Tool
Lateralus


4.5
superb

Review

by Acey USER (43 Reviews)
December 1st, 2006 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


This is somewhat of a rewrite, so bear with me. Tool released 2 albums between a five year period that were considered by many the best 1-2 punch from any band. These two classics were Aenima and Lateralus. Lateralus is the CD I am reviewing, and this isn’t a short CD, as none of Tool’s CD’s are. This is about 4 seconds away from actually using up all of the disc space, but some people say that the disc doesn’t need to be long to be good (example: any of Sum 41’s albums), this CD proves that it can fill the disc space and still be a very dam good album.

Tool – Lateralus (2001)

Tool is:
Maynard James Keenan: Vocals
Adam Jones: Guitar
Justin Chancellor: Bass
Danny Carey: Drums

While each of Tool’s albums are good, each album in its own has a kind of feeling that separates it from the others. You noticed that [u]Undertow[/b] was more of a straight out hard rock album, and that Aenima was more melodic and dark. The trend continues with this album, as it tends to lean toward the progressive and technical mechanics of music. While it isn’t as progressive as The Mars Volta or King Crimson, it can still make a stand saying it can be a defining album in the progressive genre.

There are many good things about this album, the first I would like to start off with is Danny Carey’s drumming. He may not be as fast as most drummers, but can sure stand on his own, being the defining part of Tool’s rhythm section. Maynard does his exceptional singing, and great screaming throughout the album, when it happens. Ticks and Leeches is the song off the album that highlights Maynard’s voice, and kind of defines the overall album’s sound, as it progresses through each aspect of the album. Justin Chancellor proves again that he is a very talented bassist, and one of the more defining bassists in the rock music industry. This whole album is filled with intelligent bass lines, with the catchy and most soothing being on the song Schism.The guitar is very technical throughout the album, hence the CD being progressive. There isn’t much bad to say about it, but there is nothing brilliant about it also. It is rather just necessary that they have him, though.

If there was a bad thing to say about this album, it would be minimal. The only thing that harms this album to me, is the filler. Yes, it does define Tool from other bands, but sometimes too much filler can kind of drag the album along (i.e.Mantra, I don’t see what the point of that was). Also, there are one or two songs that aren’t good, or just don’t bring out the rocking sound that the rest of this album had. Yet it doesn’t hinder the overall sound of the album, because they rebound with such good songs, while keeping the overall sound of the album in tact.

All in all, I thought this was a brilliant album by Tool, and should be owned by all. It will give you a whole different view on music.

Recommended songs:
Schism
Parabol
Parabola
Ticks and Leeches
Disposition
Reflection
Triad



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth WatershedSubmersed In Due Time
Breaking Benjamin SaturateStone Sour Stone Sour
Bullet for My Valentine The PoisonBreaking Benjamin Phobia
user ratings (5057)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Acey
December 1st 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

feel free to flame, make comments or suggestions

TheMisterBungle
December 1st 2006


861 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The "fillers" are just there for when you listen to the album as whole, to give it a better experience.

Acey
December 1st 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

true, you could do it that way, this is if they are listening to the album as a whole. if you were going to recommend songs off of this album, i would not recommend the fillers, unless they add to the song itself

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2006


15743 Comments


Unnecessary and kind of short, I don't understand the album at all from this. You've done tons better.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Acey
December 1st 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i am just experimenting with previous reviews i have written to find a good nag for writing reviews, so that is why you see all of these reviews i have written come up again, sorry for the inconveinence

The Door Mouse
December 1st 2006


2092 Comments


The review was better than usual. THough TMV and KC are prog but TOol is what we call prog metal. Also don't recommend more than half of the songs.

Acey
December 1st 2006


2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

true to all those points zepdude, im just working at it.

Rocksta71
December 1st 2006


1023 Comments


I never could get into tool.

The Jungler
December 1st 2006


4827 Comments


The review was just allright, parts of it were well written, but the flow was kind of iffy.

metallicaman8
December 1st 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I didn't really like this review at all. 'Dam' is spelt Damn btw. Might want to change that in your intro. The way you have it spelt is like beaver dam.

metallicaman8
December 1st 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Alright, I read this over again and decided it just doesn't cut it. You used the word define too much and it didn't really fit anyways. You screwed up the underlining on Undertow. About 15% of the sentences make no sence, about 40% make are difficult to understand and about 70% have poor structure. Your descriptions were lacking. You ghave me no real idea of the overall sound, except that it was "progressive". You didn't really talk enough about individual songs. Like you said that there were two tracks that weren't good, but you didn't say which ones. I don't even know what the hell you mean by "they rebound with such good songs". Last, but not least you pointed out the obvious too much. Like in what could lightly be called your conclusion. "I thought this was a brilliant album by Tool". You don't have to say by Tool. It says on the main page it's by Tool and several times before that in the review that it's by Tool. The reader already knows this is an album by Tool, you don't have to keep restating it. I don't know if that bugged everyone or just me, but it made your writing seem kind of juvenile to me. Work on all those things.

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
December 1st 2006


2806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah all the points you made were just kind of wrong.

Pretty bad review. You never really defended why you gave it a 4.5, this is way too short. You need more detail, more specifics, and have it make some more sense. Know what words you are using.

metallicaman8
December 1st 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Know what words you are using.


That needs to be said again for emphasis.

Pebster49
December 1st 2006


2993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ummm...you need to give more detail on why such and such is good, or bad. We need evidence Good Try, I do agree with you overall about that album

Lunarfall
December 1st 2006


3179 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Mediocre review, boring band. (But I do like Ticks and Leeches.)

EinzingerIsGod
December 2nd 2006


4 Comments


I think this review needs a serious overhaul.

Angmar
December 2nd 2006


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If I recall u already reviewed this and it wasnt half bad whyd u do it again and make it less quality???

godLike
December 2nd 2006


126 Comments


There are only two paragraphs describing the sound and on top of that with less detail. As bad as your The Poison review.

Neoteric
December 2nd 2006


3243 Comments


You should rewrite this again and get someone to proofread and help you with it. I wouldn't mind doing it but I sugar-coat opinions way too much so try The Writer's Block in the Sputnik Community forum for some help. The length isn't the problem, it's what you say. If you want to make your reviews this short then keep your details to a minimum as in, just describe the album, the flow and what you like and dislike about it. Don't get too caught up in describing the tracks.

And I have a sound-off to this with my opinion. I don't see how this is a 5 as it's too boring and pretentious.

JumpTheF**kUp
January 10th 2007


2710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lateralus is the CD I am reviewing
You really don't need to include information like that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy