Your Old Droog Your Old Droog
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
LambsBread
July 30th 2014


3388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"His punchlines are mere
jabs, they see through. His content is average at best and he's not nearly as awesome as he thinks

he is and acts like. His attitude is a huge huge huge turn off. His production is terrible. The
contacts only add to the corniness. etc etc etc etc etc"

Contacts are what it takes to get recognition in a rap game dominated by gimmicks and commercial
hype. Its better to see him doing gimmicks outside of his music than within his lyrics like Kendrick
Lamar. His punchlines are fine, they aren't the best in rap, but you honestly think Freddie Gibbs
has anything on him? Cuz he doesn't, at all. I see why you don't like his attitude but I like how he
has the balls to say whats on his mind, because a lot of people think the same things. HIs
production is raw 90s style, nothing wrong with it.

Digging: Ellay Khule - Holy Scriptures

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


6109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Eagles: why you h8n so much tho

Hil: Why do you keep bringing up Freddie? I get it you're not a fan of Freddie Gibbs I'm not trying to make you be. Also why do you think he is dissing me? I wouldn't say he's doing that at all, and I've never been offended by anything he's ever said.

Also I'm not condoning 'pretending your shit smells like roses while turning a blind eye to the world' but do you really think Hopsin is aware and talks the realness/knows what he's talking about?

Also, I think that if you do good, fine, but by rubbing it in the face of everyone else you're taking away from the good that you did. When you get on facebook and see someone talking about some good virtuous shit they did today don't you think that dilutes the good a bit? Especially when it appears to be painfully obvious that what they did was specifically for the purpose of having everyone else think that they're awesome? When you rub it in people's faces like that it detracts from the good you're doing, so even if you feel like Hopsin is better than the apathetic, selfish, lazy, etc, the way he goes about showing it puts him on the same level as all those people.

Also, what do you mean by he's on another level lyrically? Yeah there're rappers like Tyler and Q who aren't the most lyrical, but even if you do consider Hopsin to be talented lyrically you have to be able to appreciate other people in the mainstream who are very very talented lyrically. People like Ab-Soul, Kendrick (who has compromised lyricism for SONGMAKING, which is very important but for some reason you ignore... Regardless though he has a number of unreleased and old mixtape songs which show off his lyrical ability and flow dexterity), Push, LOS (who probably cannot be touched on a pure lyricism level right now), just to name a few.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2014


6109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

And another important point to note is that making a good album and making good songs is far more important than raw spitting in most cases. There are some people who are able to combine the two and when that happens we get classics, but a lot of rappers try to make good ALBUMS over good verses, and that's why you might think that people aren't lyrical enough or whatever, but the point is they're not always trying to be. That's what mixtapes are for.

The whole gimmick thing is unnecessary. Not sure what you think Kendrick's gimmicks are but I'm assuming you mean the voices and shit, that's fine if you don't like that--I'll admit they can be annoying at times. But comparing Hop to Freddie again is a bit unfair; Freddie isn't a punchline rapper, Hop is. You should compare his punches to someone who when crafting a great verse does add punchlines, like Push. Again Push tries to make songs over verses for the most part, but he definitely has a ton of great punchline-riddled verses (My God verses, Money On My Mind, etc).

And there's nothing wrong with speaking your mind, but Hopsin goes about it entirely in the wrong way. Having a god complex doesn't help your image (see: Kanye West, although he for the most part kept that god complex out of his music--until the last couple years--and focused his musical self on making good songs and albums) but putting that god complex into your music is just bad business.

Anyway, you're clearly set in your ways about Hopsin and so am I. Just thought I'd let you know why I dislike him and what issues I have with him so you didn't think I was just saying "bleh fuck hopsin he's lame" with no justification.

LambsBread
July 30th 2014


3388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

whoever sacrifices lyrics for song making is corny and wack and shouldn't call themselves 'hip hop', and its ironic you are calling hopsin corny for being raw and relatively unique. Kendrick uses gimmicks like hiring pop stars to sing his hooks that are cheesy and cringe worthy BITCH DANT KILL MA VIBE. etc. At least Hop sin just spits good verses and then throws in some hooks he does his best with. Yeah the hooks aren't anything special, but hooks have never been a defining aspect of hip hop, and they shouldn't be. Hip hop at its core should be poetry, not bells and whistles like beats and flow.

Yeah I do think he knows what he is talking about, at least enough to say what he is saying, which is not nearly as "god complex" as you are pretending it is. He just disses people and says hes better than them, there's really nothing particularly arrogant about that, its done by virtually every rapper ever. Whats cool about hop sin is he actually finds good things to diss people over like sitting around making nothing out of their lifes or being fake ass snaky people in general. Its a lot less corny that dissing people for "im richer, I get more pussy, ill fuckin shoot you yo'

I don't even know who Push or LOS are, ill probably check them out if you wanna rec me some songs, but Kendrick and Ab Soul are worse than hopsin lyrically by far, at least recently. Yeah Kendrick used to be good, but so what? He sold out hard. Hopsin >>>



SharkTooth
July 30th 2014


4361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hil, have you checked out the new Sage Francis yet?


Digging: Balkan Beat Box - Nu Med

LambsBread
July 30th 2014


3388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nope

Edit: oh thanks for the link didnt see that

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2014


6109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

See at this point we just have a fundamental difference in beliefs as to what hip hop is.

This: "but hooks have never been a defining aspect of hip hop" is true insofar as hooks aren't as big a priority as they are in other genres, but since the very beginning they've definitely been important. Just because in the beginning they were overshadowed by lyrics a lot of the times (because of the nature of what hip hop was) doesn't mean they're not an important part of hip hop. Definitely past the mid-90s hooks have become a defining aspect of hip hop due to its evolution in the mainstream and pop culture, but I know that's probably of no import to you since I doubt you fuck with much post-90 rap.

Anyway, we can prolly close this conversation and just agree to disagree.

Push is Pusha T by the way, from Clipse. Los is this cat who got a lot of shine for having the only good control response verse, and since then he's gotten a lot of looks from hip hop heads. He's incredibly talented on a lyrical level, but he can't make a song to save his damn life. This is the control verse (it's very good but not his best work): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UWhdGnf65I

Here's his OGBJ free, which has the added bonus of having a great beat underneath: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Goe3vZ5L4Yk

And as a display of his raw talent, a free on sway: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMoNep7r8GI

And 10 straight minutes of off the top freestyling: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kecZ9ql0B3c

Also as an added bonus, this is the dude I SB'd you about earlier today. Guessing you'll dig this song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M1v4_SDS5uI

If you like Lock and want a song where he's 'talking about something', listen to Hardest Song Ever, it's on his YT channel there.


Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2014


1043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

1 it Eagles, I know you won't

guitarded_chuck
July 31st 2014


2945 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol eags has similar taste to me

thought hilary would be sucking this d hard

PappyMason
July 31st 2014


834 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I never brought into the Droog is Nas debate.

However, hypothetically speaking, lets say for that Droog turns out be Nas, what would you guys think about this project?
Personally, I'd be a little disappointed, simply because I know what that dude is/was capable of - even though he hasn't consistently delivered since 1994.

Digging: Susumu Yokota - Sakura

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2014


6109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I'd be happy with it for what it is. It's not a cohesive album but it's really not meant to be; it's meant to just be a showcase for his talent, and he's certainly ridiculous on a lyrical level. He's much much better I'd argue than Nas has been in a very very long time, so if this was Nas and he was using it as a teaser for what type of shit his next album's going to have in it (of course with more concept and other important things filling in around the bars), then I'm all hype.

PappyMason
July 31st 2014


834 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeh. One of my favourite things about this album is that Droog comes across as a cat whose far removed from the modern rap-game, or just doesn't care. It's definitely refreshing to hear.

Totally agree with you on Nas. As much as I love that guy and I have no problems citing Illmatic as my favourite hip-hop record of all time, I do kind of feel like he's lost relevance.

auberginedreams
July 31st 2014


6033 Comments


i always wonder why rappers seem to get a pass on using homophobic/transphobic lyrics, seems like it pops up all the time in rap and it's still pretty much accepted as okay, it just seems strange that i don't see more criticism for some lines in hip-hop, like on gunsmoke cologne. it kinda puts me off of rap that i would otherwise like when i hear ignorant stuff like that. same with the misogyny too, i just don't get why hip-hop is in some sort of bubble where it's cool to say that stuff but no other subculture besides redneck white trash tolerates it anymore.

Guzzo10
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2014


1043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Because hip hop is still about domination, no fucks given, attitude. What is more head throbbing is that, for you, that is what puts you off to rap. You know, not the killing that they are bragging about more times then not. Because killing is still more prevalent than any homosexual remark.

someguest
August 1st 2014


20569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ou guys are spending way too much time talking about this shitty album


5.0 classic
At the Drive-In Relationship of Command
Bear vs. Shark Right Now You're in the Best of Hands
Blu and Exile Below the Heavens
Bomb the Music Industry! Vacation
Built to Spill Perfect from Now On
Burial Untrue
Circle Takes The Square As the Roots Undo
Coheed and Cambria The Second Stage Turbine Blade
Cursive The Ugly Organ
Descendents Milo Goes to College
Drake Take Care
Drive Like Jehu Yank Crime
Eagles Hotel California
Elvis Costello My Aim Is True
Fugazi The Argument
Godspeed You! Black Emperor Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada
GZA Liquid Swords
Husker Du Zen Arcade
J Dilla Donuts
Jenny Hval Viscera
Joy Division Unknown Pleasures
Joyce Manor Joyce Manor
Main Attrakionz 808s and Dark Grapes II
Minutemen Double Nickels on the Dime
Misfits Walk Among Us
Murder by Death Who Will Survive and What Will Be Left of Them?
Nas Illmatic
Off Minor The Heat Death of the Universe
OutKast Aquemini
OutKast ATLiens
Q and Not U No Kill No Beep Beep
Raekwon Only Built 4 Cuban Linx...
Refused The Shape of Punk to Come
Songs: Ohia Magnolia Electric Co
Souls of Mischief 93 'til Infinity
The Clash London Calling
The Future Sound of London Lifeforms
The Offspring Smash
The Stooges Fun House
Thursday Full Collapse
Tim Hecker Virgins
Tom Waits Rain Dogs
Typical Cats Typical Cats
Unwound Leaves Turn Inside You
Weezer Weezer
Women Public Strain
Wu-Tang Clan Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)

auberginedreams
August 1st 2014


6033 Comments


"Because hip hop is still about domination, no fucks given, attitude. What is more head throbbing is that, for you, that is what puts you off to rap. You know, not the killing that they are bragging about more times then not. Because killing is still more prevalent than any homosexual remark."

Obviously I'm not a fan of that either, I just happened to hear a few lines that seemed pretty backwards on that track and figured I would see what other people had to say.

someguest
August 1st 2014


20569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's been awhile since I've seen auberginetears on here. Keep it salty, buddy.

auberginedreams
August 1st 2014


6033 Comments


yes i will do my best buddy

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2014


6109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

have no problems with lines that might be perceived as slightly homophobic, sexist, racist, etc as long as you're not being a dumbass about it (i.e. J. Cole on Villuminati).

what were the lines that you took issue to? I'm guessing the tranny with the stubble one was one, but what were the others? and what did you have a problem with with this line? The non-PC way of referring to them?

tkxxx7
August 4th 2014


6153 Comments


yeah I really can't stand homophobia in rap. puts me off of a lot of artists, most recently I think was Boldy James



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy