Fugazi
Repeater


3.0
good

Review

by Jared W. Dillon USER (118 Reviews)
November 30th, 2006 | 329 replies | 32,318 views


Release Date: 1990 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Fugazi's weakest release, but still a great example of their early sound.

2 of 3 thought this review was well written

"Maybe it was time to smash things up"

"Repeater" is,when compared to the record that came before it (13 Songs),a more aggressive outing. Fugazi was building more on their punk sound than their dub sound, and while the change isn't extreme, it is certainly noticeable. "Repeater" is Fugazi's second outing and while the band certainly made quite the impression with "13 Songs", lots of critics will tell you "Repeater" is the finest of the early Fugazi work. In my personal opinion, I think it is perhaps as an album the weakest Fugazi release because of the unchanging sound of it. Where "13 Songs" was able to switch between aggressive and passive hardcore songs, "Repeater" seems to be the most plainly aggressive Fugazi album. Sonically, they are sticking to textbook examples on how to be aggressive and it just sounds dull when compared to their future "revolutionary" sound

I've certainly already painted "Repeater" in a negative light, which isn't necessarily fair. This album is much better than half of the hardcore albums I've heard, and it certainly has its highlights. "Blueprint" certainly sticks out as a great blend of traditional Picciotto vocals, and a throbbing instrumental attack. "Two Beats Off" is a palm-muted ballad, with Picciotto crooning like a sick Iggy Pop. "Styrofoam", a classic example of Ian MacKaye's impeccable ability to put passion behind any line, even if it is, "We release our poisons like Styrofoam". The best song on the album is in my opinion the closer "Shut the Door" which is a highly repetitive, but extremely hypnotic MacKaye track that is probably a Fugazi staple due to its appearance in the DVD "Instrument". The production on "Repeater" is probably also the worst in their career, with Canty's drums sounding way too compressed and the how album just sonically sounding very dated.

Like all Fugazi release, "Repeater" is extremely enjoyable and, had the band not gone on to have a career that lasted another ten years, it would certainly be an impressive album. But, because of Fugazi's advancement over their long lasting career, "Repeater" just seems like a shoddy impression of what is to come.



Recent reviews by this author
Pygmy Lush Old FriendsPharoahe Monch W.A.R.
My Disco Little JoyBlack Milk Album Of The Year
Sun Kil Moon Admiral Fell PromisesFlying Lotus Cosmogramma
user ratings (851)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
gaber01 (3.5)
Maybe it’s a mediocre Fugazi album, but that’s still a great album regardless....

Fort23 (4)
On Repeater, Fugazi embraced the socially conscious and non socially conscious aspects of their lyri...


Comments:Add a Comment 
_Mote_
December 1st 2006



33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Repeater > 13 Songs.

Repeater is my second favorite Fugazi record, and I think it's great. Red Medicine gets first place for me though.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
December 1st 2006



2125 Comments


Good review, I pretty much agree. In On the Kill Taker is my favourite Fugazi release.

f_u_c_t
December 1st 2006



1406 Comments


its great to hear someone talk highly on In On the Kill Taker for once. But personally "Steady Diet Of Nothing" will have to be my favorite - out of the Fugazi's I own so far.
Anyways, I don't own Repeater yet, but its next in line.

nirvana1989_nb
December 1st 2006



98 Comments


This is my second fav. Fugazi album. Ian Mackaye is great.


BringHomeTheBacon
December 1st 2006



248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I pretty much agree. The first 4 songs as well as "Shut The Door" are awesome, but the middle of this album kind of bores me.

thinner6
December 3rd 2006



7 Comments


Well done review.

DrunkenThird
January 10th 2007



20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Weakest of their releases? What the, this is the album that has influenced me the most. Its five times better than 13 Songs and the guitar is awsome. I can play the whole album backwards on guitar if i wanted to

Eliminator
January 10th 2007



2067 Comments


Please do so.

Shadowed Reflection
June 20th 2007



274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good album. I dig the title track.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
November 4th 2007



4927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just got a tape version of this for 52 cents.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2007



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

SO INDIE

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
November 4th 2007



4927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, that makes sense.

astrel
November 4th 2007



2614 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't care much for this album...

descendents1
November 4th 2007



702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Turnover is really good. This album is pretty much 3-3.5.

livemattbrown
November 4th 2007



8 Comments


pretty solid review.
i personally enjoy this album more than any of their other albums just cause im a sucker for their more punk stuff.

i wish bands still made music as good as this.

Collis
September 12th 2008



448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If this is their weakest release then I so so have to get the others.

I love this, every song is a tune.

raclet12123
September 12th 2008



28 Comments


This is probably my favorite Fugazi album, with In on the kill taker and The argument both coming in at a close second! I can see you points, but I also feel that this is one of the release of theirs to capture both agreesive playing and melody with this kind of energy. I agree that later releases have better dynamic and are probably better records all the way through, im just a bit of a fanboy with this release

OneDeadCop112
December 16th 2008



57 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think is one album every guitarist should own. Let alone any music lover. Seriously, this stuff
is more influentual than any Jimi Hendrix or Led Zeppelin (bad comparison, but these guys deserve
more recognition than any other big named bands.)This Message Edited On 12.16.08

porch
April 10th 2010



8453 Comments


This review completely misses the mark

Prophet178
April 18th 2010



6397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bumpage. There really isn't a weak track on the album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy