, electronica and rock which is what i was listening at the time and - believe it or not - i used to find it pretty original. Now that has just been reduced to the rock part which is nothing more than what those mainstream rock bands popping out of nowhere offer.

Oblivioncry
May 15th 2007



601 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the album tries to much to be like
-decemberunderground (leave out all the rest/in pieces/V.Day)
-futures (the last song and most of the ballad just sound too much like JEW)
-30 Seconds to Mars

it does sound like other bands but not as LP, lose of identity is pretty true to this one, and even if they want to sound diffrent why not use the talent they themself got (Mr.Hahn and Shinoda) instead of sounding like other bands.
but maybe the next album will come soon after this and highly developed, but i think not

Kage
May 15th 2007



1173 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

[QUOTE=gimo80]This album, although nothing groundbreaking, is certainly a brave effort for Linkin Park[/QUOTE]
Since when is it considered "brave" to release a commercially viable album of slick production whose only "growth" is incorporating the latest trends to offput a stale formula, meanwhile gathering press by spouting off about "progressive influences" to catch the attention of the latest Mars Volta and Porcupine Tree hipsters while having nothing to actually back the claim except a few poppy piano themes?

tribestros
May 15th 2007



918 Comments


Dude, what type of weed are you smoking with this review? Minutes to Midnight is a step away from Linkin Park is safe with, nu-metal, and a step in the right direction. I'm pretty sure most people agree with me as well, even Rolling Stone who rips the crap out of every album gave M2M a 4/5. Stick that up your butt.

NightHunteR
May 15th 2007



52 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Fact is my attention was drawn, too, by these "progressive influences" rumours. With Rick Rubin producing an album, everything seemed possible. Too bad it was just rumours.. And i really believed that (musical) maturity may have finally come for this band

tribestros
May 15th 2007



918 Comments


Rick Rubin did LP a great help and he is the reason M2M will be known as the defining LP album.

renegadestrings
May 15th 2007



1435 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sigh, no comment. my roomate is psyched about the album and is buying it today, so i'll reserve judgement for when i rip the music onto my computer.
it's sad to be honest. this CD which more than likely will be average at best, will be a platinum seller whereas LP's superiors the Deftones will probably only reach gold status with their latest and possibly greatest

Slaytan
May 15th 2007



1186 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I go and write my best review to date, and then there's an influx of metal reviews...dammit. Haha. Nice review though, probably won't be checking this out. /votes

plane
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2007



6085 Comments


[quote=trivium]My Chemical Romance + **** metalcore + the clash + large bags of poopie = this pathetic attempt at being emo

NO MORE SORRY, TAKE ME OUT OF MY MISERY, IVE GIVEN UP ON MY LIFE[/quote]
There's so many ways this comment could be funny (username 'Trivium' talking 'shit metalcore,' but you've already proved your distaste for Trivium, so), but I'll just leave it as is and see if you ever realize your idiotic mistake.


oh, and good review. I wasn't planning on getting this.This Message Edited On 05.15.07

south_of_heaven 11
May 15th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Given Up and What I've Done are actually pretty good IMO, but the rest of the album is complete shit.

Altmer
May 15th 2007



5652 Comments


Haven't heard this. Hopefully won't anytime in the near future.

ASberg
May 15th 2007



2161 Comments


I just have to say that saying that rolling stone magazine gave it a 4/5 doesn't mean shit does it?

I only heard like two songs and i can't stand no more...

ZFighter142
May 15th 2007



205 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

some songs are catchy but this album is to basic, and simple. what ive done, gets a bit old after awhile, given up is a good song, and so is no more sorrow.

Clunge
May 15th 2007



32 Comments


The only song on this album I'd give another spin to is No More Sorrow.

The rest is just utterly abysmal.

Infact, I'd probably rate this as the worst album I have ever heard in my entire life. They're not a bad band, they're just terrible songwriters and are useless at arranging their music.

The lack of heaviness is another downer as well, one thing that Linkin Park have done consistently is to produce some pretty cool riffs but there's two at most on this album that are remotely comparable with songs on HT and M.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy