Pg. 99
Document #8


4.5
superb

Review

by Ryan Flatley EMERITUS
March 4th, 2007 | 829 replies | 46,507 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Document #8 is a gem in the punk rock catalog from a band that is perhaps one of the most important bands within the genre.

Punk rock should mean freedom. Liking and accepting anything that you like. Playing whatever you want, as sloppy as you want. As long as it’s good and it has passion.

This quote begins "In Love with an Apparation," and quite frankly, is Pg. 99's motto. Here is a band that enjoyed each other company and just happened to write really awesome music. While they did eventually disband, for the time they wrote Document #8 they were as complete a band as anyone could ask for. There were no flashy solos or flaunting of individual skill presented throughout this album. It was all done together as they were brothers to one another. During the song “The Hollowed Out Chest Of A Dead Horse” they create a multifaceted sound that begins with a screeching guitar riff that builds up to a beautiful ending with intertwining guitar riffs.

Pg. 99 produced a work of art that was sloppy, passionate, beautiful, dark, and fun. Document #8 contains nine tracks packed with overwhelming emotion of enjoyment for what they do. While a band such as Circle Takes the Square may have created one of the most emotional pieces of work in As The Roots Undo, I highly believe they could not have accomplished such beauty without Pg. 99’s influence. The more I listen to Document #8 I realize how important it is really is. While I still consider As The Roots Undo a classic in its own regard, Document #8 eclipses Circle Takes The Square’s release. I feel Pg. 99 does everything Circle Takes the Square does wrong, right. They move on with various themes throughout the record. Intros are never dragged out nor are track lengths ever too long for their own good.

While the sound may be rough at first to listen to, it soon dissipates once you adapt to how raw their recordings are. With the abundance of overproduced records, it makes it increasingly hard to find a record that sounds so natural like this Document #8. The vocals can be coarse, the bass may sound muddy, but it is all just apart of the different experiences within the album. The chaotic adventure in “Ballad Of Circling Vultures” provides a stark and gloomy feeling. The anthems presented in “In Love With an Apparition,” “Your Face is a Rape Scene,” and their cover of Filth's “The List” that provokes the sincerest amount of disorder and excitement. Whether it is the giddy clapping bridge in “In Love With an Apparition” that leads to hectic screaming and musicianship. While “Your Face is a Rape Scene” deals with intricate guitar and bass work and a bleak ambience that is felt during the middle of the song as it slowly crescendos mayhem. Finally, their cover of “The List,” which is certainly an interesting, yet Pg. 99 way of ending a major release. Individually they are all building blocks to the centerpiece known as Document #8, as they should be. Finally, they all have the most important element that makes Pg. 99 unique. Their ridiculous amount of passion and emotion. They are true to themselves lyrically, with amazingly emotional lyrics that pours from the soul.

we are the people that disagree with you.without us you will never change

Overall, I am left here sitting with an overwhelming feeling of disappointed. The reason?…well….I just wish I found Pg. 99 sooner.



Recent reviews by this author
Glassjaw Coloring BookNo Age Everything In Between
United Nations Nevermind the Bombings, Here's Your Six FiguresFar At Night We Live
Nas & Damian Marley Distant RelativesLCD Soundsystem This Is Happening
user ratings (624)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dulcinea
March 4th 2007



181 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is it really necessary to bold the band's name every time you use it.

trustxdialect
March 4th 2007



1502 Comments


Very well-written. Might check this out.


Damn, you're quick.This Message Edited On 03.04.07

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
March 4th 2007



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey listen, it doesn't come up as it did in word on here. I tried to fix it before someone brought it up.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have a vague feeling you missed the mark with this review.
Great album, and by far Pg 99's best

Dulcinea
March 4th 2007



181 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah much better. Great review, great album.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still think you should somehow mark Document #8 being the album but whatever.

Intransit
March 4th 2007



2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album is okay, but I don't find it all that excellent as most people do. It is pretty great though, and highly influential.

Pretty good review, but I think you could have explained more about how the album sounds, as opposed to providing multiple paragraphs about how influential the album is, and only two paragraphs about the actual sound.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
March 4th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You talk a lot about what they meant or did but don't really explain how they did it. The actual musical details are pretty barren here.

pixiesfanyo
March 5th 2007



1222 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The review is basically just a bunch of comparisons.

I don't like it.

Plus my review is better.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
March 5th 2007



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I felt that it's classic in my book because of what it did for me and I felt they were influential because of this release specifically. Sorry I didn't make it clearer in the review.

DFelon - sorry I wanted to try something different by not dwelling on every musical section of the album.

Pixies - I compare people because I felt that is what they did differently to make them who they are. And it's not a "bunch of comparisions." Audioslave and CTTS. Also, fix your better review with the question marks that plague it.

I appreciate most of the feedback given. I've been fixing it. This Message Edited On 03.04.07

trustxdialect
March 5th 2007



1502 Comments


Whatever.This Message Edited On 03.04.07

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
March 5th 2007



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Woah, that wasn't meant as a lame shot. I've been fixing the reviews on this site and reviews look bad when it has those coding errors. Don't take the post before as a harsh post towards either of them, because they aren't.This Message Edited On 03.04.07

Intransit
March 5th 2007



2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So I'm relistening to this with headphones and it's definitely better than before. I expect my rating to go up, at least half a point, but we'll see.

EDIT: DAMN YOU RYAN I JUST JUSTIFIED THAT JEESUSThis Message Edited On 03.04.07

Neoteric
March 5th 2007



3243 Comments


I don't see why pixiesfanyo thinks that, the comparisons give me a good idea of the sound I thought when I read it. Great review, I really enjoyed reading it. I used to have this on my computer but I must have deleted it.

paperslut
March 5th 2007



54 Comments


Good review. Will probably give them a listen sooner or later.

Jack Wilson
March 10th 2007



313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i just downloaded this today. im gonna check it out tonight. btw, are the two extra tracks on a split with ctts? because their considered a different document by most users on slsk, but i dont know.

TheMisterBungle
March 11th 2007



861 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They are from Document #9, a split with City Of Caterpillar.
Sometimes it's called "A Split Personality."
You can download the whole thing here:
http://www.level-plane.com/php/release.php?release_id=14This Message Edited On 03.11.07

Jack Wilson
March 11th 2007



313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ok, thanks. ive got them i was just wondering. im really picky with my track tags.

Justanothernimrod
May 17th 2007



478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

'in Love with an Apparation' is probably one of my favourite tracks of all time, AND YET STILL I haven't heard this record.

Mirror.Circuit
August 29th 2007



223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a highly influential album,but I don't think that automatically makes it a great record.
Still very,very good though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy