Mastodon Blood Mountain
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brain Dead
September 16th 2006



1150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, pretty much. But Leviathan is still cool.

Motleyguy
September 17th 2006



118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The guitarists are the definition of mediocre. The drummer should learn to play some more rhythm as well, its no fun to hear him go crazy with only a semblance of structure.


I like Brann Dailor's drumming very much to that of Nicko McBrain's. Anybody here have the balls to bash McBrain? It's super easy to see the influence in Dailor's playing. Anyways, I think this is a very good album, not quite 5/5, maybe 4/5. Leviathan was better, IMO. Great review aswell.

deathscreamingsheep
September 17th 2006



86 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've also found this album to be not as brilliant as I thought it was after a few listens. See the thing I loved about Leviathan was the way the music was structures, you could feel the idea of waves rolling in the drumming and guitar lines and the music reflected the atmosphere of the concept. In this album a lot of the effects seem to be there for their own sake or just to be 'progressive' rather than atmospheric which to me makes Leviathan top this by a long way.

deadskinmask216
September 17th 2006



5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Damn good album. It came off really strong with epic drumming, fantastic riffage, and a terrific story that threads throughout the album and gives you a sense of urgency the album portrays. Sit back and read the lyrics too, and you'll be immersed in the grand storytelling. Troy Sanders vocals have improved greatly as well. A+

Thor
September 17th 2006



10176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's not quite a classic album, but I really really enjoy it nonetheless.

f_u_c_t
September 19th 2006



1406 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

alright spoon_of_grimbo, you've got me sold on the album. I plan on picking this up sometime soon...say this up-coming week-end?

spoon_of_grimbo
September 19th 2006



2240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

go for it man, let us know what you think, im sure you'll like it.


btw, anyone know which guy is singing on the mastodon cover of thin lizzy's emerald?

spoon_of_grimbo
September 20th 2006



2240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, they kick ass, i got "live and dangerous" today, for a fiver no less!

gotta say, the mastodon cover of emerald equals the original in quality though!

f_u_c_t
September 27th 2006



1406 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

your the man grimbo! Yeah I picked this up a couple days ago, and im impressed, I honestly thought it would just be some repetitive generic s*it to say the least. But it's just what everybody said it was, this album was worthy of the anticipation it got. I'm going to listen to it a couple more times before giving it a rating though.

incubliss
September 28th 2006



116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

phenominal album. can't wait to see them on tour.

damientheomen
October 1st 2006



9 Comments


I just got Blood Mountain and I gotta it's fuckin' amazing. I didn't really think Leviathan was too great, there were a few great moments (Megaladon, Blood And Thunder and Aqua Dementia) but other than that I wasn't too impressed. But I just can't stop listening to Blood Monutain. And strangly my favourite is Bladecatcher because the weird spazz-out vocal trip. YAY

DekWannaBFlea
October 4th 2006



284 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

From what I have heard, this seems very unfocused. Ill give it a few more spins.

ChrisAdlerisGod
October 7th 2006



474 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is alright. Some of the songs are good (The Wolf is Loose, Capillirian Crest) and some of the songs really suck (Hand of Stone, Baldecatcher, Siberian Divide). I think Mastodon tried to embrace their "progessiveness" to much.

Pebster49
October 8th 2006



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album review...I mostly agree with it but maybe its not that good but its pretty sic album....heres a random thought while im listening to the cd as I type..."Colony of Birthman" kinda sounds like Queens of the Stonage. Maybe im just tired but I started to laugh like at the 1:20 mark of the song...dunno why

YHB
October 12th 2006



45 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think the album is brilliant, not quite as good as Leviathan but then what is? There's some songs I don't quite like the vocals or guitar parts for, but they're not enough to stop me thinking that this album is awesome.

spoon_of_grimbo
October 12th 2006



2240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

something which should be noted is that this is an album which can't be listened to in pieces, you've got to sit and take in the whole lot in one go, or it just doesnt make sense. that said, "this mortal soil" is an exception to that, i love that song!

ScelusNefas
October 12th 2006



274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope this is a grower beacause my fists liscents did not impress me at all.

renegadedog
October 19th 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm not usually that much of a metal fan, but this is a brilliant, complex album. ALmost a metal equivalent of a Daydream Nation. Amazing.

shevanel09
October 21st 2006



102 Comments


Great review, very well written. I just got this album today, and am listenin to it now. I haven't given it a real listen through yet, but it sounds great so far.

sj_2150
October 23rd 2006



251 Comments


i dont see what all the fuss is about. the albums good but i dont see how people can be saying its "AlbUMzZz oF TEh D€CadEzZZzz OmGZzgZg!11!!!!"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy