A Tribe Called Quest We got it from Here… Thank You 4 Your service
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2016


37744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

probably because albums made 15 years after the band's last, especially by a golden-age hip-hop act, are generally terrible? this was the exception to the rule really.



also I guess because this isn't SUPER POLITICALLY RELEVANT WHOA DONALD TRUMP WHOA SOCIALISM BUY OUR RECORD

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2016


10666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On those terms this is impressive.



Fact is that the members of RtJ aren't much younger and are still aiming to release their best ever material and get bigger.



The political thing, I haven't heard the interviews where they go off about this stuff, the lyrics on RtJ are a pretty standard mix. The Illuminati conspiracy stuff is pretty funny to me, enjoyable thing to rap about when you're aiming for an apocalyptic vibe.



You seem quite a serious sort Row so I definitely see the humour in RtJ, quite cartoonish - never imagined they were genuinely trying to politically educate. If that's true then maybe that's a bit tragic of them to believe their own hype.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2016


37744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

the funny songs are actually my favourite songs by them and the only song I really liked on the new one was Stay Gold, the lines about the grandma are great



from what I remember though that was the only song that was really funny and the rest were pretty large misses/super forced when it came to humour - 'notice me senpai' being my pick for worst lyrical moment of the year



tribe on the other hand are always pretty genuine and effortless with their funny parts, Busta's verse on Mobius for example has me cracking up every time



I guess I've always found Killer Mike way too forced and cringey every since his days with OutKast, he goes wide of the mark way more often than he hits. El-P on the other hand I have mad respect for and his solo stuff is the shit but his lyrics with RTJ are so unbearably boring in comparison it kind of just makes me sad



rant over

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2016


10666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I definitely prefer El-p's solo work from what I've checked of both.



'Stay Gold' is a good one yeah, I will say the latest album would have been better at 10 tracks long.



This Tribe album I enjoy but it doesn't call out to me for replays, I've listened to it probably twenty times but I find myself zoning out of it at points

theNateman
December 27th 2016


2529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album begs for replays for me. So many great lyrical bits that always bring me back

Jeffrulesyou
December 30th 2016


1186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can I Kick It? Well, hey now a rap record from 2016 I like! This is great, brings me back to Tribe's older stuff, cool beans. Haven't heard disk two yet, but really enjoying the first one.

Digging: Alan Braxe and Friends - The Upper Cuts

theNateman
January 11th 2017


2529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After extensive listening, this might just be my favorite tribe album

Hovse
January 20th 2017


1581 Comments


Lost somebody wow

Zamora
January 22nd 2017


316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Melatonin and Lost Somebody are great. Probably my 3rd favorite Tribe album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy