Submersed
In Due Time


3.5
great

Review

by Acey USER (43 Reviews)
January 31st, 2007 | 26 replies | 4,586 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It is mainstream, but still very good. Not too many major flaws with this, as it is relatively unknown.

2 of 8 thought this review was well written

Submersed, is a fairly unknown rock band from Stephenville, TX, that has gotten little mainstream success throughout their career. They have only released one CD. They do a good job of mixing up the guitar, bass and drum parts. They sound similar to Alice In Chains, Trapt, Creed, Drowning Pool and Atmonship. I just happened to be looking at the CD rack in Best Buy and noticed this. I thought this would be a great album. I wasn’t disappointed one bit. The only thing that kept this from being perfect is that the songs start toward to drag near the end of the album.

The Good:
First, Eric Friedman can flat out sing. He can prove that he can hit the high notes. He sings on key throughout the whole CD and doesn’t disappoint one single bit. Songs like To Peace and Hollow show this. TJ Davis proves to us that he has the ability to actually use the guitar and maneuver around the bass lines. He does a good job mixing it up throughout the course of the CD. A good example of this is You Run. It has great solo, and the background is just perfect for it. There are a few songs where he plays the acoustic guitar. The bass and drums add a lot to this, as both are complex. The drums are especially one of the bright spots in the album. Some examples are Divide the Hate and Unconcerned

The Bad:
Songs start to drag out toward the end. The bass is a bit hugging, as there is audible bass (Linkin Park, cough cough…….), it just doesn’t move around a whole bit. The guitar starts to use the same chords as the album moves along. One more thing, while the singer has an amazing singing and screaming voice, it also starts to die down toward the end of the album. It is just mainly the lack of consistency throughout the CD. They will make a great song, then a not so great song. Luckily there are more great songs on this CD than not.

Overall:
This is a great CD, while most people just like to throw off mainstream rock just because their music is too boring and bland, I would advise them to actually listen to the CD before judging on it. This is one of those CD’s. There is some talent here, but it is flashy, but still good enough to make it great. A good listen for anybody.

Recommended Songs:
Hollow
In Due Time
You Run
Divide The Hate



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth WatershedBreaking Benjamin Saturate
Stone Sour Stone SourTool Lateralus
Bullet for My Valentine The PoisonBreaking Benjamin Phobia
user ratings (74)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
zuzek (3.5)
Whenever a promising band goes downhill faster than it ever could have imagined, there is that debut...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Oddsen
January 31st 2007



1127 Comments


ok review.

Nostradamus
January 31st 2007



80 Comments


this type of review structure is limiting and disrupts any type of flow that a review should have


trustxdialect
January 31st 2007



1502 Comments


They sound similar to Alice In Chains, Trapt, Creed, Drowning Pool and Atmonship.


You don't describe the album much beyond that, and that alone kills any credibility this album (or your review) has.

Try to stay away from adjectives like "good" and "great," like when you're describing "You Run." Great solo and background? I don't know what that means.This Message Edited On 01.31.07

The Door Mouse
January 31st 2007



2092 Comments


Yeah and your intro was extremely redundant. I know you've heard this 1 billion and 1 times but you need to step it up. Your paragraphs are short and lack substance. Some sentences are short choppy and not flowing. And then some sentences are too long and run-on. Read it aloud when your done before you submit it. If you think that even 1 sentence is iffy than change it. Its just that you have 42 reviews and you write like its your 3rd. Take this advice into account and hopefully 43rd times a charm. This Message Edited On 01.31.07

trustxdialect
January 31st 2007



1502 Comments


^I believe he's referring to

I wasn’t disappointed one bit. The only thing that kept this from being perfect is that the songs start toward to drag near the end of the album.


The Door Mouse
January 31st 2007



2092 Comments


One of many examples.

ToWhatEnd
January 31st 2007



3172 Comments


I don't mean this to be insulting just a question, how much time on average do you spend with your reviews?

metallicaman8
February 1st 2007



4677 Comments


Sloppy sentence structure, bad grammar, not very informative boring read. I'd go more in depth with my analysis, but I like many others have tried to help you before and it never does anything.

Ephex
February 8th 2007



730 Comments


I like many others have tried to help you before and it never does anything.


That.


Acey
February 8th 2007



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you logged on just to say 'That"? that is pretty sad. i just did this review because there was no review for this.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2007



17920 Comments


That doesn't excuse the crappy job you did.

Acey
February 8th 2007



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

who said it did? i sure as hell didnt

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2007



17920 Comments


I really don't understand your logic. Why would you submit a review like this just because no one had reviewed the album yet?

Acey
February 8th 2007



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

maybe somebody is trying to find a quick review of this album. i know it isnt perfect, but it is at least a start

The Door Mouse
February 8th 2007



2092 Comments


I really don't understand your logic. Why would you submit a review like this just because no one had reviewed the album yet?

Right.
It's great that you want to review something that hasn't been reviewed but that should be another reason to make it really good.

Acey
February 8th 2007



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

true, but that day i was in a hurry to get to work. oh well
conversation overThis Message Edited On 02.08.07

Ephex
February 11th 2007



730 Comments


you logged on just to say 'That"? that is pretty sad.


No... I logged on to rate some albums, submit a journal, submit a soundoff and along the way I just happened to stumble onto this awful thing.

You have written over 40 reviews and I have read better first reviews than this. Also you're 19 years old, you should at least be able to decently describe an album at your age, especially due to the fact that you have attempted it 42 times now.

The Door Mouse
February 19th 2007



2092 Comments


Here's some specifics. Anytime you see yourself typeing 'great' or 'awesome' in your reviews, than read it over and see who descriptive it is.
A random example: 'The solo is great and awsome'.
That could be: 'The shredding solo can easily give someone massives goosebumps as there is fast picking and incredible bending and hammer-ons/pull-offs.'

Ephex
April 9th 2007



730 Comments


^ Your description gave me massive goosebumps as there is definate logic behind it.

chckn440
April 16th 2007



15 Comments


incredible review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy