Breaking Benjamin
Saturate


3.5
great

Review

by Acey USER (43 Reviews)
December 31st, 2006 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Still good, creative enough to keep you coming back for more. There is better, but still worthwile and up there with most successful bands.

The year is 2001. The band is Breaking Benjamin. Having two guys leaving a band (Lifer) that was starting to have some mainstream success, and then joining Breaking Benjamin turned out to be good, as Breaking Benjamin has evolved since releasing this as their debut album.

The riffs are good on this album, and the first song shows some promise to set up the album. It may not be mind blowing, but still a good job done by Aaron Fink on guitar. The sound of the guitar is similar throughout the album, but having the dual guitar played by Ben Burnley (who is also the singer) also helps a lot, as it adds more harmony to the album, and gets stuff accomplished with two guitars that you couldn’t normally get done with a single guitar. Examples of this are Sugarcoat and No Games.

The bass is done well, and Mark James makes it very audible, as throughout the whole album I can hear is deep, chunky riffs, driving the songs along. He is a crucial part to the sound of the album, mainly because the dual guitars are so loud, and he can cover some ground, making for a good mix of guitar and bass.

Drums appear to be the only issue with this album for me, as he starts to bore me by the end of the third song (and there are 12). He (formerly Jeremy Hummel) is now not in Breaking Benjamin. Jeremy does some decent work, mixing it up a bit, but it still comes down to the same drum patterns with a few twists and turns, but still not smoking the cigar, if you catch my drift. Ben does some good vocal work, having the good mix of screaming and singing. There is not too much of one or the other, as I can get through the album with a good balance of both. He does a decent job playing the rhythm guitar, just adding to the music.

As many of you may think, it is that Breaking Benjamin can be unoriginal in lyrical and musical structure. I can prove you wrong, and show you that they have some creativity. It is nowhere as good or imaginative as System of a Down for that matter, but still takes a gut or two to do it. The song Home, a bit different lyrically from the album, as it is basically telling the story of The Wizard of Oz. Personally, I don’t think SOAD could pull that off. It was done very well, and I listened to this and then watched the movie. It was pretty cool how it sounded.

Musically, listen to the song No Games as it keeps modulating keys. The intro is odd, and the clean guitar is different from the rest of the album, but it stands out from the rest of the album. Both of these ways of being creative on the CD save it from being a pretty boring CD.

The band shows some Tool influences, along with Nirvana. The bass and guitar are Tool-esque, and Ben and Jeremy with the vocals and drums, respectively, can do a pretty decent Nirvana sound. Some good songs with both influences are Phase,Water and Natural Life. Although most of the album shows bits and pieces of both bands.

Overall, I would recommend you to listen to this album. It is different than most mainstream music, as it possibly stands out above the rest. There is a good enough mix up of the songs to make me listen for more. A good listen for anybody.

Recommended songs:
I Wish I May
Home
Phase
Sugarcoat
Shallow Bay



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth WatershedSubmersed In Due Time
Stone Sour Stone SourTool Lateralus
Bullet for My Valentine The PoisonBreaking Benjamin Phobia
user ratings (808)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Acey
December 31st 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thought i would do another one.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 31st 2006


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

same old stuff acey

your writing is just subpar in a lot of ways

Acey
December 31st 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

do you ever have anything positive to say? about anything, i notice, that when i write a good review you dont respond, but when i write a supposedly bad review, you have all the time in the world to just nag about everything.

Acey
December 31st 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

read my __stone sour - stone sour__ review, and tell me if you think it is bad. you never responded to that, after you told me to step it upThis Message Edited On 12.31.06

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 31st 2006


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Stop your whining. Every time you write a fucking bad review, I try to help you. And you never listen. And then you write another bad review that looks just like the goddamn one before it, and I say the same thing I've always said and you bitch and complain about it. So why don't you actually listen to the advice I've given you on previous reviews or just go away.

Acey
December 31st 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i've tried to use your damn advice, and when i do, you still bitch about it. I tried to describe more than what i usually do about the whole ****ing album, and you stiil find a way to make me feel bad about how i write my reviews. if i have to write a TBT to make a good review, than so be it.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 31st 2006


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Dude you're like 19 years old. Grow up. You don't have to "feel bad" about the way you write your reviews. Just take the advice that people give you. And yeah it's cool that you're trying but it's not really showing at all. Don't start complaining that I'm pointing out that you wrote a bad review. You've written 41 reviews. Usually by then people are writing differently than they were 20 reviews ago.

Acey
December 31st 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok. i will try to take my writing to the next level, i'm just not good with taking what is in my brain, and actually spelling it out on paper. you know what i mean?
on the other hand. this album does show a lot of tool influence.

Two-Headed Boy
December 31st 2006


4527 Comments


....Hep Kat's back? :confused:

Cool.

MrKite
December 31st 2006


5020 Comments


Hep Kat gave some good advice. I'd give an example using myself but I don't have a personality.

Ephex
January 1st 2007


730 Comments


Stop your whining. Every time you write a fucking bad review, I try to help you. And you never listen. And then you write another bad review that looks just like the goddamn one before it, and I say the same thing I've always said and you bitch and complain about it. So why don't you actually listen to the advice I've given you on previous reviews or just go away.


I'm sorry but chan is right there

read my __stone sour - stone sour__ review, and tell me if you think it is bad. you never responded to that, after you told me to step it up


It wasn't really any better than this.

My advice is just to stop starting a review with band history and try to make an interesting introduction, don't say things like "the riffs are good on this album" because it doesn't tell us anything really, I mean Sonic Youth make good riffs and then Trivium (however much i hate them) make good riffs. You have to actually try to describe it as if you're explaining to someone who has never even heard of Breaking Bob The Builder of what-ever-they-are-called.

Neoteric
January 1st 2007


3243 Comments


You're 19? I thought you were 13 :lol:

I don't think anything needs to be added to the criticism.

JumpTheF**kUp
January 1st 2007


2710 Comments


^^ So true.
Dude 41 reviews? And this is your best? Even my reviews are better than this :/.

Ephex
January 1st 2007


730 Comments


Even my reviews are better than this


thats an understatement

Ephex
January 1st 2007


730 Comments


Just look back over all your reviews and read the advice that people give you and actually try to use it in your reviews. Also read reviews of good reviewers such as mynameischan, JXD and Neoteric and get ideas from them.

Oddsen
January 1st 2007


1127 Comments


Hep Kat!

MrKite
January 1st 2007


5020 Comments


Also read reviews of good reviewers such as mynameischan, JXD, Neoteric, and MrKite and get ideas from them.

Good advice, right there.^
But seriously it is.

Ephex
January 1st 2007


730 Comments


slight alteration of the quote there

Ephex
January 1st 2007


730 Comments


But yeah, MrKite has some decent reviews as well which would help... i guess

Jom
Staff Reviewer
January 1st 2007


2676 Comments


This is my interpretation of this review alone, but if this applies to your other reviews, then by all means, apply this interpretation to them:
I don't think you really reviewed this album. Sure, you talked about it, but in a very general, conversation-like manner. It appears to do research about the band; for example, you discuss the former drummer and his tendencies on the album, but you don't really dive into WHAT he does. Instead, you write an extremely lazy passage like this:

Jeremy does some decent work, mixing it up a bit, but it still comes down to the same drum patterns with a few twists and turns, but still not smoking the cigar, if you catch my drift.

Okay, so he mixes it up (how?), but plays the same drum patterns (which are?), with a few twists and turns (which are?). But apparently he's 'not smoking the cigar,' and no, I don't catch your drift. What the hell does that mean? I've never seen this anywhere ever.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy