Fall Out Boy
From Under the Cork Tree


1.5
very poor

Review

by Ed Watson USER (26 Reviews)
December 22nd, 2006 | 49 replies | 5,785 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bland, uninspired, repetetive and not as smart as it thinks it is, while it may be perfect for radio this should not have made Fall Out Boy Huge.

13 of 19 thought this review was well written

I bought From Under the Cork Tree on a whim, before I'd even heard of Fall Out Boy, due to what I reckon is still one of the greatest song titles ever, Our Lawyer Made us Change the Name of This Song So We Wouldn't Get Sued. As soon a I got home however, I realised it was an ever so slight waste of money, and about half way in I relegated it to the shelf to gather dust. Imagine my surprise then, when a short while I see Fall Out Boy on magazine covers all over the place and Sugar We're Going Down all over MTV. Just what exactly got them so big?

Lets start with the good things. The song names are witty and pretty clever (Champange for my Real Friends, Real Pain for my Sham Friends). Some of the chorus melodies are quite catchy, and there are some vaugely interesting guitar parts.

Now onto the bad. As with so much in the music scene right now, Fall out Boy seem content to play it perfectly safe, and as a result there is nothing remarkable about the album. The singles are obvious radio fare, and the fillers (which constitutes just about everything else) are bland and unimpressive. There are no moments in the album which really make the listener sit up and take notice.

This might be forgivable if the band had presence, but this is sadly lacking on record and as their Carling festival performance proved this year is also lacking on stage. There is a reason why no one knows who Patrick Stump is and it's this. Despite being a great singer, he just cant front a band. His voice is bland and identikit. Sure he can hit all the notes, but i'd much rather listen to Tim Armstrong go out of key than Stump hit every note without an ounce of charisma. None of the rest of the band really stand out either, apart from Paul Weitz's truly appaling attempts at screming towards the end of the album.

And as it is with the band, so it is with the songs. Every single one, without fail, is a power chord led essay in radio friendly background music. The harmonies are the same pretty much throughout, and the melodies are uninventive and unoriginal, and even sometimes repeated within the album itself. Just listen to My Chemical Romance's Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge and Panic at the Disco to see how little inspiration there is. Also, The songs lack passion and point. When they aren't singing about themselvs and how bad they are, they are singing about sex, and there is little you can really get pumped up about here.

Lyrics too are a problem. Sugar We're Going Down is a perfect example of this, with 'loaded god complex. cock it and pull it,' really not as clever as Weitz and co probably think it is. Also, in the intro track, great title aside, its hard not to take their sarcastic adivise to 'put this record down.' They may be joking, but i feel the joke is probably on those of us who paid money for this. And when they do seem to try and take something seriously, it's just cliched and they repeat it within the song even, with 'this has been said so many times before, that i'm not even sure if it matters.'

So, if someone give me a reason why Fall out Boy made it big other than they provide bland, unchallenging music perfect for radio airplay and grumpy teenagers, i'll be surprised, because there is almost nothing of note on this CD other than the names on the back cover.



Recent reviews by this author
Hexes White Noise/Black SoundBloc Party A Weekend in the City
Muse Black Holes and RevelationsIron Maiden Powerslave
Stone Sour Come What(ever) MayIron Maiden Fear of the Dark
user ratings (1908)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album

Comments:Add a Comment 
Eliminator
December 22nd 2006



2067 Comments


It's well written, but you're obviously wrong.

northerncomfort
December 22nd 2006



106 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Not looking for an argument here, but please, continue.

Eliminator
December 22nd 2006



2067 Comments


Imagine, if you can, the excitement that was caused by the birth of Paul Bunyan!

It took five giant storks, working overtime, to deliver him to his parents.

He cut his teeth on a peavy pole and grew so fast the after one week he had to wear his father's clothes. His lungs were so strong that he could empty a whole pond of frogs with one "holler".

Otisbum
December 22nd 2006



1912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, but I really disagree with the rating.

It just doesn't seem as bland as you make it out to be.This Message Edited On 12.22.06

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 22nd 2006



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's well written, but you're obviously wrong.


trustxdialect
December 22nd 2006



1502 Comments


They may have dropped a couple degrees in my eyes with the release of their new single (utter shit that makes my ears bleed with the sheer idiocracy of it all), but this review is completely off the mark. Fall Out Boy may not be for everyone, sure, but they have talent to spare, and this has to be noted on. If you've heard their sophomore album (let's disregard "Evening Out With Your Girlfriend), you'd realize that this is quite a mature step, and even if "Sugar We're Going Down" is radio trash, you can't deny that the band obviously knows where they stand in the world and the nods-and-winks throughout the album have obviously been mistaken for self-admiration. And really? Comparisons to My Chemical Romance? And Panic! at the Disco came after this album, so any indication that they're unoriginal because of P!ATD is unfair.

They deserved to be big, but not for the produced stuff they are. "Sugar We're Going Down", "Dance, Dance", and "A Little Less Sixteen Candles, A Little More Touch Me" are all radio fare, but the great songs ("Of All The Gin Joints In The World", "Champagne For My Real Friends, Real Pain For My Sham Friends") all show more talent and charisma than the debate-inducing "Sugar We're Going Down".

Zesty Mordant
December 22nd 2006



1196 Comments


when i saw the rating i was worried that this was gonna be a cookie-cutter anti-establishment rant about arguably a cookie-cutter album (since thats the case with most people who usually rate this album as such)
however, its actually very well-written and concise. good work

northerncomfort
December 22nd 2006



106 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Cheers. If people rant against the establishment they paint all the music that can be classified with fall out boy with the same brush, which means they're not going to listen to it with open minds. Open mindedness is important.

godLike
December 22nd 2006



126 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nice work, but it isn't that bad.

iarescientists
December 22nd 2006



5863 Comments


when i saw the rating i was worried that this was gonna be a cookie-cutter anti-establishment rant about arguably a cookie-cutter album (since thats the case with most people who usually rate this album as such)

however, its actually very well-written and concise. good work



Angmar
December 22nd 2006



2689 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Dude i completely agree with you and great review too. This also needed a more negative review.This Message Edited On 12.22.06

northerncomfort
December 22nd 2006



106 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Thankyou very much for comments et al.

northerncomfort
December 22nd 2006



106 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Oh yes, and the My Chemical Romance CD I referred to was released prior to this album. I'll concede on the Panic at the Disco one.

musicman
December 22nd 2006



15 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nice well-written review, but I am going to have to disagree with you on your rating.

When I listen to pop music, I like listening to songs that have catchy hooks. That is a big plus for Fall Out Boy because they are very catchy. Also, the songs on the record don't all sound the same. Some pop records have the single and then a bunch of failing tracks. In my opinion, all of the songs on the album are catchy and different from each other. This album doesn't necessarily have musical virtuosity, but it is not a "very poor" album.

ironman4444
December 22nd 2006



276 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Some one actuly gave this a low rated reveiw. Good job.


Eliminator
December 22nd 2006



2067 Comments


There are around 145 ratings under a 2.5

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 22nd 2006



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's like 75 people that haven't actually heard the album.

andy0
December 23rd 2006



118 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

there songs may be catchy but face it fall out boy are the worst band in history

andy0
December 23rd 2006



118 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

there songs may be catchy but face it fall out boy are the worst band in history

slep
December 23rd 2006



1604 Comments


^ That made absolutly no sense at all.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy